SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3473 

1 more reviews
Viewed 1422 times 
Reviewed by:Skye
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Skyestar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/20/07 10:27 PM
Last Updated:7/26/07 3:43 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said...
Sorry it didn't work out but I had a good laugh at your remark - plenty more hee hee - oh I know that so well!!
1/20/07 10:34 PM
lynny said...
Skye, the fit of the dress looks good and the fabric suits the pattern so it would be a shame to put it aside if the seams can be fixed. What size and type of needle did you use - that could make a difference, or perhaps try adjusting the tension.
1/21/07 1:35 AM
Skye said...
thanks Lynny but it is not the stitching - even had my sewist neighbour check that out too- perfectly balanced sitich. Suspicious 'cause the guastlyiness occurred while hanging
1/21/07 2:35 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Bias skirts -always- deform after hanging, it's a property inherent to bias, that's why they always say to hang at least overnight before hemming. Obviously here you need a stretchy seam. If you still have the dress, just unpick the sides of the skirt, and re-sew with a small zigzag as if it was a knit. Then hang again, just for form's sake :-). And finally trim to an even length and hem.
1/21/07 4:01 AM
Linda G said...
fuzzygalore has the answer for the dilemma...don't give up easily, if it is not a old white bedsheet you are using for the muslin there is hope to tweak it enough to wear it at least a few times...who knows it may become your fav.
1/21/07 7:44 AM
Judy Williment said...
Shame about the seams as the style and fit are so good on you! Still, it all uses stash......
1/23/07 4:01 AM
AnneM said...
Well, that front definitely isn't going to work as-is, now, is it? It could also be the polyester fabric - sometimes poly just doesn't co-operate. I agree it's a cute style on you, so perhaps it's worth another try w/ a different stash fabric and that narrow zig-zag stitch?
1/28/07 8:43 PM
g mcgregor said...
It's a cute style! I bet it would have worked better in a woven instead of a knit?
3/25/07 2:58 AM
hongkongshopper said...
What a shame....but I agree that you could/should unpick and resew the seams now they have "relaxed"......... Edited to say - I see that this is an old review - updating photo links? PS - did you ever fix the dress????
7/26/07 3:59 AM
Annie P said...
It's not clear whether the fabric is a knit or a woven. I intended to make this dress in a knit - now I'm not so sure.
5/13/09 7:56 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Butterick 5497

photo
by: Lori V

Review
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Buy Now
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Buy Now