SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3473 

1 more reviews
Viewed 1435 times 
Reviewed by:Skye
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Skyestar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 42
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/20/07 10:27 PM
Last Updated:7/26/07 3:43 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annie P said...
It's not clear whether the fabric is a knit or a woven. I intended to make this dress in a knit - now I'm not so sure.
5/13/09 7:56 PM
hongkongshopper said...
What a shame....but I agree that you could/should unpick and resew the seams now they have "relaxed"......... Edited to say - I see that this is an old review - updating photo links? PS - did you ever fix the dress????
7/26/07 3:59 AM
g mcgregor said...
It's a cute style! I bet it would have worked better in a woven instead of a knit?
3/25/07 2:58 AM
AnneM said...
Well, that front definitely isn't going to work as-is, now, is it? It could also be the polyester fabric - sometimes poly just doesn't co-operate. I agree it's a cute style on you, so perhaps it's worth another try w/ a different stash fabric and that narrow zig-zag stitch?
1/28/07 8:43 PM
Judy Williment said...
Shame about the seams as the style and fit are so good on you! Still, it all uses stash......
1/23/07 4:01 AM
Linda G said...
fuzzygalore has the answer for the dilemma...don't give up easily, if it is not a old white bedsheet you are using for the muslin there is hope to tweak it enough to wear it at least a few times...who knows it may become your fav.
1/21/07 7:44 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Bias skirts -always- deform after hanging, it's a property inherent to bias, that's why they always say to hang at least overnight before hemming. Obviously here you need a stretchy seam. If you still have the dress, just unpick the sides of the skirt, and re-sew with a small zigzag as if it was a knit. Then hang again, just for form's sake :-). And finally trim to an even length and hem.
1/21/07 4:01 AM
Skye said...
thanks Lynny but it is not the stitching - even had my sewist neighbour check that out too- perfectly balanced sitich. Suspicious 'cause the guastlyiness occurred while hanging
1/21/07 2:35 AM
lynny said...
Skye, the fit of the dress looks good and the fabric suits the pattern so it would be a shame to put it aside if the seams can be fixed. What size and type of needle did you use - that could make a difference, or perhaps try adjusting the tension.
1/21/07 1:35 AM
carolynw said...
Sorry it didn't work out but I had a good laugh at your remark - plenty more hee hee - oh I know that so well!!
1/20/07 10:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

New Look 6697

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

More Info
Maggie

Maggie

More Info