SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4551 (Fast and Easy)

2 more reviews
Viewed 748 times 
Reviewed by:SimsSews
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SimsSews
TX USA
Member since: 10/27/06
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/23/07 1:35 AM
Last Updated:1/23/07 1:40 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SimsSews said...
Thanks for such encouraging comments. It does feel good to have a couple more tricks up my French seamed, narrow roll hemed sleeve. I belive AnneM is right, this garment will only go with certain things, sleevless things in my opinion. I bought this material to go with McCalls 5178, click here to see the finished dress. But I decided not to add the cumberbun of view c, and used this material only for the flower accent. Then the stash reduction contest started and this material was already on my cutting board. It seemed like a good idea at the time. And that's how my French seam class began. Seriously though, I'm not tossing it unless I don't feel comfortable wearing it with tank and spaghettii strap tops, I like something on my arms in public. So it may still fill a niche in my closet after all.
1/24/07 4:43 PM
AnneM said...
Well, congratulations on learning how to do French seams. Tha tmakes this top a success, even if you never wear it. Personally I think that this style is very particular and only goes with some things - and you can't always tell in advance!
1/24/07 8:07 AM
Jane S said...
It is frustrating when a sewing project didn't work out as I imagined it. I heard a speaker say one time to think of it as a sewing class you just took and write down what lessons you learned from the experience, don't just toss the garment in frstration. I too think this would look great with a solid color tank dress underneath, however, and think it's a cute little shrug.
1/24/07 6:37 AM
crisford said...
This looks very cute! I don't think the seam looks bad at all. Think of it as a design feature. You did not mention what color your dress was or why it did not go, but I think your shrug would look great with a black sleeveless dress or tank top.
1/23/07 11:22 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
I think it's cute and just think - you learned and perfected two new things, french seams and a rolled hem.
1/23/07 10:19 AM
moss said...
well, it's really cute! So I hope you get some use out of it.
1/23/07 8:06 AM
Tany said...
Sorry it didn't work with your dress... I had trouble sewing on this kind of fabric not very long ago... It's not easy to get perfect seams.
1/23/07 4:08 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Patti's Dolls Tail Waggin Dragon

photo
by: LaurieEm

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 99383-1000

photo
by: julliams

Review
SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

More Info