Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: Sew U Pants: Built By Wen thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1131 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:craftyourclothes
photo
About craftyourclothesstar
IRELAND
Member since: 1/7/07
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/23/07 7:17 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lou. said...
This is your first pair of pants? They're fab, you've got a natural talent!
1/23/07 7:51 PM
Levone said...
I agree....these pants look great on you. You did a wonderful job with these being your first pair of pants.
1/23/07 8:03 PM
popoagiesmiles said...
Good first effort. Although you're not satisfied, most people would be amazed that you made them. Keep practicing and ask for advice here with the problems you're having. People are very willing to help.
1/23/07 9:08 PM
AnneM said...
Pants aren't as easy as some other items, so you should be pleased. Too bad you didn't feel the directions were clearer, but perhaps with a little clarification you will be more comfortable with them next time around.
1/24/07 7:47 AM
thaiyal said...
The pants look great!!! And yes, you're a natural.
1/24/07 8:16 AM
krystalkaes said...
Congratulations on your first pair of pants. I agree. . .you are a natural.
1/24/07 11:15 AM
JuliaS said...
These look so great, especially for your first pair of pants! I have been slightly obsessed lately with making pants so this may be more info than you want. :) I have _Sew U_ and really like it for all the pocket ideas and design inspiration. I haven't made the pants yet so I can't vouch the pattern, but I do agree that the directions aren't great. I really recommend finding a copy of _Power Sewing_ by Sandra Betzina for directions on how to construct pants. Her fly directions are awesome and her general pants construction methods is great. I feel like this book has really improved how my pants look.
1/24/07 11:18 AM
craftyourclothes said...
Thank you all for the encouraging comments- I feel better about these now that I've had some time to recover from making them :-). Julia- I will have to check out Power Sewing. I've heard it recommended before, but I guess I assumed it was for someone doing a more robust amount of sewing than I. I am definitely interested in making more pants, though (I'm getting ready to move to a colder climate). I've actually got a khaki stretch twill already bought, I just need to decide what to make :-).
1/24/07 4:44 PM
LornaJay said...
It looks like the fly area might sit better if you moved the button on your waistband to make it slightly tighter. Very very nice pants, especially for a first try!
1/26/07 3:05 AM
craftyourclothes said...
I actually took them for a "test wear" yesterday and concluded the same thing :-). I also think they need an additional button or a hook closure at the top of the fly- they're fine when I'm standing, but tend to roll over when sitting down. I was afraid when I originally put in the button that if I made the waistband too tight the pants would look too small, but I now see it is causing the pants to wrinkle a bit on top. Also (and this is pretty obvious in retrospect) I think I sewed the button on so the shank is in the middle of the buttonhole, not at the end where it would sit once you had the pants on. I'm making my next pair in stretch twill, so I do wonder how that will change the fit.
1/26/07 6:51 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

McCall's M6270
photo
Review by juliesbtw on 6/3/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )
Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )
Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2795 Hoddie
photo
Review by swirlgurl on 1/4/14
Read Review

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern
Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8813 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8813 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1355 Pattern ( Size )
Vogue 1355 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us