Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 15100-1001 (Land's End Knit Shirt) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 623 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:PixieCat
photo
Friend of PR
About PixieCatstar
OH USA
Member since: 5/5/04
Reviews written: 66
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/1/07 10:52 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kkkkaty said...
Great idea! I have a similar boat neck that I love, so perhaps I'll try this. two questions... on the sleeve, I think what you are saying is that you first cut one half of the sleeve pattern by tracing the profile of the lengthwise folded sleeve, and then traced the other half by folding it over (or flopping it over); is that correct? On the neck edge, how did you determine the length of the binding you cut (identical to the neck edge on the original?), and is it cut on a straight grain? I am a total novice at sewing with knits, so perhaps that's obvious to someone with more skill than I have... thanks!
2/1/07 11:17 AM
Peggy L said...
Looks great - sounds like you have a good TNT pattern now.
2/1/07 11:33 AM
PixieCat said...
kkkaty - you've got it exactly on how I traced the sleeve. For the binding, I measured the entire neck edge at the seam line by holding my tape measure on edge so it could curve. Then I deducted 2" from that amount, then added back 1/2" for the 1/4" seam allowances. I did cut it from the width of the fabric so it had stretch. HTH!
2/1/07 11:38 AM
greenmommie said...
Love the shirt. I'm a big fan of land's end shirts. I can't seem to wear them out. Your fit looks great. Congrats!
2/1/07 12:47 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Your top looks great. Did you compare your pattern with the Kwik Sew one you just made to see what the differences are?
2/1/07 2:12 PM
carolynw said...
This is really nice - I love Land's Ends tops and about everythign else and never thought of copying - except that they made a pair of "custom fit" khakis for me and I am certainly going to trace that off - fits like a glove!!
2/1/07 3:35 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Oh Pixiecat - what a great top. You can now make one in every color. Cool
2/1/07 5:57 PM
Rhoda K said...
Great job and good looking. I, too, am a lover of Lands End shirts.
2/1/07 8:14 PM
OP Gal said...
Thanks for the detailed instructions on how you duplicated the shirt. It looks great! I have a favorite Liz Claiborne T I've been meaning to copy. You've given me courage.
2/1/07 8:16 PM
ryan's mom said...
Very nice! The fit looks great too.
2/3/07 7:19 AM
fuzzygalore said...
What a good idea.. I like their boat neck too, doesn't slide around and show straps like most Burdas. I could just copy that onto my 't-shirt-from sloper' body and get the benefit of the neck without the hassles of reproducing the less-good body and indifferent sleeve.. Plus I wouldn't have to contemplate the sorry excuses for color that Lands End offer, especially in my size :-).
2/4/07 6:36 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

No Pattern Used 0000 Lunchbag
photo
Review by Kim Winson on 12/21/06
Read Review

PerfectFuse Medium White
PerfectFuse Medium White

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Devon Tunic Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Devon Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2569
photo
Review by sandra17 on 1/24/14
Read Review

Jalie 2683 Pattern
Jalie 2683 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1773 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1773 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us