Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2902 (Vintage vogue c1952) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 2258 times 22 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 26 people   
Reviewed by:echolalia
photo
About echolaliastar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 5/1/03
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/12/07 2:13 AM
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $25.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
49 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JenniferBee said...
Wow! lovely dress, I've hungered after this pattern, but I'm not sure it would suit me. I'm veerrry tempted.
1/12/07 2:36 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Wow! You look wonderful in your gorgeous dress. I love the fabric you chose. I wish we had rayon lining here too!
1/12/07 2:58 AM
Vonnevo said...
Wow it certainly is echolalia. You look fabulous in this gorgeous dress. It's lovely to see you again on PR :)))
1/12/07 3:34 AM
Zaneta said...
This is gorgeous..
1/12/07 4:19 AM
HenriettenDK said...
Absolutely love it!
1/12/07 4:37 AM
jlg said...
Very beautiful on you.
1/12/07 4:59 AM
zinnia said...
Beautiful dress, and great review!
1/12/07 5:28 AM
Tipseysmum said...
wow.. fab.. wow
1/12/07 5:31 AM
CarolynGM said...
It's a beautiful dress and fits you perfectly. Your fabric choice is perfect.
1/12/07 7:08 AM
Lisette said...
Your dress is very beautiful.
1/12/07 8:02 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
What a beautiful fitting dress! Very flattering and I admire you for all the hand work as well. Great job!
1/12/07 8:06 AM
Linda G said...
Wonderful dress, I really like the length. Vogue patterns used to have so many more contruction details...like the grograin waist. I always liked those little details....
1/12/07 8:08 AM
Nickle said...
Your dress is absolutely gorgeous and you look fantastic in it.
1/12/07 8:38 AM
Em's Summer said...
Holy moly! What a cute dress!
1/12/07 8:52 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Lovely dress. Good review.
1/12/07 9:01 AM
Nicoal said...
Stunning!
1/12/07 9:06 AM
Tiner W said...
Gorgeous Dress!
1/12/07 9:43 AM
cecelia said...
Oh, I love this dress--the fabric, the style, suit you well. Thanks for a good review.
1/12/07 10:39 AM
coloreyec said...
Lovely dress. Great review, especially regarding the adjustments you made to obtain that perfect fit.
1/12/07 10:55 AM
carolynw said...
This is really beautiful
1/12/07 10:56 AM
sewbehind said...
That is a beautiful dress. Nice seeing all the summer fashions from our Australian sewists.
1/12/07 11:01 AM
Marji said...
Perfect fabric for that dress! Love it. Don't you just love the old construction techniques? That inner belt is indeed important.
1/12/07 11:25 AM
daff said...
OMG, your dress is AMAZING!! I am really impressed by your fit--it looks perfect. Awesome.
1/12/07 12:31 PM
touran said...
Very pretty - the fabric is perfect and the fit great.
1/12/07 1:04 PM
Hilary said...
Very pretty!! I love the fabric you chose, too- Thanks for the review!
1/12/07 2:14 PM
Tany said...
I love your dress! it makes me wonder: I must hurry into sewing a spring wardrobe! Great review, Very helpful!
1/12/07 2:49 PM
McKavity said...
Gorgeous dress! Love the polka dots!
1/12/07 2:55 PM
Ody said...
Here I am at the end of the comments and everybody has already said all the charming clever things I would have already said. Well, lets see Stunning, glorious, gorgeous, magnificent, resplendent, splendeferous, sublime!!! There is a reason the first picture is crooked---it is knock down fabulous. My dear, I don't know if you are married, but Humphrey Bougart is about to come visit you --- this dress is so retrolicious.
1/12/07 4:00 PM
Sharon M said...
Love it! Especially the polka dot fabric. Perfect combination of pattern and fabric.
1/12/07 4:06 PM
ChristineX said...
Wow, that is a beautiful dress!
1/12/07 4:27 PM
blue mooney said...
WOW! What a winner!
1/12/07 5:14 PM
PhyllisC said...
God I love polka dots. Adorable!
1/12/07 5:27 PM
echolalia said...
Thank you all for taking the time to comment - I really enjoyed making this dress (I am on annual leave, so time was not an issue), so I am glad that you enjoyed the outcome as much as I have. Wearing it makes me feel that I need to put on a hat & gloves and find a garden party to attend!
1/12/07 6:20 PM
JanineM said...
That is a fab dress , I want to know where your op shop is - Is it in Melbourne?
1/12/07 9:01 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Lovely!
1/12/07 10:15 PM
Leora said...
Beautiful dress and perfect fit!
1/13/07 3:21 AM
PixieCat said...
Beautiful dress and fabric! It's a great style for you.
1/13/07 6:43 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Love the fabric and the look of the dress.
1/13/07 7:23 AM
Nancy K said...
This is a terrific dress, buts what with the angle photo? Makes it hard to really see the dress on you.
1/13/07 7:56 AM
OP Gal said...
Your dress is so beautiful, and you look wonderful in it. Love those dots! Thanks for the detailed review.
1/13/07 8:00 AM
Nikoo said...
Your dress is beautiful!! I made this one too but I had a problem with the uneveness of the slipstitched seam of the shoulder straps. When you slipped stitched them together did they match? Mine did not...twice...
1/13/07 8:11 AM
xela said...
Beautiful dress on you--fitss beautifully too. Thanks for a great review
1/13/07 10:45 AM
Chilan said...
I love this dress. You have totally modivated me to buy it and try it!
1/13/07 1:49 PM
SarahWeb said...
Is this ever a cute dress!
1/13/07 5:24 PM
Avril said...
Very nice! Good choice of fabric.
1/13/07 7:12 PM
astrogal said...
Looks stunning, well done!
2/21/07 8:03 AM
janella said...
love your dress. I have made it twice. I can't find a belt-making kit in any of the shops. Are they easy to use? And I agree - the photo of the dress gave me a much better grasp of the dress than the drawings on the pattern envelope.
4/27/07 3:29 PM
Heatherrique said...
Enchanting and riveting! So nicely constructed! I love circles! Yeah!
6/30/08 12:40 PM
Lana E said...
Your information on this pattern goes beyond what I would expect. I appreciated all the details you've included such as " the straps are part of what is a separately constructed lined 'yoke' which is then slipstitched to the strapless bodice. The yoke forms the straps and overlays neckline and underarm, it is slipstitched at the top and bottom edges." I find this extra information to be extremely helpful. Thank you. this is an excellent review.
11/10/08 3:02 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Vogue Patterns 1314 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by caper81 on 2/11/13
Read Review

Petite Plus 201 Pattern
Petite Plus 201 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Flippy Skirt Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Flippy Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8536 MISSES' TOP
photo
Review by MNBarb on 4/21/13
Read Review

Simplicity 1651 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1651 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 4039 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4039 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us