SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2759 (Twin Set)

45 more reviews
Viewed 1086 times 
Reviewed by:Sherril Miller
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sherril Millerstarstarstarstar
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 139
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 186 people
patterns reviewed: 128
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/24/07 9:47 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Great set, Sherril. I am always so glad to see thingsyou make because our shapes are so similar. Have you found the trim/elastics shop on Maple, just north of 9th, under the awning?
2/4/07 7:37 PM
SewTwin said...
Ther are a few reviewers I know will always have "quality" results, and yours is one!I love the chocolate in this print, very "in".The first pic fooled me, thought it was all one top.This is a definitely a "Traveler" outfit.I really think you should be teaching, instead of "reviewing"?
1/29/07 11:35 PM
PixieCat said...
You've made such a beautiful twinset! The fabric and trim looks so nice on you. Definitely a TNT.
1/27/07 6:31 AM
Ody said...
That is great fabric and I love the decorative elastic. I think you look good in the tank top. Something nice to wear to Italy!
1/27/07 0:08 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Cheryl, I shortened it above the bust 1/2 inch. I think by pulling the elastic some while I serged it on gave me a good fit at the armhome. I pulled more above the bust, sort of like easing in an armhole dart to get it to pull in nicely. It bagged out there before I put on the elastic.
1/25/07 11:46 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Sherril, that set looks really nice on you. What adjustments did you do to the cami? It seems to fit perfectly around the armholes.
1/25/07 11:40 PM
mClones said...
Sherril, you look great. The trim is a smart touch and the fit of your tops and pants are enviable! Did I forget to mention the print -- fab!
1/25/07 3:37 PM
Tany said...
Very cute!!
1/25/07 3:37 PM
AnneM said...
Wow. Great outfit. I also like the elastic trim.
1/25/07 3:35 PM
blue mooney said...
Sherril, you look super! Nice twinset and nice styling, too!
1/25/07 1:06 PM
Debbie Cook said...
I *love* this Sherril!! The style and print are very flattering on you. This one definitely goes into your TNT file.
1/25/07 12:13 PM
Mini said...
That whole ensemble looks great. Adding the extra length really gives the cardigan and shell a good proportion with the Burda pants.
1/25/07 11:34 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Thank you everyone for the nice comments. I live near the Los Angeles garment district, but unfortunately when I was there two weeks ago on a Sunday, I found out my trim store is closed on that day. So I'll be going again in a couple of weeks. The pants are my TNT OOP pattern Burda 2569. I've made them about a dozen times. I love the way they fit.
1/25/07 9:52 AM
farqs said...
You look wonderful in this outfit!
1/25/07 9:47 AM
Marji said...
Sherril, this really looks nice on you. you might also try MJTrim in NY for elastics. BTW, did you make those pants? Nice fit on the pant, they hang v well.
1/25/07 9:42 AM
CarolynGM said...
Wonderful fit. Great choices on fabric and trim.
1/25/07 8:38 AM
BjP said...
Great twin set, Sherril! You look wonderful in that color/fabric. I'm working on this twin set right now and hope to have the same fabulous results as you! THanks for the elastic trim idea!
1/25/07 8:08 AM
Peggy L said...
Sherril - great fit on this. Love your fabric and trim.
1/25/07 7:24 AM
JDpenelope said...
This is an inspirational review. You've made this simple pattern special and it is very becoming on you. Like the others, I love that elastic. Is it the fold over kind?
1/25/07 7:10 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Wow, great outfit! The fabric, the elastic, the necklace... It's all perfect :-)!
1/25/07 6:43 AM
BillieJean said...
Beautiful job! Love that fabric. Billie
1/25/07 5:58 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I like the elastic treatment.
1/25/07 5:20 AM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous Sherril !! The lovely fabric, trim and accessories all combine to give a very nice outfit.
1/25/07 4:48 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
PS. I wouldn't worry about wearing the cami by itself, it looks fantastic.
1/25/07 4:13 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
Sherril, you've given this twin set a really funky, modern look with the beautiful paisley colours and decorative elastic. This was already on my Wishlist, now I'm going to make it!
1/25/07 4:11 AM
pterion said...
Beautiful job! The fabric is really lovely for this pattern. You look terrific in this outfit.
1/25/07 0:32 AM
Linda G said...
very professional looking twin set
1/25/07 0:24 AM
KarenP said...
Very nice! I love the elastic. Like Becky, I didn't even notice the two elastics were different until you pointed it out.
1/25/07 0:00 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
This looks so fantastic, Sherril! Great print, great fit, lovely trim. If you're looking for more fun elastics, dig out the # for Daytona Trimmings in NYC. They have *miles* of interesting elastic trims!
1/24/07 11:26 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Glad I could help, Patti. ;D
1/24/07 11:24 PM
Patti B said...
Sherril, this is a great ensemble; I love the fabric and the way it looks on you. Now you've done it since I own this pattern and have never sewn it up; it'll have to move up the list.
1/24/07 11:00 PM
luvzdogz said...
Boy you really pulled this one together! Great choice of fabric, pattern and dec elastic to finish it off. An A+
1/24/07 10:33 PM
Em's Summer said...
That's soo cute! It looks artsy, especially with your accessories. I was going on a pattern diet, but I think I'm going to have to put it off until I get this pattern! :-)
1/24/07 10:23 PM
BeckyC said...
Beautiful, beautiful twin set on you Sherril! The fabric and decorative elastic are awesome together! The elastics are so close I couldn't tell on first look at the picture that they weren't the same. You've sold me on this pattern!
1/24/07 10:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Vogue Patterns 1315

photo
by: imsewcrazy

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2009-135

photo
by: Kayseri

Review
Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now