SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8158 

1 more reviews
Viewed 754 times 
Reviewed by:Lhan
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lhanstar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 2/8/06
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/12/07 9:55 PM
Last Updated:1/12/07 10:14 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SillyValley said...
Thanks for your review, especially the bit about it being flattering despite all the bulk at the side seams and with the drape. You are right - I'm very curvy in the hip and I think the style is quite flattering. You inspired me to make one for myself :)
7/24/07 3:19 PM
JenniferBee said...
Lovely skirt Linda, I like your fabric choice as well and I agree make the evening version, you will get to wear it!
1/14/07 2:59 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Again, you've chosen a most beautiful piece of fabric. Good job and excellent review, as always.
1/13/07 8:13 PM
crisford said...
Beautiful skirt, very nice job and thank you for your very thoughtful review! I agree with "sew the dress and the occasion will come." I have never heard anyone say that before but it's brilliant!
1/13/07 5:16 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Beautiful! Yes, we all passed on that pattern for the reason you cited, and now boo hoo. Loved your wonderfully detailed review.
1/13/07 12:05 PM
cecelia said...
Beautiful skirt and fabric--you did a nice job.
1/13/07 10:41 AM
carolynw said...
This is just lovely - looks great on you and I am in love with the fabric. I would certainly not have given this pattern a second look for all the reasons that initially put you off but now that I see it on you I am sorry I didn't get it - I think it can still be ordered from Vogue aas an OOP. Great review
1/13/07 9:36 AM
Marji said...
You have been busy! This is a pattern I totally overlooked. Like what you've done with it and the way it looks on you.
1/13/07 9:30 AM
quilter55 said...
What a great fabric to show off the unusual lines of your skirt! It is both funky and elegant and what a nice review...so detailed. Thanks.
1/13/07 8:26 AM
Tany said...
Oh, that is so beautiful! You did a good job and a great review!
1/13/07 5:27 AM
Ann Smith said...
Very cool. I totally missed this pattern in the catalog. Your choice of fabric is wonderful.
1/13/07 2:01 AM
krystalkaes said...
:-) Cute. I am a bit jealous of your bare feet. Thank you for the review.
1/13/07 0:48 AM
echolalia said...
Go ahead Lhan - the occasion will arise when you least expect it. Maybe an alumni ball, University Foundation dinner??? You know, those functions that you never consider because you have nothing to wear!! This is a great review - I think that silk satin would be lovely, it drapes beautifully and would certainly suit the more column shape of view C. Great job with the cotton, I probably would have dismissed it as 'nah, it wouldn't work'. It suits you.
1/12/07 10:07 PM
Ody said...
Lhan, you can tell it is summer there--such a refreshing skirt. I like the way you took a more formal pattern and used it in a more informal manner. In your bare feet you look like you are ready to run off to a picnic. Lovely fabric and you did a nice job. Nice detail at the top.
1/12/07 10:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

More Knits
More Knits

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2007-16

photo
by: SewMentalM...

Review
Simplicity 2648

photo
by: SewButterf...

Review
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

Buy Now