Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Suitability: 2900 (Riding Vest, Tights, Sweatpant) - Type:Other    printable version
Viewed 345 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:AnnieInNYC
photo
About AnnieInNYCstar
NY USA
Member since: 9/19/06
Reviews written: 5
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/11/08 3:09 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CharityAK said...
Well I'm impressed. Not often you see someone tackling this specific of an item. Good for you! You won't catch me near a horse, but if I had to, I'd wear these in a heartbeat (okay...I'd wear them if I was a gazillion pounds lighter)
9/11/08 3:10 PM
snaffles said...
These look great. I have this pattern, but haven't made it because of the difficulty finding good fabric.
9/11/08 3:22 PM
sewtime said...
Wow! They look great!
9/11/08 3:59 PM
Mufffet said...
WOW..great job. They do look professional!
9/11/08 5:00 PM
AnneM said...
Those look very good. I seem to remember seeing some appropriate fabric at Emma One Sock, but I might be mis-remembering.
9/11/08 7:48 PM
marec said...
Those are great! You have motivated me to make some new tights. I love these so much more than breeches because they are so much more comfortable. You said you are having trouble finding fun colors...my fave pairs are black with wild stripe inserts down the outside. I even have helmet covers to match but found that just waaaay too much style for the trail.
9/12/08 0:47 AM
yorkshire lass said...
These look lovely. Emma One Sock often has 14 oz Rayon Lycra jersey if that would work instead of the cotton lycra. She mostly has it in stock. I haven't tried the 14oz but can vouch for the quality of the 11oz. She sends out decent sized swatches too and she is very helpful if you contact her with a query.
9/12/08 3:21 AM
AnnieInNYC said...
Thanks everyone for the nice comments, and AnneM and Yorkshire Lass, thanks for the suggestion of Emma One Sock for fabric. I will check it out. Marec: I hadn't though about embellishments on a plain fabric. That's a great idea!
9/12/08 9:26 AM
kim*brown said...
I'd like to see the pattern.
9/12/08 10:02 AM
AnnieInNYC said...
Kim, sorry, the second link under "Pattern Photo" now works. I can't seem to change the first one. I think it is being filled in automatically by PR, and I can't edit or delete it.
9/12/08 11:27 AM
Elle D said...
I can't remember if I have this pattern, but if not I must immediately order it. This would be great for schooling tights, which my daughter and I need. You're right about the cost, full seat schooling tights made with crappy polyster (but nice full seat clarino type material -- important) cost $100 and way up. Something to do with the sinking value of the US$. I made their hunt jacket and the instructions were incredibly detailed. A tailoring course in itself. As for fabric, try www.seattlefabrics.com, they have a link for equestrian fabric. Not cheap, but the fabric is 4-way stretch which is nice. I'll be interested in how the ultrasuede patches work for you. Are they tough enough to stand up to the wear and tear of riding? I ordered deerskin to make full seat breeches but haven't worked up the courage to cut into them yet. There are links on the Suitability website to places to order fabrics, etc. That's how I found out about SeattleFabrics.com.
9/12/08 11:32 AM
AnnieInNYC said...
Ellle D: We'll see about the sturdiness of the ultrasuede. My sister's RTW tights have ultrasuede patches, but the ultrasuede I got seems a bit lighter weight. I almost purchased real suede, but was told it wasn't washable. Clarino sounds like possible alternative, if I can find a source. Is the deerskin you have washable? Thanks for the suggestion of Seattle Fabrics. I had actually checked them out, and the fabric looks great, but colors are very limited. My sister thinks her horse looks good in jewel tones, so I was going for a teal, or dark rose, or deep royal or purple, nearly impossible to find in a heavy cotton/lycra.
9/12/08 12:26 PM
AnnieInNYC said...
Sorry, duplicate posted.
9/12/08 12:27 PM
VtMartha said...
I love this pattern and yours look great. I have made numerous pairs in stretch polarfleece of various colors. I wear slick over pants around the barn to keep them separate from the hay. My ultrasuede patches are the first part to go but I just end up patching the patches. I wear them off my horse too.
9/13/08 9:41 AM
PrairieTides said...
Very nice! I've made several riding tights out of this pattern because I can't stand to pay the prices to buy tights. And they are more comfortable than breeches.
11/5/08 1:24 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Kwik Sew 4003
photo
Review by Immelu on 9/2/13
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt
Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

8 inch Dressmaking Shears
8 inch Dressmaking Shears

Details
Price: $21.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Split Hem Pant Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Split Hem Pant Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sadie Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sadie Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns 1103 Minoru Jacket
photo
Review by mnitts on 10/18/13
Read Review

Vogue 1233 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 1233 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6655 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
McCalls 6655 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us