SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2006-121 (Sheath Dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1041 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara at Cat Fur Studio
photo

 
 
About Barbara at Cat Fur Studiostarstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 105 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/14/07 1:42 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Skye said...
thanks for the review - really nice dress and cute fabric. I agree about the LBD
1/14/07 2:11 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very cute dress and useful information about using fusible tape to draw in the armholes and neckline. You really should post that in a tip -- it's a great idea.
1/14/07 2:16 PM
Diane E said...
Barbara, what a pretty dress! Love the fabric. I'll have to give this pattern another look. It's in a magazine pile somewhere........
1/14/07 2:25 PM
blue mooney said...
You're all ready for summer! Nice to see a review of this dress; it was one of my favorites in that issue.Good tip on the seam tape, too.
1/14/07 2:41 PM
sewbehind said...
Barbara, that is a beautiful dress. Looks lovely on you. About that stabilizing fusible tape, could you make your own with Steam a Seam light and cut it on the bias? The ready made stuff is not available to us here in the Great White North. I haven't been able to find it. I know it is available online, but I have the Steam a Seam on hand.
1/14/07 3:18 PM
lmg said...
Very nice. I like the tip about the fusible tape. I made this dress but did not get around to reviewing it. Burda has released the other view as an envelope pattern #7954
1/14/07 3:20 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Very cute dress. With the freakish weather we've been having, you may not have to go to warmer climes to wear it, either!
1/14/07 3:23 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
So glad to see this made up and so beautifully! Loved it in the BWOF--the curved lines make me smile. :-) Thanks for all the construction details--I always learn from your reviews.
1/14/07 3:33 PM
jnamcd said...
Great dress--and I loved the tip on the fusible seam tape and the "cupping"--awesome! I'm going to have to give it a try sometime! Thanks for the great review! Amy
1/14/07 4:12 PM
JDpenelope said...
Ohhhh! Summer! Lovely dress and great tips. Seeing your Burda pattern made up really motivates me to give this one a whirl.
1/14/07 4:17 PM
drsue said...
That dress is lovely! I can't beleive you can wear it in PA!!!! It's 50 degrees here in my "warm climate" neighborhood. I may have to visit the east coast to get away from the cold.
1/14/07 5:56 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous ! I have always liked this pattern and glad to see it so beautifully made.
1/14/07 7:08 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Thanks so much for your kind comments! Drsue, I should have written that I made this to wear on an upcoming warm climate trip. I was shivering this morning while wearing it outside here in Pennsylvania. But it is warmer here today than it is in California, for sure! Sewbehind, I would not recommend using the steam a seam -- instead, you could stabilize the edges the 'old fashioned' way. Just use a strip of self fabric, cut on the straight of grain, or the bias, depending on the stability you're after. Baste it into the seam line first, then sew the seam right on top of the stabilizer.
1/14/07 7:09 PM
yorkshire lass said...
Thank you for the tip on dispensing with drawing in the neckline and sleeves. I made this dress last year and loved it so much I got fabric to make another this year and will try the tip on that one.
1/15/07 3:34 AM
Skymom said...
Ahh! It makes me happy just to look at this dress. I love the fabric and the pattern, and it all looks wonderful on you. HOpe you have fun wearing it on your trip to the warm place.
1/15/07 10:23 AM
edube said...
I bought this same fabric and it is aging in my stash for this spring. It's very inspiring to see it made up, especially in your beautiful dress! Thanks for the tips too.
1/15/07 1:53 PM
Jane S said...
Beautiful dress on you . Yes, it would be perfect LBD.
1/15/07 3:44 PM
Lisette said...
I am about to work on this pattern and remembered that you had lined your version . You used silk charmeuse with cotton lycra, do you wash by hand or do you dry clean?
5/28/07 2:12 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Lisette, I will dry clean this dress. The main reason is I don't want to destroy the structure. The silk is actually prewashed by hand. And I machine pre-washed the cotton lycra.
5/29/07 9:39 AM
Lisette said...
Thanks for the info!
5/29/07 12:51 PM
Meredith P said...
Thank you for the very helpful review. I loved this dress in the mag, and I'm glad to see it made up. Yours turned out beautifully. Any special tips on getting your band to match when inserting the invisible zipper. Yours look so nice! I'm putting this one on my list for *next* summer.
7/28/07 8:34 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Thanks, Meredith. To get the seam points at the zipper to match, I sewed in one side permanently. THen, I basted the other side, made small adjustments to alignment, then sewed it in permanently. The basting was the key! Good luck.
7/29/07 3:21 PM
Meredith P said...
Thanks, Barbara!
8/1/07 10:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

StyleArc Tori Crop Pant

photo
by: aleah42

Review
DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

Buy Now