SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Neue Mode> 23304 (Avantegarde blouse/jacket)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1144 times 
Reviewed by:ryankckids
photo

 
 
About ryankckidsstar
Member since: 1/3/06
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 33
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/27/07 8:25 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 26 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kristen said...
Great jackets!! I have the pattern and have not made it yet - but one version I am picturing is ice blue silk dupionnni with a rhinestone zipper! Thanks for motivating me into making this one
1/27/07 8:45 PM
Carolyndh said...
Great lines on this jacket! It fits you really well too.
1/27/07 8:54 PM
OP Gal said...
Great looking jackets. The seam detail on the front is very attractive, and fits you well, too.
1/27/07 9:03 PM
Lori V said...
Fantastic looking jackets.
1/27/07 9:08 PM
Chris Kelly said...
Beautiful Jacket! Love it! Thanks for the review.
1/27/07 9:11 PM
casken said...
Wow! great job on your jackets! I have seen this jacket in Threads and loved it then. Thank you for a great review!
1/27/07 9:14 PM
SansSouci572 said...
I love that jacket too. Each time I try to order it, everyone is sold out!
1/27/07 9:34 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely, lovely, lovely!! The cream and brown are my favourites. I loved this pattern the minute it came out but I never thought to make it as a jacket. Which Threads magazine was their jacket in?
1/27/07 9:39 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous set of jackets ! I can see why you have made this so many times. O like all of them and now adding the pattern to my wish list. Thanks for reviewing these :))
1/27/07 10:06 PM
Sharon M said...
Thanks for the review - this is a wonderful jacket!
1/27/07 10:07 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Love this. I can see why everyone in your family wants one. Great review, too.
1/27/07 10:39 PM
Avril said...
Awesome jacket! Love it.
1/27/07 10:48 PM
Soliel said...
Veeeeery AVANT GARDE! *wink*
1/27/07 11:07 PM
jewelea said...
Terrific jackets...thanks for bringing this pattern to my notice, too.
1/27/07 11:32 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Very beautiful jackets. I loved this in Threads but never ordered it. You did a great job.
1/28/07 0:05 AM
sewbehind said...
I really like the lines on this jacket. I would say that you got your money's worth out of this pattern. They all look different.
1/28/07 0:05 AM
Tany said...
Beautiful!! I really love your jacket! Thank you for reviewing this pattern!
1/28/07 3:37 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Wow! I could see you could want to live in this for the next 10 years :-). I think you're being unfair to the back neck though - from the drawing, it's meant to stand up. Clever of them to build in the ways for it to happen even in relatively mushy fabric. But this design looks like it demands that back perkiness.
1/28/07 4:52 AM
KathleenS said...
I love the seam details on this jacket! Thanks for the review. It's great seeing all the different versions too.
1/28/07 6:38 AM
CarolynGM said...
Great lines and seaming -- I see why you've made this again and again. I actually like the way the back collar stands up.
1/28/07 6:58 AM
carolynw said...
Wow!! What a great pattern for you - a real TNT. I have one like that from Vogue - works for me every time and the funny thing is no one seems to tie all the versions I have made as being from the one pattern!!
1/28/07 9:51 AM
Danvillegirl said...
All of your jackets look great!
1/28/07 10:04 AM
cecelia said...
Your jackets are so beautiful--I can see why you really like this pattern--the lines are so unusual.
1/28/07 1:37 PM
Kay Y said...
Each of your jackets is different and they are all lovely! I have always liked this pattern - thanks for reminding me of it.
1/28/07 2:00 PM
LiZ said...
This is a great pattern. All of your jackets are beautiful. Thanks for a great review.
1/28/07 3:57 PM
ryankckids said...
sew4fun - I just flipped through the Threads I have at home, and can't find it. I also searched their web site, but it didn't come up there, either. I think it was about a year ago.
1/28/07 4:47 PM
lilhoney57 said...
i loved this pattern the first time i saw it and all your versions prove i was right! Awesome!
1/28/07 5:26 PM
pterion said...
Wow, this pattern has been a really workhorse for you! I love all your versions.
1/28/07 5:50 PM
KiwiWendy said...
ohhhh, I've coveted this pattern since it appeared, but haven't been organised enough to buy it online. Great to see it made up as a jacket. Hmmm, maybe I could be doing this
1/28/07 8:55 PM
otis said...
Threads has it in their Pattern Review section of issue #123 March 2006. I thought it may make me look too wide but from your multiple versions I know I'm wrong. Great review. It's nice to see a smiling face wearing something(s) you made!
1/28/07 10:00 PM
AnneM said...
I knew immediately which pattern this was when I saw your picture. Great style. I like the last version w/ the metal zipper.
2/1/07 12:35 PM
SewTwin said...
I ***love this review!! Gives me many great ideas..Hope I can post as many as you when I get this pattern.You serged the seams, and left them open?..Apparently the pattern did not have darts in the back at all? They look "very" Designer Stylish!
2/1/07 11:38 PM
ryankckids said...
SewTwin - I'm not sure what you mean by "serged the seams then left them open". For the 2 versions with "normal" seams, I sewed the seams with a straight stitch, then serged to finish them - like I do with most voven garments. For the 2 versions with exposed seams (the blue-green and the doubleknit, I sewed some seams and the collar wrong sides together, then trimmed the seam allowances to about 1/4-inch. I then actually took a toothbrush to them to make them a little fuzzy. And...there are back darts in the pattern, but they didn't provide nearly enough shaping for my taste and body type. hth (if not, let me know! ;))
2/2/07 10:31 AM
PhyllisC said...
I love this pattern - I think it would be killer in leather.
2/2/07 5:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

McCall's M4951

photo
by: lisalu

Review
Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Buy Now
8 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 inch Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now