Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Neue Mode: 23304 (Avantegarde blouse/jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1142 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 26 people   
Reviewed by:ryankckids
photo
About ryankckidsstar
Member since: 1/3/06
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 33
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/27/07 8:25 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kristen said...
Great jackets!! I have the pattern and have not made it yet - but one version I am picturing is ice blue silk dupionnni with a rhinestone zipper! Thanks for motivating me into making this one
1/27/07 8:45 PM
Carolyndh said...
Great lines on this jacket! It fits you really well too.
1/27/07 8:54 PM
OP Gal said...
Great looking jackets. The seam detail on the front is very attractive, and fits you well, too.
1/27/07 9:03 PM
Lori V said...
Fantastic looking jackets.
1/27/07 9:08 PM
Chris Kelly said...
Beautiful Jacket! Love it! Thanks for the review.
1/27/07 9:11 PM
casken said...
Wow! great job on your jackets! I have seen this jacket in Threads and loved it then. Thank you for a great review!
1/27/07 9:14 PM
SansSouci572 said...
I love that jacket too. Each time I try to order it, everyone is sold out!
1/27/07 9:34 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely, lovely, lovely!! The cream and brown are my favourites. I loved this pattern the minute it came out but I never thought to make it as a jacket. Which Threads magazine was their jacket in?
1/27/07 9:39 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous set of jackets ! I can see why you have made this so many times. O like all of them and now adding the pattern to my wish list. Thanks for reviewing these :))
1/27/07 10:06 PM
Sharon M said...
Thanks for the review - this is a wonderful jacket!
1/27/07 10:07 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Love this. I can see why everyone in your family wants one. Great review, too.
1/27/07 10:39 PM
Avril said...
Awesome jacket! Love it.
1/27/07 10:48 PM
Soliel said...
Veeeeery AVANT GARDE! *wink*
1/27/07 11:07 PM
jewelea said...
Terrific jackets...thanks for bringing this pattern to my notice, too.
1/27/07 11:32 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Very beautiful jackets. I loved this in Threads but never ordered it. You did a great job.
1/28/07 0:05 AM
sewbehind said...
I really like the lines on this jacket. I would say that you got your money's worth out of this pattern. They all look different.
1/28/07 0:05 AM
Tany said...
Beautiful!! I really love your jacket! Thank you for reviewing this pattern!
1/28/07 3:37 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Wow! I could see you could want to live in this for the next 10 years :-). I think you're being unfair to the back neck though - from the drawing, it's meant to stand up. Clever of them to build in the ways for it to happen even in relatively mushy fabric. But this design looks like it demands that back perkiness.
1/28/07 4:52 AM
KathleenS said...
I love the seam details on this jacket! Thanks for the review. It's great seeing all the different versions too.
1/28/07 6:38 AM
CarolynGM said...
Great lines and seaming -- I see why you've made this again and again. I actually like the way the back collar stands up.
1/28/07 6:58 AM
carolynw said...
Wow!! What a great pattern for you - a real TNT. I have one like that from Vogue - works for me every time and the funny thing is no one seems to tie all the versions I have made as being from the one pattern!!
1/28/07 9:51 AM
Danvillegirl said...
All of your jackets look great!
1/28/07 10:04 AM
cecelia said...
Your jackets are so beautiful--I can see why you really like this pattern--the lines are so unusual.
1/28/07 1:37 PM
Kay Y said...
Each of your jackets is different and they are all lovely! I have always liked this pattern - thanks for reminding me of it.
1/28/07 2:00 PM
LiZ said...
This is a great pattern. All of your jackets are beautiful. Thanks for a great review.
1/28/07 3:57 PM
ryankckids said...
sew4fun - I just flipped through the Threads I have at home, and can't find it. I also searched their web site, but it didn't come up there, either. I think it was about a year ago.
1/28/07 4:47 PM
lilhoney57 said...
i loved this pattern the first time i saw it and all your versions prove i was right! Awesome!
1/28/07 5:26 PM
pterion said...
Wow, this pattern has been a really workhorse for you! I love all your versions.
1/28/07 5:50 PM
KiwiWendy said...
ohhhh, I've coveted this pattern since it appeared, but haven't been organised enough to buy it online. Great to see it made up as a jacket. Hmmm, maybe I could be doing this
1/28/07 8:55 PM
otis said...
Threads has it in their Pattern Review section of issue #123 March 2006. I thought it may make me look too wide but from your multiple versions I know I'm wrong. Great review. It's nice to see a smiling face wearing something(s) you made!
1/28/07 10:00 PM
AnneM said...
I knew immediately which pattern this was when I saw your picture. Great style. I like the last version w/ the metal zipper.
2/1/07 12:35 PM
SewTwin said...
I ***love this review!! Gives me many great ideas..Hope I can post as many as you when I get this pattern.You serged the seams, and left them open?..Apparently the pattern did not have darts in the back at all? They look "very" Designer Stylish!
2/1/07 11:38 PM
ryankckids said...
SewTwin - I'm not sure what you mean by "serged the seams then left them open". For the 2 versions with "normal" seams, I sewed the seams with a straight stitch, then serged to finish them - like I do with most voven garments. For the 2 versions with exposed seams (the blue-green and the doubleknit, I sewed some seams and the collar wrong sides together, then trimmed the seam allowances to about 1/4-inch. I then actually took a toothbrush to them to make them a little fuzzy. And...there are back darts in the pattern, but they didn't provide nearly enough shaping for my taste and body type. hth (if not, let me know! ;))
2/2/07 10:31 AM
PhyllisC said...
I love this pattern - I think it would be killer in leather.
2/2/07 5:47 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Simplicity 4032
photo
Review by zombieamel... on 10/23/11
Read Review

Salme Flouce Top Digital Pattern
Salme Flouce Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8531
photo
Review by Mamselle M... on 6/15/09
Read Review

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1909 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1909 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5840 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )
Simplicity 5840 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us