SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4863 (Shawl collar jacket)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1991 times 
Reviewed by:Sewliz
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sewlizstar
CO USA
Member since: 6/22/04
Reviews written: 45
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/21/07 10:26 AM
Last Updated:1/21/07 10:35 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SarahWeb said...
You're jacket looks stunning. Great review.
1/21/07 10:31 AM
carolynw said...
What a lovely jacket - can hardly believe this is from a knit. Will definitely have to try this soon especially since knits are so popular now.
1/21/07 10:35 AM
Soliel said...
Wow, what a cute jacket! I only wish wish wish you had a picture of it on!
1/21/07 10:41 AM
CarolynGM said...
The jacket in the picture looks perfectly tailored. I was very surprised when I read through the review and saw what fabric you had used and how simple it was to construct. Very helpful information.
1/21/07 10:59 AM
suzanrossi said...
This beautifully done. Thanks also for the link to the newsletters.
1/21/07 11:14 AM
Riordan said...
Truly beautiful!! I, too, was surprised by the fabric--the jacket looks like a very well-tailored wool. Very useful information, too.
1/21/07 1:08 PM
Carolyndh said...
Your LH pattern turned out very well! Very streamlined jacket--looks fantastic.
1/21/07 1:42 PM
fuzzygalore said...
I think this is the Most Helpful Review of the Year :-)... Thanks! Lots to ponder. And your jacket is stunning.
1/21/07 2:01 PM
BjP said...
Very very nice! Thank you for a very informational review!
1/21/07 2:08 PM
cecelia said...
Beautiful jacket, and thanks for a nice review. Nice to hear about the soft tailoring methods.
1/21/07 3:18 PM
Sanibelle said...
Thanks for writing such a great review for us. Your jacket's beautiful. And you take great photos, too!
1/21/07 3:24 PM
Markie1 said...
Thank you so much for your detailed review. On first look, I thought the jacket was wool! What a beautiful piece! Also thank you for your observation that the curved front is only a drawing flaw, I have this pattern, but didn't want the curved front. Perfect!
1/21/07 4:02 PM
frame said...
Great review. Cute jacket. Thanks.
1/21/07 4:26 PM
LauraTS said...
That looks absolutely wonderful. Thanks for the idea of making this up in a sweatshirt fleece - never would have thought of it myself.
1/21/07 5:39 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
That's sweatshirt knit?!? Wow. Looks fantastic in a tailored garment. Thanks for the detailed info.
1/21/07 5:53 PM
AliceB said...
This is a wonderful jacket and what a clever use of this particular knit. :) Great review!
1/21/07 6:45 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking jacket. My first thought seeing photo is gray flannel wool. Fleece?! Amazing.
1/22/07 5:24 AM
jewelea said...
Looks like the sort of jacket you'll be glad you made and wear a lot. Excellent review.
1/22/07 11:20 PM
FloraNature said...
O my goodness - it looks so much like a tailored wool jacket!!! I want one too!
1/25/07 5:16 PM
Luckylibbet said...
I missed this review the first time around. Thanks for bringing it back up in the message board. It's terrific!
2/27/09 11:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

McCall's 6278

photo
by: Byrdie

Review
Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Buy Now