Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5278 (Misses' Jacket w/ Shawl Collar) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1004 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Dr. Alice
photo
About Dr. Alicestar
MA USA
Member since: 1/5/04
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/20/07 3:38 PM
Last Updated:1/20/07 3:41 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jnamcd said...
Nice job! I love the pink lining!!
1/20/07 4:09 PM
LornaJay said...
Lovely jacket - it really seems to suit you.
1/20/07 4:13 PM
LauraTS said...
This shape looks great on you; very pretty.
1/20/07 4:36 PM
Linda G said...
It does not look cheap in the pictures.
1/20/07 5:10 PM
Re Becca said...
I don't think that it looks cheap either. From here it just looks like you got a good deal on a nice jacket. I think that the sewn buttonholes look fine as well. The fabric lays well and apears to have pressed well.
1/20/07 5:24 PM
Jacqui315 said...
I have been looking at this pattern. I like it a lot - it has a flattering style.
1/20/07 5:34 PM
suzanrossi said...
The jacket is lovely and you look great in it. You've done a nice job! You know, other people hardly ever see the "flaws" we see in our sewing. Most people wouldn't even look twice at a buttonhole, for instance. (By the way, yours look just fine from where I'm sitting)
1/20/07 5:45 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Very chic, nice all around.
1/20/07 6:25 PM
Erica B. said...
I think the jacket looks great and and the pink lining was a great touch.
1/20/07 7:41 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely jacket. The collar suits you.
1/20/07 7:53 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I think it looks great - and that McCalls would be wise to substitute your version for theirs on the pattern envelope. Good job!
1/20/07 8:12 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
Dr. Alice, you must be thrilled with your jacket, it looks absolutely beautiful and the fabric not at all 'cheap'. I think some hand stitching around the collar, the way you see in high-end menswear would also look good.
1/21/07 1:01 AM
tweedcurtain said...
I agree wtih Karla - yours is MUCH nicer than the pattern envelope. Well done!
1/21/07 1:34 AM
Patzee said...
I think you have progressed beyond beginner. I know this because I am a beginner!
1/21/07 1:40 AM
quiltsammon said...
Beautiful!! Good job!
1/21/07 1:54 AM
Nancywin said...
Very nice,and does not look cheap in the pics. I think I see what you're talking about in the collar though. Sometimes using a higher end interfacing CAN make a "cheap fabric look expensive" ;-) Nice review - and nice jacket!
1/21/07 2:31 AM
Tany said...
I love it! Very well done on your second jacket!
1/21/07 4:46 AM
PixieCat said...
Beautiful jacket and such a flattering style on you! Nice job.
1/21/07 5:46 AM
krystalkaes said...
Nice jacket and beautiful smile.
1/21/07 8:25 AM
BeckyC said...
Your jacket looks fabulous on you! You did a wonderful job! If you can bag a lining and realize you need extra length for movement, you'll be able to master bound buttonholes in a snap! Great review.
1/21/07 10:14 AM
nicegirl said...
I really like that style! And the color! Good job.
1/22/07 4:46 PM
AnneM said...
Great top, what a nice style. Good fabric is worth using (although your jacket certainly looks nice in the pictures).
1/28/07 8:24 PM
SewTwin said...
You did great if this is only your 2nd jacket!The jacket looks better than most Nieman's I've seen.Probably fits better than RTW,too. I think you actually made inexpensive fabric look expensive.Isn't that what some designers do?
1/29/07 1:15 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
That is one sharp jacket on you! I can't believe it's jacket #2. From here in Belgium I can't see the fabric is cheap (consolation?)
2/10/07 4:06 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

McCall's 4762 girl's skort
photo
Review by shannonsto... on 9/2/11
Read Review

Butterick 5431 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )
Butterick 5431 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3765 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3765 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2638 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by pharmlyn on 5/29/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Vivienne Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Vivienne Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Scout Woven Tee
Scout Woven Tee

Details
Price: $6.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

WhatNots
WhatNots

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern
Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us