SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5203 (Cowl Top)

40 more reviews
Viewed 1032 times 
Reviewed by:Peggy L
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Peggy Lstarstarstar
TN USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/24/07 1:54 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mini said...
Sometimes patterns just won't work out, so it's better to get rid of it and move on. Life is too short to waste time on something you're not really going to like-and then you have an excuse to buy new patterns:).
1/24/07 1:58 PM
cecelia said...
Peggy, I think the "dropped shoulders" in this pattern don't help us shorties. Yours looks better than mine did though!
1/24/07 2:03 PM
giblet said...
I really like the creative license solution to the shortened sleeves. That's a nice touch.
1/24/07 2:15 PM
Re Becca said...
Wow, you are on a roll! I think that it looks good on your neck, and I like the ribs in the knit.
1/24/07 2:35 PM
Peggy L said...
Well, it does cover up the "turkey neck" but I really don't like the "50s and pregnant" look!
1/24/07 2:38 PM
beangirl said...
I like it, but I know what you mean about patterns you just don't like to wear. Oh well, it looks good-- someone will sure appreciate it in the Goodwill box!
1/24/07 2:50 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Peggy, your figure is *so* much cuter than that top shows. Excellent item for donation!
1/24/07 3:19 PM
carolynw said...
hat's toobad Peggy - I actually like the way it looks around your neck but do understand - sometimes you just don't feel "good" in what you have sewn and so it's best to donate.
1/24/07 5:10 PM
j222b said...
I love the neck on you. Your sleeve cuff design is very good- I will keep this idea for other ls t-shirts. I do not like the length, though--maybe shorten the top & add the shortened area back as a rib at the waist? I think this pattern is worth fiddling with. Really. Also it would look good under a jacket or sweater.
1/24/07 5:55 PM
ayin said...
One more person who thinks it looks nice on you.
1/24/07 7:09 PM
BettyMike said...
I really like the cowl neck, but I agree with Leslie, your figure is too cute for this top!
1/24/07 9:20 PM
Em's Summer said...
I think it looks fine and I agree with those who think this neckline looks really nice on you. You might change your mind about the style if you try it in a print. Something fresh, maybe a mod-ish paisley print that's not too big, but not too small, either.
1/24/07 10:34 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Peggy, I didn't like this pattern as it was designed either. I shortened the cowl and too length off the top. I really didn't like the very wide hem and removed it. It just added bulk, which I suspect is what you don't like. In fact, chop the bottom off this top and recut the neckline and I'm sure you'll love it. Don't get rid of it as it fits nicely through the body and bust. Also, I'm finding the "Magic Wardrobe" really works. Things I didn't like at first are much better once they've been in the closet a while.
1/24/07 11:40 PM
Liane M said...
I agree with everything you said. I made this up in slinky and didn't use the cowl, just made it a jewel neck. I like mine very much after I made the changes. I have not made is again though, so maybe you're right to move on. I think the CJ BaseWear Two could be made into this top and would probably give you better fit and you could make it with a cowl and lengthen it. Just rambling on after a long day....
1/24/07 11:50 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
Peggy, I love that cowl neckline on you! I think it looks too big as you look down, both in the sleeves and around the tummy. I'd be tempted to take in the side seams and wear it under a coat. The neckline and colour really suit you.
1/25/07 3:58 AM
FloraNature said...
Hi Peggy, I notice that the sleeves and hemline are on the same level horizontally, which makes you appear wider at the hips. Perhaps you could make bracelet length sleeves, or shorten the hemline for a better appearance. Best wishes, Nicky
1/25/07 4:49 AM
JDpenelope said...
I'm with those who think your top doesn't look That Bad, but "That Bad" is not what you are striving for! IMHO, it is too long, something we shorties need to avoid in tops, if you listen to the WNTW folks. I don't like to great big cowl necklines, either but this one doesn't look objectionable to me. Still, you know what feels right.
1/25/07 6:55 AM
fuzzygalore said...
I don't know that it's such a bad look. I actually like the neck on you. While I like your cuff, if this was my top I'd try shortening the sleeves to 3/4 - I think that might look more balanced.
1/25/07 7:06 AM
Peggy L said...
Thanks, everyone for all your pointers.
1/25/07 7:17 AM
NancyDaQ said...
My first impression was that this was a nice looking top on you. Sorry you don't care for it.
1/25/07 8:37 AM
blue mooney said...
Peggy, maybe you'd like it better if it were shorter? I actually think the neckline looks pretty nice on you.
1/25/07 1:08 PM
Ody said...
You are really putting out the tops in this contest. Sorry you don't like this one for you. Save it for when you paint the house.
1/27/07 0:25 AM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Good attempt, and could ultimately make someone who IS pregnant very happy! :-) P.S. The Goodwill guy now recognizes my car when I drive up, thanks to all my sewing "donations"!
1/30/07 10:41 AM
PegL said...
Sorry I'm late to the show...I like the collar on you very much! It's very flattering! I agree with others that making the sleeves shorter and taking in the sides at the bottom might make you change your mind!
1/30/07 7:08 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 8696

photo
by: mimi g.

Review
Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Buy Now
THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now