SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 15100-1001 (Land's End Knit Shirt)

Viewed 623 times 
Reviewed by:PixieCat
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About PixieCatstar
OH USA
Member since: 5/5/04
Reviews written: 66
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/1/07 10:52 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fuzzygalore said...
What a good idea.. I like their boat neck too, doesn't slide around and show straps like most Burdas. I could just copy that onto my 't-shirt-from sloper' body and get the benefit of the neck without the hassles of reproducing the less-good body and indifferent sleeve.. Plus I wouldn't have to contemplate the sorry excuses for color that Lands End offer, especially in my size :-).
2/4/07 6:36 AM
ryan's mom said...
Very nice! The fit looks great too.
2/3/07 7:19 AM
OP Gal said...
Thanks for the detailed instructions on how you duplicated the shirt. It looks great! I have a favorite Liz Claiborne T I've been meaning to copy. You've given me courage.
2/1/07 8:16 PM
Rhoda K said...
Great job and good looking. I, too, am a lover of Lands End shirts.
2/1/07 8:14 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Oh Pixiecat - what a great top. You can now make one in every color. Cool
2/1/07 5:57 PM
carolynw said...
This is really nice - I love Land's Ends tops and about everythign else and never thought of copying - except that they made a pair of "custom fit" khakis for me and I am certainly going to trace that off - fits like a glove!!
2/1/07 3:35 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Your top looks great. Did you compare your pattern with the Kwik Sew one you just made to see what the differences are?
2/1/07 2:12 PM
greenmommie said...
Love the shirt. I'm a big fan of land's end shirts. I can't seem to wear them out. Your fit looks great. Congrats!
2/1/07 12:47 PM
PixieCat said...
kkkaty - you've got it exactly on how I traced the sleeve. For the binding, I measured the entire neck edge at the seam line by holding my tape measure on edge so it could curve. Then I deducted 2" from that amount, then added back 1/2" for the 1/4" seam allowances. I did cut it from the width of the fabric so it had stretch. HTH!
2/1/07 11:38 AM
Peggy L said...
Looks great - sounds like you have a good TNT pattern now.
2/1/07 11:33 AM
kkkkaty said...
Great idea! I have a similar boat neck that I love, so perhaps I'll try this. two questions... on the sleeve, I think what you are saying is that you first cut one half of the sleeve pattern by tracing the profile of the lengthwise folded sleeve, and then traced the other half by folding it over (or flopping it over); is that correct? On the neck edge, how did you determine the length of the binding you cut (identical to the neck edge on the original?), and is it cut on a straight grain? I am a total novice at sewing with knits, so perhaps that's obvious to someone with more skill than I have... thanks!
2/1/07 11:17 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Vogue Patterns 8886

photo
by: ArtAttack

Review
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Eureka Top & Skirt

Sewing Workshop Eureka Top & Skirt

Buy Now
Serendipity Studio #131

photo
by: teri b

Review