SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Studio Tantrum> Redondo Skirt (Redondo Skirt)

27 more reviews
Viewed 1342 times 
Reviewed by:jnamcd
photo

 
 
About jnamcdstarstarstar
IN USA
Member since: 10/5/04
Reviews written: 140
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 140
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/25/07 4:29 PM
Last Updated:3/18/07 8:29 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MeganJ said...
Very cute. I can never get my chenille-ing to turn out just right. Great job!
3/19/07 1:57 AM
jessika said...
Very pretty and cute. I like the black and bright pink.
3/18/07 11:45 PM
jnamcd said...
dreamdesigner: I (along with others on this site!) belong to a yahoo group (ottobre-english) --that talks just about ottobre patterns. A member there posted her picture of this skirt, she had made. Later, it was taken off the board (probably because it wasn't an ottobre pattern) --but I was so glad I got a glimse of it before it was taken off --it was a great inspiration for me!
1/30/07 11:17 PM
dreamdesigner said...
Amy, Very cute! Please tell me where I can see your inspiration.
1/29/07 8:08 PM
jnamcd said...
Stephanie: I just stitched around the edge about 1/2" and about 5/8" (2 stitching lines for safety!!) --then I snipped into the hem every 1/2" or so and washed away--it chenilled those edges, too. I debated just doing a rolled hem on the skirt, and levaing the chenilleing for the seamlines, but decided to go ahead and do it all! HTH's!
1/29/07 5:27 PM
Stephanie C. said...
How did you do the hem? It looks chenilled, too, but how? Thanks.
1/29/07 4:30 PM
Ody said...
I am definitely going to make one of these for my 6 yo so she can twirl.
1/26/07 11:51 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Darling! My DD would have loved this.
1/26/07 11:59 AM
slanden99 said...
Very cute skirt! I like the chenille edges a lot.
1/26/07 9:29 AM
Monica G said...
Amy. Love the skirt. I just purchased this pattern myself and can't wait to make my first Redondo. DD is just turning 2, don't know if she'll fully appreciate the twirl factor--but I will!
1/26/07 7:30 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Now that is just adorable...I want one! ;) Cute typo, hehe...most people have to *wash* their cut seams to get it to chenille [sorry, I couldn't resist :)].
1/26/07 7:02 AM
Tany said...
Beautiful! Very original!
1/26/07 3:40 AM
pterion said...
What a great version of this skirt!
1/25/07 11:13 PM
jnamcd said...
Thanks for all your lovely comments, ladies! I really feel all the praise should go to Silke--it was hers that caught my attention. But I'm not sure she posts on this site, so thought I'd share mine with you in case any might love it like I did!
1/25/07 10:11 PM
Tiner W said...
Now yours is my favorite one yet! I could have had this pattern at PR weekend, but didn't think I liked it. I love yours!
1/25/07 9:33 PM
JDpenelope said...
I really like your version in just one fabric with with this fabulous "chenilled" backwards seam. Like MelissaB, I want to copy it exactly. I'm dying here--Can't wait until home renovations are complete and I can start sewing. This pattern is number 1 on my list.
1/25/07 7:47 PM
jessika said...
I really like your technique on the edges. Cute and great twirl factor. I bet she can't wait to show it off.
1/25/07 7:42 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
Very cute Amy!!! I love how the chenille-ing turned out!
1/25/07 7:21 PM
Stephanie C. said...
That turned out really cute! I've got my next one ready, too; a Valentines version.
1/25/07 7:16 PM
quilter55 said...
Your skirt is precious! I bought the pattern for my g-daughters and this was just the inspiration I needed to get me started on them.
1/25/07 7:06 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
OMGosh, that is sooooooo cute Amy! I am so making one just like that for DD - thanks for the inspiration as I missed the post on the Ottobre group.
1/25/07 6:03 PM
Elemenopeo said...
That is adorable!
1/25/07 5:54 PM
got2sew said...
Love the skirt!! I'm sure your DD will be dizzy in no time.
1/25/07 5:02 PM
SeamRipper said...
Great job! What a cute skirt. I'm sure your daughter will love twirling in it.
1/25/07 5:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

StyleArc Abby Cardi

photo
by: princessju...

Review
Simplicity 2560

photo
by: dignsew

Review
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Buy Now