Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Textile Studio: 1409 (Madison Ave Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1330 times 23 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Chimene
photo
Friend of PR
About Chimenestar
MD USA
Member since: 10/10/03
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/22/07 1:07 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely dress. It's looks wonderful on you, very flattering!
1/22/07 1:14 AM
Tany said...
I love your dress! The fabric is gorgeous and you look terrific wearing it!
1/22/07 4:01 AM
jlg said...
Absolutely gorgeous on you.
1/22/07 5:09 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Wow! A total success. Looks like it's not the dress that's twisiting in the armhole, but the binding. Maybe you need to stretch it more in the 'corners'? Maybe you need to incorporate some clear elastic?
1/22/07 5:41 AM
carolw said...
The extra fabric at the back makes it looks like you need to do a sway back alteration, the main part of your back is shorter than the pattern and your dressform. You need to pinch out the extra on your pattern before you cut it , FFRP tells you how to do this.
1/22/07 7:18 AM
CarolynGM said...
The dress is beautiful on you, wrinkles and all. Lovely fabric, too.
1/22/07 7:25 AM
Linda E. said...
beautiful dress love the fabric..
1/22/07 8:39 AM
cindy-lou said...
Okay, this pattern just went to the top of my list. A true stunner. Beautiful work!
1/22/07 8:45 AM
Nancywin said...
Beautiful dress. I made this dress last summer and absolutely love it. I had the same problem with the twisting on the sleeve and I also have wrinkles above my behind. I think that's because of the disproportionate ratio between my waist and behind! Your dress looks lovely.
1/22/07 9:48 AM
Markie1 said...
I think you look amazing. I hope you wear this a lot because you look so good in it. Thanks for the great review.
1/22/07 10:49 AM
crisford said...
This looks gorgeous on you! Beautiful fabric! I'm not sure what you mean by the "twist" but you may find that the next fabric behaves differently. anyway.
1/22/07 11:50 AM
Ody said...
This dress is lovely on you and I am jealous that you got to go to NY with Peggy Sagers, who I love. Gorgeous fabric. CarolW has a point about the back. My dd has the same challenge you have, that your waist to hip slope is rather sharp. Pinching out the fabric might work, or putting in a back seam to take more out of that area. The hem---looking at it I think a tip from Cynthia Guffey might work here. She suggests always sewing a seam from large to small with the grain. I realize this is a knit, but if you had sewed it from the top to bottom, it might help. Just some ideas for you. You really did a nice job and I am drooling over the fabric. You have such a gorgeous figure it would be worth tweaking the pattern.
1/22/07 1:20 PM
nicegirl said...
Hee! I love that your pic is like the pattern picture! So cute! And I like the dress too. You look great in it.
1/22/07 5:41 PM
Sewbe said...
This looks great on you and the fabric is really pretty. I am inspired! Thanks!
1/22/07 10:55 PM
ryan's mom said...
Smashing dress!!! It looks so rich and elegant!
1/23/07 7:35 AM
BeckyC said...
Your dress is so very beautiful on you! The fabric is awesome and I'm totally jealous you went with Peggy fabric shopping in NYC. You've had some excellent suggestions on diagnosing your back wrinkles with swayback. I love how your pic reflects the same stance as the model of the pattern!
1/23/07 7:54 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
This is perfect on you, but then, I think you'd look great in almost anything: I'd say you put many models to shame. Thanks for review: wonderful choice of fabric and pattern. By the way, I love the picture of you and the piano and the pattern picture and piano: gave me a good chuckle.
1/23/07 12:38 PM
Chimene said...
Thanks so much for the helpful comments. You all have inspired me to sew it again and try the recommendations for swayback adjustments. The armhole is folded over and topstitched and I believe as I was stitching the fabric twisted. I started at the underarm for that reason and was able to avoid it twisting by the time I got to the top of the shoulder. I will have to practice on another one! Thanks for the flattering comments! You all are a wonderful resource and inspiration!
1/23/07 10:10 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Looks great on you, very flattering. Back wrinkling may be due to swayback and that is simple adjustment to make. Lovely fabric.
1/24/07 5:33 AM
AnneM said...
Very nice. I keep thinking about getting this pattern; I have a stretch velvet that would work great for it. Yours looks great on you.
1/25/07 9:12 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
Hi Chimene, your dress is smashing. I have made this dress twice in matte jersey from Textile studio and love it. Here is a tip for the armholes: serge on some some super-fine fusible bias tape with the sticky side up--then turn under and press, then topstich--it stablizes curves. Go to Judy Barlup's site: Uniquetechniques.com--you can buy the tape there and she has a pictorial tutorial on how to use it called "no gap necklines". Another site to buy this is from Lyla Messinger at LJdesigns (google it and you'll find her). Unless I have a really cooperative firm knit I always use these bias fusibles on armscyes and necklines. I find it easier than clear elastic. HTH and happy sewing!
1/26/07 0:40 AM
Chimene said...
Thanks so much Lee Ann. I am going to get the tape today!!! I have some Matte Jersey I think I might use. Actually on second thought I just realized I have some I bought in Nov from Judy Barlap. It was sitting in an envelope. Oh boy! Well I don't have to buy it! Haha
1/26/07 4:28 PM
Fiberlyone said...
The sizing information and the photos were very helpful. And your dress looks great.
3/10/07 7:25 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Butterick 5520
photo
Review by Mahogany S... on 9/29/10
Read Review

Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2346 Men's Vests
photo
Review by HeidiBacca... on 5/26/13
Read Review

Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt
Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3514 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3514 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7008 Pattern
Burda 7008 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us