SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5278 (Misses' Jacket w/ Shawl Collar)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1005 times 
Reviewed by:Dr. Alice
photo

 
 
About Dr. Alicestar
MA USA
Member since: 1/5/04
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/20/07 3:38 PM
Last Updated:1/20/07 3:41 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jnamcd said...
Nice job! I love the pink lining!!
1/20/07 4:09 PM
LornaJay said...
Lovely jacket - it really seems to suit you.
1/20/07 4:13 PM
LauraTS said...
This shape looks great on you; very pretty.
1/20/07 4:36 PM
Linda G said...
It does not look cheap in the pictures.
1/20/07 5:10 PM
Re Becca said...
I don't think that it looks cheap either. From here it just looks like you got a good deal on a nice jacket. I think that the sewn buttonholes look fine as well. The fabric lays well and apears to have pressed well.
1/20/07 5:24 PM
Jacqui315 said...
I have been looking at this pattern. I like it a lot - it has a flattering style.
1/20/07 5:34 PM
suzanrossi said...
The jacket is lovely and you look great in it. You've done a nice job! You know, other people hardly ever see the "flaws" we see in our sewing. Most people wouldn't even look twice at a buttonhole, for instance. (By the way, yours look just fine from where I'm sitting)
1/20/07 5:45 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Very chic, nice all around.
1/20/07 6:25 PM
Erica B. said...
I think the jacket looks great and and the pink lining was a great touch.
1/20/07 7:41 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely jacket. The collar suits you.
1/20/07 7:53 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I think it looks great - and that McCalls would be wise to substitute your version for theirs on the pattern envelope. Good job!
1/20/07 8:12 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
Dr. Alice, you must be thrilled with your jacket, it looks absolutely beautiful and the fabric not at all 'cheap'. I think some hand stitching around the collar, the way you see in high-end menswear would also look good.
1/21/07 1:01 AM
tweedcurtain said...
I agree wtih Karla - yours is MUCH nicer than the pattern envelope. Well done!
1/21/07 1:34 AM
Patzee said...
I think you have progressed beyond beginner. I know this because I am a beginner!
1/21/07 1:40 AM
quiltsammon said...
Beautiful!! Good job!
1/21/07 1:54 AM
Nancywin said...
Very nice,and does not look cheap in the pics. I think I see what you're talking about in the collar though. Sometimes using a higher end interfacing CAN make a "cheap fabric look expensive" ;-) Nice review - and nice jacket!
1/21/07 2:31 AM
Tany said...
I love it! Very well done on your second jacket!
1/21/07 4:46 AM
PixieCat said...
Beautiful jacket and such a flattering style on you! Nice job.
1/21/07 5:46 AM
krystalkaes said...
Nice jacket and beautiful smile.
1/21/07 8:25 AM
BeckyC said...
Your jacket looks fabulous on you! You did a wonderful job! If you can bag a lining and realize you need extra length for movement, you'll be able to master bound buttonholes in a snap! Great review.
1/21/07 10:14 AM
nicegirl said...
I really like that style! And the color! Good job.
1/22/07 4:46 PM
AnneM said...
Great top, what a nice style. Good fabric is worth using (although your jacket certainly looks nice in the pictures).
1/28/07 8:24 PM
SewTwin said...
You did great if this is only your 2nd jacket!The jacket looks better than most Nieman's I've seen.Probably fits better than RTW,too. I think you actually made inexpensive fabric look expensive.Isn't that what some designers do?
1/29/07 1:15 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
That is one sharp jacket on you! I can't believe it's jacket #2. From here in Belgium I can't see the fabric is cheap (consolation?)
2/10/07 4:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Burda 7484

photo
by: muttless

Review
New Look 6123

photo
by: mnitts

Review
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Bohemian Carpet Bag Pattern

Sew Liberated Bohemian  Carpet Bag Pattern

Buy Now