SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Master Pattern Book> Bold Bags - Mod Bag (Mod Bag)

Viewed 2121 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 350
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 287 people
patterns reviewed: 251
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/17/07 4:38 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nancia said...
Your bag is fabulous! Looks very professional. Love the colour.
1/17/07 5:11 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Oh, wow! Your bag looks fabulous. I live near the Leisure Arts Co. Great idea to use the moc-croc sheets. I had not seen them before.
1/17/07 5:16 PM
Debbie Cook said...
That is one cool little bag! I love the zipper placement -- it makes a great accent.
1/17/07 5:21 PM
Peggy L said...
Great bag! I had never heard of these sheets before.
1/17/07 5:28 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Deepika, you sewed it "last night"? Cool! Is it ever a nice purse!!
1/17/07 5:56 PM
j222b said...
I like this cute bag. Tell me about the handles, though--did you make them? buy them somewhere? etc...
1/17/07 6:01 PM
PVA said...
Very professional look! Thanks for this review, Deepika. I think the bag is darling! I love that it's from a book with designs by the Lazy Girls designer -- I'm a *big* fan!
1/17/07 6:11 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Wow. I haven't been interested in sewing my own bags, but with that mock crock and no lining or interfacing, I'm now more than interested. Thanks for the infor about this wonderful stuff.
1/17/07 6:16 PM
kim*brown said...
Great color and style for fall! Love it, very professionally made! And yeah....no fear of zippers, just hate them, but like you're finished product, they are usually worth the hassle. :0)
1/17/07 6:31 PM
Lhan said...
Wow! This is great! There seems to be a run on bags on PR lately - this book is a great tip. Thanks Deepika.
1/17/07 6:39 PM
Sharon M said...
This is really cute! I've been reading about the book on the Lazy Girls designer's blog and have been considering purchasing the book. I think your bag and helpful hints just sealed the deal.
1/17/07 6:59 PM
Tany said...
Lovely bag!
1/17/07 7:22 PM
ChoctawCharli said...
I really like to make purses but was hesitating about getting this book. This review pushed me over the edge. Get it I shall!
1/17/07 7:22 PM
drsue said...
great job! Very professional looking.
1/17/07 7:34 PM
Avril said...
Better than store bought! I love it.
1/17/07 8:04 PM
JDpenelope said...
Oh Man! Now here's something *else* I want to do. You make it sound so easy, but I think you're modest about your own skills. Still, the faux croc sheets are something I *must* have and this pattern looks like a winner.
1/17/07 8:31 PM
Ody said...
I make bags!! I must have this pattern!! That purse is gorgeous! Love it! love it!
1/17/07 11:14 PM
AnitaJ said...
What a nice looking little bag! I really like that vertical zipper and I think I'm going to have to try out those mock croc sheets. Thanks for all the info.
1/18/07 0:33 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Thanks for sharing information about this resource. Neat idea.
1/18/07 5:30 AM
Jacqui315 said...
Great looking bag and I LOVE the red moc croc!
1/18/07 10:09 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Beautiful - Just Beautiful. Another job well done - this looks so professional and like you paid hundreds for it. Good tips too.
1/18/07 11:30 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Love it!! Hope my moc croc bag turns out even remotely as cute as yours!
1/18/07 1:01 PM
Joan Hawley said...
Deepika, Your Mod Bag is fabulous in the burgundy croc. I love it! Here's a link to Leisure Arts with pictures of all seven bags in the book: http://tinyurl.com/ynt3ea Great job!
1/18/07 2:18 PM
Deepika said...
tessiesgal I am so jealous. You live near Leisure Arts. Take a look at some of their other leaflets as well. They seem pretty cool. j222b I updated my review and added some info about the handles. Another Leisure arts product. These sheets are not cheap, ($3.99 for a letter size sheet) but it's totally worth it. penelope, you'll be surprized at how easy this bag really is. I am not kidding! Leslie I am pretty sure that your bag will be WAY cuter than mine. Can't wait to see what colors you use. They have so many nice colors, deciding which one to use was the hardest. Joan thanks! I really enjoyed making this bag. I have the wristlet ready to be sewn on my cutting table.

Thanks everyone for such nice comments! It really made my day.
1/19/07 8:33 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Simplicity 2584

photo
by: karen n

Review
BurdaStyle Downloadable 6058

photo
by: VintageBlu...

Review
Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now