Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2241 - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 2603 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:mamafitz
photo
About mamafitzstarstarstar
WI USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 61
Favored by: 57 people
patterns reviewed: 54
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/4/02 2:07 PM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
one of my all-time favorite patterns - although I doubt I'll ever get to wear it. I was unable to open the garment picture, however. It sounds like it would look smashing.
1/5/02 8:32 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
linda, the pictures look wonderful, and the dress is a tribute to your expertise as an excellent sewist. Excellent job! Kathryn
1/7/02 9:28 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
linda inspired me to make this dress, too. I made it out of a very drapey crepe-backed satin, red, of course! I also did no basting on the overlapped, edgestitched seams. Instead, I secured each seam first with Steam-a-Seam 2, cutting it the exact length of the seam and easing the bias-cut edges back to their appropriate length as I finger-pressed the Seam-a-Seam tape on prior to pressing it. This method worked great. I love the dress, although I think it is more of a cocktail/dinner evening gown than a dancing type of evening gown, the straps being kind of slippery. Oh, and I followed linda's recommendation and self lined the bodice--a stroke of genius on her part, I think! Kathryn
2/3/02 5:15 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Wow, you certainly do look stunning in red. The dress is just lovely. I've bought several vintage patterns, but haven't tried any yet. It doesn't sound like you faced any special challenges with regard to fit. ( I understand that the retro patterns tend to have very little ease in them.) The seaming sound very interesting; thank you for posting.
4/22/02 12:46 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Debspuncturedthumb said...
Your choice of fabric is simply gorgeous and what a great job you did with this dress! This pattern has intrigued me from the first time it was released and I've thought it would be interesting as an exercise in alot of 'vintage' hand sewing techniques. Because of the geometry of the pieces I can easily see this gown in two muted medium dark colors of the same type of fabric for drape and a novel vintage appearance. I have been holding off on buying this pattern and considering this as a project because of what I can see would be a bigger than usual 'job' of altering it to fit my quirky measurements that span a few sizes and require lengthening as well-those geometric pieces would have to be changed somewhat in the muslin and I think for anyone who does not fit the Vogue sloper as closely this project might require more than one muslin!
5/24/03 3:30 PM
TSingh said...
I love the dress. I find myself wanting to see how the back of it looks on you though. Thanks for the sweet story on your web page.
7/21/03 1:24 PM
Robin Denning said...
Looks good. I think the reason the belt might have looked wrong is because you used a fairly stiff fabric. Maybe with a charmeuse, it would have draped a bit? anyway, look great! congrats
8/4/04 2:46 PM
tout-sweet said...
I made this for my daughter-in-law's wedding dress. I used a gorgeous flowy silk charmeuse in a liquid silver color. The dress was absolutely smashing! My d-i-l has an hour-glass figure with small waist and beautiful large bust. To increase the cup size it was necessary to add a bust dart. I made it parallel to the diagonal front bodice seam, and it looked like it was supposed to be there. D-i-l bought a low-backed bra and I adjusted the back opening of the dress so that the bra was hidden, and also built in bra-strap holders so the shoulder straps wouldn't sneak out. The lapped bias seams went together beautifully. The dress was a joy to make, and surprisingly easy.
10/16/05 4:30 AM
mumu said...
please bring back the picture link. i'm considering this for a wedding dress.
3/24/06 1:46 PM
Mog said...
really helpful! I am in love with vintage vogue but havn't tried to make anything yet, it was really encouraging to hear that it looks good! I think I might just go out and start making it!
1/13/07 10:53 PM
damsel said...
As I am an odd shape (lower half bigger than the top half) I have found that my mock up of the dress is waaay to big on top and a touch too tight on the bottom. Has anyone successfully altered this dress on the top half? I can work the bottom half, but the top seems to be a bit more difficult. Overall though, the mock up was a lot easier than it looked to make. Just a shame it doesn't fit properly.
11/4/07 1:27 AM
MirrorQueen said...
I am in the process of making this dress and am spending the time making a muslin. Wish I could open the pictures that mamafix posted?? The only alteration I have had to make on my muslin is to add 1inch in total at the hipline, so 1/4" on each of the back piece and it has worked like a dream.
7/3/13 3:14 PM
MirrorQueen said...
Hi there Ladies, I am still in the process of making this dress; all going well so far. Could you tell me, what seam finishes did you use for the skirt seams...........french seams or other method. I am worried about this part as I am concerned to get the seams looking really good. I am using silk charmeuse!!
7/27/13 7:56 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Jalie 2908
photo
Review by Mazzygirl on 8/25/10
Read Review

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Veronica Pocketbook
Veronica Pocketbook

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Sundress Digital Pattern
Salme Sundress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2009-101
photo
Review by Kim12469 on 11/27/09
Read Review

New Look 6188 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6188 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6531 Pattern
New Look 6531 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us