Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Marfy: 1022 (60s style coat) - Type:Outerwear    printable version
Viewed 1183 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 28 people   
Reviewed by:Debra H
photo
About Debra Hstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/16/04
Reviews written: 194
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 213 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/28/07 11:31 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JenniferBee said...
Very unusual coat, looks really good. Thanks for the topstitching tip it makes it stand out well.
1/29/07 0:18 AM
gaz-mom said...
that is stunning!
1/29/07 0:42 AM
Tany said...
Stunning indeed! You did a wonderful work!
1/29/07 4:10 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking coat. Another challenge successfully completed.
1/29/07 5:24 AM
hongkongshopper said...
I think the coat is stunning. You have done a great job (as usual)!
1/29/07 5:40 AM
Marji said...
This looks great. I love how you solved the front closure button dilemma. Thanks for all the info.
1/29/07 6:25 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Another beautiful piece by you. Thanks for the comprehensive summary of your process.
1/29/07 6:43 AM
BeckyC said...
Your coat is beautiful! The velvet collar and the buttons are beautiful on the camel colored fabric. Great review and tips!
1/29/07 7:56 AM
Em's Summer said...
That is a wonderful coat!
1/29/07 8:46 AM
Kay Y said...
It seems this pattern was not up to Marfy's usual high standard, but nevertheless you have made another stand-out coat. I think your solution for the "frog" trim on the front is perfect since it echoes the topstitching on the back seams.
1/29/07 8:48 AM
2muchfabric said...
Wow-- Your coat is absolutely gorgeous! Your tab solution to the pouffy hem creates such charming detail. Thanks for another inspiring review.
1/29/07 8:56 AM
carolynw said...
Well done Debra - very professional work as usual. You never fail to inspire me!!
1/29/07 8:57 AM
washer_woman said...
Just beautiful, Debra! I really like the way you made the buttonholes - very clever!
1/29/07 9:37 AM
Lisette said...
Wonderful coat and review.
1/29/07 9:37 AM
slanden99 said...
Very impressive--especially without instructions
1/29/07 10:10 AM
Levone said...
Gorgeous coat. I loved reading your review and the process that you went though to create this.
1/29/07 10:11 AM
Nancy K said...
Another great project. How about a picture on you?
1/29/07 10:18 AM
dreamdesigner said...
Beautiful!
1/29/07 11:16 AM
OP Gal said...
Once again, another beautiful professional-looking garment. I love all the details. Kudos for figuring out all the instructions they don't give. Thanks for another wonderfully detailed review.
1/29/07 11:24 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Lovely coat and great review. It vaguely reminds me of Jackie Kennedy's inauguration coat.
1/29/07 11:26 AM
PhyllisC said...
Boy I love Marfy coats - this is fabulous!
1/29/07 12:19 PM
nicegirl said...
That is definitely a "uniquely attractive coat," as you say! Fantastic job.
1/29/07 1:46 PM
Lori V said...
Stunning coat, love the details.
1/29/07 3:30 PM
jnamcd said...
Beautiful! I love the velvet collar!
1/29/07 4:13 PM
Jan B. said...
Gorgeous coat and terrific problem-solving solutions. A wonderful review--be proud.
1/29/07 5:17 PM
Heatherrique said...
Debra, what a beautiful coat! I always like your interpretation of the pattern - they are always better than what's pictured!
1/29/07 8:10 PM
Ciclista said...
Debra - as always an incredible garment. What did the pattern have instead of the horizontal seam at the button line for the button openings?
1/29/07 10:49 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Debra, this is so beautiful. Have you worn it yet? I would love to see a picture of you wearing it.
1/29/07 11:33 PM
Debra H said...
The pattern was unclear about what it intended for the closures....it showed where buttons would be placed but nothing to indicate buttonholes. Just the word "frog" stamped on the pattern piece.
1/30/07 3:49 PM
cathy45 said...
Exquisite! applause--applause
2/1/07 10:19 PM
Liana said...
How did I miss this review? It looks very nice, and I like your button solution. I've seen frogs like this. They're a long tube of fabric, shaped as shown in the drawing, with a loop at each end. One button is the actual closure, and the other is just for symmetry.
2/5/07 1:31 AM
JaneH said...
I love the detail of the coat. You did a fantastic job!!
2/7/07 12:03 PM
Marie Norway said...
Thank you so much for interesting views on the coat. I have just ordered the pattern myself. Do you think the fullness would work better with another fabric?
8/5/07 7:07 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2012-120 Zip-up top
photo
Review by meggipeg on 4/2/13
Read Review

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern
Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Late lunch tunic Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Late lunch tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Amanda's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Amanda's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2443
photo
Review by ImListenin... on 7/12/10
Read Review

McCalls 5721 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 5721 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1787 Pattern ( Size 8 )
Simplicity 1787 Pattern ( Size 8 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us