SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4386 (Misses Dress)

12 more reviews
Viewed 9352 times 
Reviewed by:Marji
photo

 
 
About Marjistarstarstarstar
MO USA
Member since: 9/19/06
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 96 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/31/07 1:44 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 64 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Pinkytoo said...
Beautiful fit! Jackie O would be proud.
1/31/07 2:01 PM
jjwalker said...
I absolutely ADORE the fabrics you used! And the lining looks gorgeous, too. I'm a little JKO obsessed, so of course I love this dress...all you need now is a little pillbox hat and some white kid gloves!
1/31/07 2:10 PM
cindy-lou said...
Marji-- thanks for the very educational review! I've made lined kids' jumpers this way and the zipper is still a little baffling, but you've given me hope. I will bookmark your page and try this later in the spring!
1/31/07 2:18 PM
Levone said...
Lovely dresses.....I loved all of your versions.
1/31/07 2:27 PM
Tany said...
Perfect, your fit is impecable!
1/31/07 3:27 PM
Peggy L said...
They are all beautiful! Very helpful review.
1/31/07 3:46 PM
cecelia said...
Beautiful dresses, and thanks for the tips and all the photos.
1/31/07 3:53 PM
Riordan said...
The fit is wonderful, and the dresses are beautiful. Thanks for the helpful information!
1/31/07 5:24 PM
Linda G said...
the review was great and educational....the dress is something I wish I had and I just bought a threads pattern similar..now I must sew...instead of looking at the internet to see what everybody else has sewn...so much fun but can really take me away from sewing oh well I really am not running naked!
1/31/07 5:37 PM
blue mooney said...
This is a great dress on you, and thanks for a super informative review!
1/31/07 5:56 PM
Sherril Miller said...
What a perfect dress. The fit, the details, the fabric, the color. I'm simply green with envy.
1/31/07 7:48 PM
CarolynGM said...
Your review is a mini-class on how to make a lined sheath! I've bookmarked it for future reference. I love all of your dresses, but especially the liberty silk.
1/31/07 8:16 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Marji, this is fantastic!! I have been doing facings the old fashioned way - I am tempted to leave work this instance and go home and make one up your way. thanks so much. Oh, and your dresses are all lovely :)))
1/31/07 9:10 PM
lmg said...
Thanks for a very informative review. I took have bookmarked this. Beautiful dresses!
1/31/07 9:54 PM
Linda E. said...
love the dresses and you review is excellent
1/31/07 10:18 PM
suzanrossi said...
I really enjoyed reading your review - the results are beautiful.
1/31/07 10:19 PM
Erica B. said...
Great looking dress Marji!
1/31/07 10:50 PM
Larkin said...
Marji, thank-you for such a great review. I've got several sheath dresses that I've bought fabric for, but have never tackled. You've inspired me! All 4 are fabulous! I'll come back to this review and the suggestions you make about facings/linings when I finally get there! Congrats!
2/1/07 0:42 AM
ryan's mom said...
Looks terrific and what a beautiful fit!!!
2/1/07 6:53 AM
AnneM said...
Great classic style. I like how the pattern gives various sleeve options. I might have to get this. (Love your white print version.)
2/1/07 7:55 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Your dress is beautiful! Thanks for all of the very helpful info! I have learned a lot from your review.
2/1/07 8:12 AM
Nancy K said...
What a wonderful review. That technique is also in Claire Schaeffer's Sewing Secrets book and it really makes a proffessional looking finish as it does on your dresses. Having a good library of sewing books makes sewing so much easier and gets better results. I have always thought that sewing those easy patterns using the patterns instructions ensures a loving hands at home look!
2/1/07 8:23 AM
Kitty Couture said...
What a fabulous dress, it fits you perfectly.
2/1/07 8:44 AM
jewelsfashions said...
Thanks for the review! I have started my muslin on a sheath dress from Mc Calls. I will be looking back at this review for hints as I keep proceeding with mine. Thanks.
2/1/07 9:41 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Beautiful dresses (my fav is the white with the front floral spray), and wonderfully helpful tips for the lining, etc. Very well done!
2/1/07 10:18 AM
Liana said...
Darling dresses, and a great review! Love the floral print, especially.
2/1/07 11:06 PM
BillieJean said...
Beautiful dresses, and so classic.
8/26/07 6:04 AM
Lynngray said...
Very nice. I use to wear this style alot also. Looks great on you. I agree Jackie O would be proud Thanks for the great review
9/22/07 8:04 PM
Sewphie said...
Dresses are wonderful, and your techniques make a lot of sense. Since you're using the china silk lining as a facing, do you find that it supports the neck and the armsceyes enough without using an additional facing, or do you sandwich a facing in between the lining and the fashion fabric?
10/4/07 8:04 PM
cabinbaby said...
Thanks so much for this review!! I am about to make Butterick 5147 which is similar (I hope!) to your dress. Thanks so much for the great pictures inside. I was trying to figure out how to make without all the handsewing.
1/6/08 10:11 PM
Christine B said...
Thanks for the detailed review - I'm about to embark on a sheath dress, converting it from unlined to lined, and your construction methods are exactly what I'm looking for - I'm printing them out and putting them with my pattern for future reference!
8/23/10 3:23 PM
deeamb007 said...
Excellent
4/4/13 1:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Pants Sewing DVD

Pants Sewing DVD

Buy Now
Chelsea

Chelsea

Buy Now
Simplicity 2364

photo
by: thecurious...

Review