SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2625 

4 more reviews
Viewed 1013 times 
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews: 248 (patterns: 229)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 91 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/10/02 11:19 PM
Last Updated:5/20/03 11:52 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sheryb said... (4/1/05 0:45 AM) Reply
thank you for such a thorough description it makes the choice of purchasing the pattern much easier. again thanks
Lisa Laree said... (4/25/04 7:32 AM) Reply
Penelope, I think it was the 100% cotton (rather cheap, actually...not much recovery when stretched) fabric that was the culprit. I made myself a top from this pattern, too, and it also shrank out of size. Prewashing it once just didn't get the bulk of the shrinkage out of it... If you're using 75% stretch fabric, I don't think it will shrink nearly as badly...even if it does shrink a bit, the stretch ought to compensate. I remember my grandmother making a few things for me when I was young...somehow they always ended up being my favorite garments... ;)
Lisa Laree said... (4/25/04 7:31 AM) Reply
Penelope, I think it was the 100% cotton (rather cheap, actually...not much recovery when stretched) fabric that was the culprit. I made myself a top from this fabric, too, and it also shrank out of size. Prewashing it once just didn't get the bulk of the shrinkage out of it... If you're using 75% stretch fabric, I don't think it will shrink nearly as badly...even if it does shrink a bit, the stretch ought to compensate. I remember my grandmother making a few things for me when I was young...somehow they always ended up being my favorite garments... ;)
JDpenelope said... (4/25/04 1:44 AM) Reply
Lisa, I didn't see your review before, because I searched on the wrong number! The pants look so nice, sorry to hear dd outgrew them so fast. Oh dear, I'm making 4 pair w stirrups for dgd, but I'm using 75% stretch and hoping that will give them a little longer life. Nice tips in the review.
Jeanine said... (5/20/03 3:24 PM) Reply
Again, cute top & pants! Thanks for the tip about pre-washing the fabric as well.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

McCall's 7431OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Kwik Sew 2489

photo
by: Immelu

Review
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Pattern Details
The City Bag Paper Pattern

The City Bag Paper Pattern

Pattern Details