Online Sewing Class: Sewing Basics
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 10-2006-112B (skirt)

1 more reviews
Viewed 786 times 
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews: 285 (patterns: 241)
Favored by: 128 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/29/07 10:06 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater knit fabrics
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancywin said... (2/5/07 1:39 AM) Reply
I have never made a bias cut on rayon, but I think the Threads article makes good sense. It does tend to "grow", so being cut on the bias may really make it loose its shape.
tailormaid said... (2/4/07 10:07 AM) Reply
Love the skirt! I am planning to make the long version. Would it work in a midweight rayon batik fabric? I read in an old article from Threads about bias to avoid rayons for bias designs, as they stretch a lot (Marcy Tilton). Thanks!
dreamdesigner said... (1/30/07 10:46 AM) Reply
Cute! Linda G, thanks for the info on how to find past issues, I've always wondered that too. Is there any to go back further than 2004? Just looked at your blog. That coat is "to die for"!
yorkshire lass said... (1/30/07 7:23 AM) Reply
What a lovely skirt on you. I overlooked this one in the magazine originally but may have to go back and reconsider. Also, I looked on your blog at the coat you made and it is wonderful.
Sigrid. said... (1/30/07 7:03 AM) Reply
Nice skirt. The past issues you can find with this url: http://www.burdamode.com/Magazine,1270777-1463237,deDE.html
Lhan said... (1/30/07 6:09 AM) Reply
Very nice skirt. You did a nice save on the stripes. I tend to agree that slightly longer would be more usable, perhaps - but you can get away with it with your figure. I look forward to seeing the jacket.
Peggy L said... (1/30/07 5:34 AM) Reply
Very nice skirt!
Linda G said... (1/30/07 1:52 AM) Reply
You have to click on the De under the Burda in the upper left hand corner...the archives are only in German. Then click on magazines and you will be able to figure out archives because it is the same in German as English. Great skirt by the way. I am always looking in the archives of Burda
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Butterick 4659

photo
by: myraminx

Review
You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Pattern Details
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Pattern Details
Butterick 5042

photo
by: myraminx

Review