SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 15100-1001 (Land's End Knit Shirt)

Viewed 623 times 
Reviewed by:PixieCat
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About PixieCatstar
OH USA
Member since: 5/5/04
Reviews written: 66
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/1/07 10:52 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kkkkaty said...
Great idea! I have a similar boat neck that I love, so perhaps I'll try this. two questions... on the sleeve, I think what you are saying is that you first cut one half of the sleeve pattern by tracing the profile of the lengthwise folded sleeve, and then traced the other half by folding it over (or flopping it over); is that correct? On the neck edge, how did you determine the length of the binding you cut (identical to the neck edge on the original?), and is it cut on a straight grain? I am a total novice at sewing with knits, so perhaps that's obvious to someone with more skill than I have... thanks!
2/1/07 11:17 AM
Peggy L said...
Looks great - sounds like you have a good TNT pattern now.
2/1/07 11:33 AM
PixieCat said...
kkkaty - you've got it exactly on how I traced the sleeve. For the binding, I measured the entire neck edge at the seam line by holding my tape measure on edge so it could curve. Then I deducted 2" from that amount, then added back 1/2" for the 1/4" seam allowances. I did cut it from the width of the fabric so it had stretch. HTH!
2/1/07 11:38 AM
greenmommie said...
Love the shirt. I'm a big fan of land's end shirts. I can't seem to wear them out. Your fit looks great. Congrats!
2/1/07 12:47 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Your top looks great. Did you compare your pattern with the Kwik Sew one you just made to see what the differences are?
2/1/07 2:12 PM
carolynw said...
This is really nice - I love Land's Ends tops and about everythign else and never thought of copying - except that they made a pair of "custom fit" khakis for me and I am certainly going to trace that off - fits like a glove!!
2/1/07 3:35 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Oh Pixiecat - what a great top. You can now make one in every color. Cool
2/1/07 5:57 PM
Rhoda K said...
Great job and good looking. I, too, am a lover of Lands End shirts.
2/1/07 8:14 PM
OP Gal said...
Thanks for the detailed instructions on how you duplicated the shirt. It looks great! I have a favorite Liz Claiborne T I've been meaning to copy. You've given me courage.
2/1/07 8:16 PM
ryan's mom said...
Very nice! The fit looks great too.
2/3/07 7:19 AM
fuzzygalore said...
What a good idea.. I like their boat neck too, doesn't slide around and show straps like most Burdas. I could just copy that onto my 't-shirt-from sloper' body and get the benefit of the neck without the hassles of reproducing the less-good body and indifferent sleeve.. Plus I wouldn't have to contemplate the sorry excuses for color that Lands End offer, especially in my size :-).
2/4/07 6:36 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Vogue Patterns 1128

photo
by: annie11

Review
Vogue Patterns 1275

photo
by: JEH

Review
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Buy Now
Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Buy Now