SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2902 (Vintage vogue c1952)

22 more reviews
Viewed 2268 times 
Reviewed by:echolalia
photo

 
 
About echolaliastar
TAS Australia
Member since: 5/1/03
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/12/07 2:13 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 26 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
49 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JenniferBee said...
Wow! lovely dress, I've hungered after this pattern, but I'm not sure it would suit me. I'm veerrry tempted.
1/12/07 2:36 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Wow! You look wonderful in your gorgeous dress. I love the fabric you chose. I wish we had rayon lining here too!
1/12/07 2:58 AM
Vonnevo said...
Wow it certainly is echolalia. You look fabulous in this gorgeous dress. It's lovely to see you again on PR :)))
1/12/07 3:34 AM
Zaneta said...
This is gorgeous..
1/12/07 4:19 AM
HenriettenDK said...
Absolutely love it!
1/12/07 4:37 AM
jlg said...
Very beautiful on you.
1/12/07 4:59 AM
zinnia said...
Beautiful dress, and great review!
1/12/07 5:28 AM
Tipseysmum said...
wow.. fab.. wow
1/12/07 5:31 AM
CarolynGM said...
It's a beautiful dress and fits you perfectly. Your fabric choice is perfect.
1/12/07 7:08 AM
Lisette said...
Your dress is very beautiful.
1/12/07 8:02 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
What a beautiful fitting dress! Very flattering and I admire you for all the hand work as well. Great job!
1/12/07 8:06 AM
Linda G said...
Wonderful dress, I really like the length. Vogue patterns used to have so many more contruction details...like the grograin waist. I always liked those little details....
1/12/07 8:08 AM
Nickle said...
Your dress is absolutely gorgeous and you look fantastic in it.
1/12/07 8:38 AM
Em's Summer said...
Holy moly! What a cute dress!
1/12/07 8:52 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Lovely dress. Good review.
1/12/07 9:01 AM
Nicoal said...
Stunning!
1/12/07 9:06 AM
Tiner W said...
Gorgeous Dress!
1/12/07 9:43 AM
cecelia said...
Oh, I love this dress--the fabric, the style, suit you well. Thanks for a good review.
1/12/07 10:39 AM
coloreyec said...
Lovely dress. Great review, especially regarding the adjustments you made to obtain that perfect fit.
1/12/07 10:55 AM
carolynw said...
This is really beautiful
1/12/07 10:56 AM
sewbehind said...
That is a beautiful dress. Nice seeing all the summer fashions from our Australian sewists.
1/12/07 11:01 AM
Marji said...
Perfect fabric for that dress! Love it. Don't you just love the old construction techniques? That inner belt is indeed important.
1/12/07 11:25 AM
daff said...
OMG, your dress is AMAZING!! I am really impressed by your fit--it looks perfect. Awesome.
1/12/07 12:31 PM
touran said...
Very pretty - the fabric is perfect and the fit great.
1/12/07 1:04 PM
Hilary said...
Very pretty!! I love the fabric you chose, too- Thanks for the review!
1/12/07 2:14 PM
Tany said...
I love your dress! it makes me wonder: I must hurry into sewing a spring wardrobe! Great review, Very helpful!
1/12/07 2:49 PM
McKavity said...
Gorgeous dress! Love the polka dots!
1/12/07 2:55 PM
Ody said...
Here I am at the end of the comments and everybody has already said all the charming clever things I would have already said. Well, lets see Stunning, glorious, gorgeous, magnificent, resplendent, splendeferous, sublime!!! There is a reason the first picture is crooked---it is knock down fabulous. My dear, I don't know if you are married, but Humphrey Bougart is about to come visit you --- this dress is so retrolicious.
1/12/07 4:00 PM
Sharon M said...
Love it! Especially the polka dot fabric. Perfect combination of pattern and fabric.
1/12/07 4:06 PM
ChristineX said...
Wow, that is a beautiful dress!
1/12/07 4:27 PM
blue mooney said...
WOW! What a winner!
1/12/07 5:14 PM
PhyllisC said...
God I love polka dots. Adorable!
1/12/07 5:27 PM
echolalia said...
Thank you all for taking the time to comment - I really enjoyed making this dress (I am on annual leave, so time was not an issue), so I am glad that you enjoyed the outcome as much as I have. Wearing it makes me feel that I need to put on a hat & gloves and find a garden party to attend!
1/12/07 6:20 PM
JanineM said...
That is a fab dress , I want to know where your op shop is - Is it in Melbourne?
1/12/07 9:01 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Lovely!
1/12/07 10:15 PM
Leora said...
Beautiful dress and perfect fit!
1/13/07 3:21 AM
PixieCat said...
Beautiful dress and fabric! It's a great style for you.
1/13/07 6:43 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Love the fabric and the look of the dress.
1/13/07 7:23 AM
Nancy K said...
This is a terrific dress, buts what with the angle photo? Makes it hard to really see the dress on you.
1/13/07 7:56 AM
OP Gal said...
Your dress is so beautiful, and you look wonderful in it. Love those dots! Thanks for the detailed review.
1/13/07 8:00 AM
Nikoo said...
Your dress is beautiful!! I made this one too but I had a problem with the uneveness of the slipstitched seam of the shoulder straps. When you slipped stitched them together did they match? Mine did not...twice...
1/13/07 8:11 AM
xela said...
Beautiful dress on you--fitss beautifully too. Thanks for a great review
1/13/07 10:45 AM
Chilan said...
I love this dress. You have totally modivated me to buy it and try it!
1/13/07 1:49 PM
SarahWeb said...
Is this ever a cute dress!
1/13/07 5:24 PM
Avril said...
Very nice! Good choice of fabric.
1/13/07 7:12 PM
astrogal said...
Looks stunning, well done!
2/21/07 8:03 AM
janella said...
love your dress. I have made it twice. I can't find a belt-making kit in any of the shops. Are they easy to use? And I agree - the photo of the dress gave me a much better grasp of the dress than the drawings on the pattern envelope.
4/27/07 3:29 PM
Heatherrique said...
Enchanting and riveting! So nicely constructed! I love circles! Yeah!
6/30/08 12:40 PM
Lana E said...
Your information on this pattern goes beyond what I would expect. I appreciated all the details you've included such as " the straps are part of what is a separately constructed lined 'yoke' which is then slipstitched to the strapless bodice. The yoke forms the straps and overlays neckline and underarm, it is slipstitched at the top and bottom edges." I find this extra information to be extremely helpful. Thank you. this is an excellent review.
11/10/08 3:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Vogue Patterns 8620

photo
by: Sue Parrot...

Review
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

Buy Now
Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2008-4

photo
by: CaraSkates

Review