SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2902 (Vintage vogue c1952)

24 more reviews
Viewed 2269 times 
Reviewed by:echolalia
photo

 
 
About echolaliastar
TAS Australia
Member since: 5/1/03
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/12/07 2:13 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 26 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
49 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lana E said...
Your information on this pattern goes beyond what I would expect. I appreciated all the details you've included such as " the straps are part of what is a separately constructed lined 'yoke' which is then slipstitched to the strapless bodice. The yoke forms the straps and overlays neckline and underarm, it is slipstitched at the top and bottom edges." I find this extra information to be extremely helpful. Thank you. this is an excellent review.
11/10/08 3:02 PM
Heatherrique said...
Enchanting and riveting! So nicely constructed! I love circles! Yeah!
6/30/08 12:40 PM
janella said...
love your dress. I have made it twice. I can't find a belt-making kit in any of the shops. Are they easy to use? And I agree - the photo of the dress gave me a much better grasp of the dress than the drawings on the pattern envelope.
4/27/07 3:29 PM
astrogal said...
Looks stunning, well done!
2/21/07 8:03 AM
Avril said...
Very nice! Good choice of fabric.
1/13/07 7:12 PM
SarahWeb said...
Is this ever a cute dress!
1/13/07 5:24 PM
Chilan said...
I love this dress. You have totally modivated me to buy it and try it!
1/13/07 1:49 PM
xela said...
Beautiful dress on you--fitss beautifully too. Thanks for a great review
1/13/07 10:45 AM
Nikoo said...
Your dress is beautiful!! I made this one too but I had a problem with the uneveness of the slipstitched seam of the shoulder straps. When you slipped stitched them together did they match? Mine did not...twice...
1/13/07 8:11 AM
OP Gal said...
Your dress is so beautiful, and you look wonderful in it. Love those dots! Thanks for the detailed review.
1/13/07 8:00 AM
Nancy K said...
This is a terrific dress, buts what with the angle photo? Makes it hard to really see the dress on you.
1/13/07 7:56 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Love the fabric and the look of the dress.
1/13/07 7:23 AM
PixieCat said...
Beautiful dress and fabric! It's a great style for you.
1/13/07 6:43 AM
Leora said...
Beautiful dress and perfect fit!
1/13/07 3:21 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Lovely!
1/12/07 10:15 PM
JanineM said...
That is a fab dress , I want to know where your op shop is - Is it in Melbourne?
1/12/07 9:01 PM
echolalia said...
Thank you all for taking the time to comment - I really enjoyed making this dress (I am on annual leave, so time was not an issue), so I am glad that you enjoyed the outcome as much as I have. Wearing it makes me feel that I need to put on a hat & gloves and find a garden party to attend!
1/12/07 6:20 PM
PhyllisC said...
God I love polka dots. Adorable!
1/12/07 5:27 PM
blue mooney said...
WOW! What a winner!
1/12/07 5:14 PM
ChristineX said...
Wow, that is a beautiful dress!
1/12/07 4:27 PM
Sharon M said...
Love it! Especially the polka dot fabric. Perfect combination of pattern and fabric.
1/12/07 4:06 PM
Ody said...
Here I am at the end of the comments and everybody has already said all the charming clever things I would have already said. Well, lets see Stunning, glorious, gorgeous, magnificent, resplendent, splendeferous, sublime!!! There is a reason the first picture is crooked---it is knock down fabulous. My dear, I don't know if you are married, but Humphrey Bougart is about to come visit you --- this dress is so retrolicious.
1/12/07 4:00 PM
McKavity said...
Gorgeous dress! Love the polka dots!
1/12/07 2:55 PM
Tany said...
I love your dress! it makes me wonder: I must hurry into sewing a spring wardrobe! Great review, Very helpful!
1/12/07 2:49 PM
Hilary said...
Very pretty!! I love the fabric you chose, too- Thanks for the review!
1/12/07 2:14 PM
touran said...
Very pretty - the fabric is perfect and the fit great.
1/12/07 1:04 PM
daff said...
OMG, your dress is AMAZING!! I am really impressed by your fit--it looks perfect. Awesome.
1/12/07 12:31 PM
Marji said...
Perfect fabric for that dress! Love it. Don't you just love the old construction techniques? That inner belt is indeed important.
1/12/07 11:25 AM
sewbehind said...
That is a beautiful dress. Nice seeing all the summer fashions from our Australian sewists.
1/12/07 11:01 AM
carolynw said...
This is really beautiful
1/12/07 10:56 AM
coloreyec said...
Lovely dress. Great review, especially regarding the adjustments you made to obtain that perfect fit.
1/12/07 10:55 AM
cecelia said...
Oh, I love this dress--the fabric, the style, suit you well. Thanks for a good review.
1/12/07 10:39 AM
Tiner W said...
Gorgeous Dress!
1/12/07 9:43 AM
Nicoal said...
Stunning!
1/12/07 9:06 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Lovely dress. Good review.
1/12/07 9:01 AM
Em's Summer said...
Holy moly! What a cute dress!
1/12/07 8:52 AM
Nickle said...
Your dress is absolutely gorgeous and you look fantastic in it.
1/12/07 8:38 AM
Linda G said...
Wonderful dress, I really like the length. Vogue patterns used to have so many more contruction details...like the grograin waist. I always liked those little details....
1/12/07 8:08 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
What a beautiful fitting dress! Very flattering and I admire you for all the hand work as well. Great job!
1/12/07 8:06 AM
Lisette said...
Your dress is very beautiful.
1/12/07 8:02 AM
CarolynGM said...
It's a beautiful dress and fits you perfectly. Your fabric choice is perfect.
1/12/07 7:08 AM
Tipseysmum said...
wow.. fab.. wow
1/12/07 5:31 AM
zinnia said...
Beautiful dress, and great review!
1/12/07 5:28 AM
jlg said...
Very beautiful on you.
1/12/07 4:59 AM
HenriettenDK said...
Absolutely love it!
1/12/07 4:37 AM
Zaneta said...
This is gorgeous..
1/12/07 4:19 AM
Vonnevo said...
Wow it certainly is echolalia. You look fabulous in this gorgeous dress. It's lovely to see you again on PR :)))
1/12/07 3:34 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Wow! You look wonderful in your gorgeous dress. I love the fabric you chose. I wish we had rayon lining here too!
1/12/07 2:58 AM
JenniferBee said...
Wow! lovely dress, I've hungered after this pattern, but I'm not sure it would suit me. I'm veerrry tempted.
1/12/07 2:36 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 214272-1000

photo
by: KAHooke

Review
Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

Buy Now