SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3473 

2 more reviews
Viewed 1451 times 
Reviewed by:Skye
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Skyestar
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews: 45 (patterns: 42)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/20/07 10:27 PM
Last Updated:7/26/07 3:43 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annie P said... (5/13/09 7:56 PM) Reply
It's not clear whether the fabric is a knit or a woven. I intended to make this dress in a knit - now I'm not so sure.
hongkongshopper said... (7/26/07 3:59 AM) Reply
What a shame....but I agree that you could/should unpick and resew the seams now they have "relaxed"......... Edited to say - I see that this is an old review - updating photo links? PS - did you ever fix the dress????
g mcgregor said... (3/25/07 2:58 AM) Reply
It's a cute style! I bet it would have worked better in a woven instead of a knit?
AnneM said... (1/28/07 8:43 PM) Reply
Well, that front definitely isn't going to work as-is, now, is it? It could also be the polyester fabric - sometimes poly just doesn't co-operate. I agree it's a cute style on you, so perhaps it's worth another try w/ a different stash fabric and that narrow zig-zag stitch?
Judy Williment said... (1/23/07 4:01 AM) Reply
Shame about the seams as the style and fit are so good on you! Still, it all uses stash......
Linda G said... (1/21/07 7:44 AM) Reply
fuzzygalore has the answer for the dilemma...don't give up easily, if it is not a old white bedsheet you are using for the muslin there is hope to tweak it enough to wear it at least a few times...who knows it may become your fav.
fuzzygalore said... (1/21/07 4:01 AM) Reply
Bias skirts -always- deform after hanging, it's a property inherent to bias, that's why they always say to hang at least overnight before hemming. Obviously here you need a stretchy seam. If you still have the dress, just unpick the sides of the skirt, and re-sew with a small zigzag as if it was a knit. Then hang again, just for form's sake :-). And finally trim to an even length and hem.
Skye said... (1/21/07 2:35 AM) Reply
thanks Lynny but it is not the stitching - even had my sewist neighbour check that out too- perfectly balanced sitich. Suspicious 'cause the guastlyiness occurred while hanging
lynny said... (1/21/07 1:35 AM) Reply
Skye, the fit of the dress looks good and the fabric suits the pattern so it would be a shame to put it aside if the seams can be fixed. What size and type of needle did you use - that could make a difference, or perhaps try adjusting the tension.
carolynw said... (1/20/07 10:34 PM) Reply
Sorry it didn't work out but I had a good laugh at your remark - plenty more hee hee - oh I know that so well!!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
All About Buttons and Buttonholes
All About Buttons and Buttonholes

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-106

photo
by: liliv

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 261150-1004

photo
by: House of P...

Review
PerfectFuse Light Black

PerfectFuse Light Black

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Pattern Details