Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8158 - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 754 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Lhan
photo
Friend of PR
About Lhanstar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 2/8/06
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/12/07 9:55 PM
Last Updated:1/12/07 10:14 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ody said...
Lhan, you can tell it is summer there--such a refreshing skirt. I like the way you took a more formal pattern and used it in a more informal manner. In your bare feet you look like you are ready to run off to a picnic. Lovely fabric and you did a nice job. Nice detail at the top.
1/12/07 10:06 PM
echolalia said...
Go ahead Lhan - the occasion will arise when you least expect it. Maybe an alumni ball, University Foundation dinner??? You know, those functions that you never consider because you have nothing to wear!! This is a great review - I think that silk satin would be lovely, it drapes beautifully and would certainly suit the more column shape of view C. Great job with the cotton, I probably would have dismissed it as 'nah, it wouldn't work'. It suits you.
1/12/07 10:07 PM
krystalkaes said...
:-) Cute. I am a bit jealous of your bare feet. Thank you for the review.
1/13/07 0:48 AM
Ann Smith said...
Very cool. I totally missed this pattern in the catalog. Your choice of fabric is wonderful.
1/13/07 2:01 AM
Tany said...
Oh, that is so beautiful! You did a good job and a great review!
1/13/07 5:27 AM
quilter55 said...
What a great fabric to show off the unusual lines of your skirt! It is both funky and elegant and what a nice review...so detailed. Thanks.
1/13/07 8:26 AM
Marji said...
You have been busy! This is a pattern I totally overlooked. Like what you've done with it and the way it looks on you.
1/13/07 9:30 AM
carolynw said...
This is just lovely - looks great on you and I am in love with the fabric. I would certainly not have given this pattern a second look for all the reasons that initially put you off but now that I see it on you I am sorry I didn't get it - I think it can still be ordered from Vogue aas an OOP. Great review
1/13/07 9:36 AM
cecelia said...
Beautiful skirt and fabric--you did a nice job.
1/13/07 10:41 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Beautiful! Yes, we all passed on that pattern for the reason you cited, and now boo hoo. Loved your wonderfully detailed review.
1/13/07 12:05 PM
crisford said...
Beautiful skirt, very nice job and thank you for your very thoughtful review! I agree with "sew the dress and the occasion will come." I have never heard anyone say that before but it's brilliant!
1/13/07 5:16 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Again, you've chosen a most beautiful piece of fabric. Good job and excellent review, as always.
1/13/07 8:13 PM
JenniferBee said...
Lovely skirt Linda, I like your fabric choice as well and I agree make the evening version, you will get to wear it!
1/14/07 2:59 PM
SillyValley said...
Thanks for your review, especially the bit about it being flattering despite all the bulk at the side seams and with the drape. You are right - I'm very curvy in the hip and I think the style is quite flattering. You inspired me to make one for myself :)
7/24/07 3:19 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Simplicity 1723
photo
Review by Larisa on 1/26/13
Read Review

McCalls 6231 Pattern ( Size XLG-XXL-XXXL )
McCalls 6231 Pattern ( Size XLG-XXL-XXXL )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6137 Pattern( Size One Size )
McCalls 6137 Pattern( Size One Size )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's M5649 View B
photo
Review by Nikkij on 8/2/09
Read Review

Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pants Fitting DVD
Pants Fitting DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us