Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewing Workshop: Mission Jacket & Tank (Mission Jacket & Tank) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1520 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/29/07 3:15 PM
Last Updated:1/29/07 3:40 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhoda K said...
Very good review, but I'm not able to see your photos.
1/29/07 3:34 PM
Ann Smith said...
Rhoda K, sorry about that. I fixed the photo links.
1/29/07 3:40 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
This is beautiful as are all of your garments.
1/29/07 3:56 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Your version turned out very nicely, despite the issues with the pattern.
1/29/07 4:31 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Another fashionable item to add to your ever expanding wardrobe. Very nice.
1/29/07 5:05 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great save using the tucks.
1/29/07 6:30 PM
Nancywin said...
Very cool! You will get lots of compliments on this one!
1/30/07 1:10 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Like the external tucks as a design as well as a fitting technique.
1/30/07 5:18 AM
AnneM said...
Very interesting review. You got nice results, with your creative solution to the folds. For me, boring raglan sleeves will do but I'll just start w/ a raglan sleeve style! Good to see a batch of reviews from you; they are always fun to see.
1/30/07 7:50 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Ann: your jacket is lovely with the folds. I made this years ago in a very soft fabric: http://www.friendsofpr.com/harrietr/sw_missionjacket.jpg and I didn't feel there was too much excess fabric. I actually love this pattern once I figured out a way to turn the front fold back without the hem showing. Your external tucks are a great touch with your fabric. If you read my review, I had planned to make again, but forgot about it (too many fabrics/patterns, so little time). Your review will serve as a reminder: I even know what fabric I want to use!
1/30/07 2:44 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
You made that pattern sing. Unlike me - under my needle, the design 'croaked'. I made this pattern once - must have been at least 7 years ago - using a very drapey rayon, and did not like the excess fabric/droopy effect (includes jacket AND tank). Your tucking solution ameliorates this problem. You did a wonderfully creative solution!
1/30/07 7:50 PM
cecelia said...
Nice save--it's beautiful and fits you well.
1/31/07 10:17 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Anne it is always a joy to open your reviews.
2/2/07 3:32 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

McCall's 6700
photo
Review by ISewedIt on 4/9/14
Read Review

Oliver S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 4873
photo
Review by chrisquilt... on 1/14/08
Read Review

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Sling Pattern
You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2817 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 2817 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1576 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1576 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us