Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3455 (Misses Tops and Pants) thumbsup - Type:Activewear    printable version
Viewed 1684 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:Leslie in Austin
photo
Friend of PR
About Leslie in Austinstarstarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 1/30/03
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 243 people
patterns reviewed: 133
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/19/07 6:48 PM
Last Updated:2/18/07 3:45 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Activewear    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewbehind said...
Leslie, leggings are back in style and you look good in them! (not too many people can wear that look!)
1/19/07 7:11 PM
PattyU said...
Thanks for the greaqt review. I appreciate the advice about the waist.
1/19/07 7:14 PM
Donna H said...
They look awesome! Great job....and used your 009DCC, hmmm??? !
1/19/07 7:18 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Leslie, these look great! I've found that same "hi waist" issue with other Kwik Sew pants patterns, as well.
1/19/07 7:27 PM
Linda G said...
They look like you purchased them from a high end store.....if you lived up here in Minnesota you would appreciate that high waist even more than you do down there......happy biking!
1/19/07 7:29 PM
Sew4Fun said...
These look great Leslie. Perfect for cycling.
1/19/07 8:11 PM
JDpenelope said...
This pattern is nothing special, compared to what you usually do. But it does exactly what you want it to. Furthermore, *You* look special in them and that is the important thing.
1/19/07 8:35 PM
Elona said...
Oh, good-looking tights, Leslie! I'm glad to see a review of the tights portion of this pattern, because I bought it specifically because it has a crotch gusset, like my Mariko, Danskin, etc., tights, and that was a comfort feature I was looking for.
1/19/07 8:46 PM
frame said...
These look like a great fit. I think you look quite stylish in them. Even your shoes are sparkly! ;)
1/19/07 8:55 PM
dreamdesigner said...
I notice the sparkly toes too! And yes, my girls would call these "mom" pants!
1/19/07 10:32 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for this review, Leslie -- I definitely am looking for the functional rather than the trendy, especially for cold weather activewear! (We had snow this week, too!)
1/20/07 2:10 AM
Tany said...
Awesome leggings! I could use a pair of those! Thank you for reviewing this!
1/20/07 3:48 AM
Maychi said...
Those look great Leslie! And I agree, cold weather calls for functional not stylish :-)
1/20/07 5:50 AM
Peggy L said...
They look great and practical - shows off that jacket!
1/20/07 7:31 AM
PattiK said...
Practical is best for me as well as comfy. These look great. Thanks for the great review.
1/20/07 9:10 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Perfect biking wear! They flatter your figure too! :-)
1/20/07 10:16 AM
jbrewer said...
These look fantastic! I'm so impressed!
1/20/07 11:55 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
They look great Leslie. I'm sure you'll appreciate that coverage in the cold.
1/20/07 12:11 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Windpro would definitely be warmer. But I've used PowerStretch with great luck, for biking, and skiing down to 10o, never been cold in my tights... So you might want to scare some up and give it a shot. Thanks for pointing out the crotch gusset, that usually fits well and it's not at all obvious from the pattern!
1/20/07 2:36 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Those look great!
1/20/07 3:50 PM
jnamcd said...
I originally wanted that pattern the for t-shirt (I belive StacySews reviewed it) but now I see the pants look just as nice! Great review!
1/20/07 4:13 PM
julesberry said...
I would also recommend PowerStretch over Windpro for close fitting leggings, especially for cycling (see http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/readreview.pl?readreview=1&ID=16529). PowerStretch is 2-way stretch and the close fit you can get combined with warm fleecy inside and tough outside makes it very good for winter cycling.
1/21/07 6:21 AM
BettyMike said...
these would be great over my cycling shorts, just one more layer! thanks for the great review.
1/21/07 9:42 AM
AnneM said...
I was wondering if you used coverstitch. I've been a little dubious about making myself stretch pants, but I think I might try it in some powerstretch type fabric. Those look great for outside activities.
1/22/07 8:44 AM
Elona said...
Cool, Leslie--or, rather, warm! Snow in Texas?? Hard to imagine, somehow. But the fabric sounds wonderful. I haven't tried working with it yet, but your report is most encouraging.
2/18/07 4:45 PM
KristenI said...
Fantastic results! Eventually I'd like to make a pair of activewear pants, RTW is always way too short for me, and yours turned out so great.
2/20/07 10:17 PM
SarahSews said...
Leslie, keep up the great work on the cycling clothes. I'm trying this next, as yours are such an inspiration. Thank-you for the review.
2/23/07 9:48 AM
VictoriaR said...
Great work! I just bought the pattern for the top, but your review inspired me to make the bottoms too.
3/2/08 0:44 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Other LL014
photo
Review by Leslie in ... on 6/1/09
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3876 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3876 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5556 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5556 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5199
photo
Review by suzikabloo... on 3/1/06
Read Review

Oliver + S Seashore Sundress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Seashore Sundress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Olivia Oversize Tee Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Olivia Oversize Tee Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lolita Patterns Spearmint Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top
Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us