SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7481 (Accidentally skinny jeans)

19 more reviews
Viewed 2577 times 
Reviewed by:meli88a
photo

 
 
About meli88astarstar
MA USA
Member since: 5/20/03
Reviews written: 73
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 42 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/2/07 7:32 PM
Last Updated:2/2/07 7:35 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
poplin said...
FWIW, after seeing the Anlo Shon trousers, I thought you did a great job on duplicating the look. Did you wash/dry your jeans after you've sewn them? Anyway, you wear it well--hopefully, you can still breathe and sit in them! Thanks for the fabric info, too. I've been looking for dark wash denim.
2/2/07 8:09 PM
Tany said...
Great job!
2/2/07 8:50 PM
echolalia said...
No, not something that you 'did'! I have also made this view and found them to be skin-tight in the thighs and at the knee, despite being between sizes and using cutting the larger size. You've done a great job.
2/2/07 9:14 PM
purpleseamstress said...
These jeans look great on you! Intended or not, these are definitely something you need to be wearing.
2/2/07 9:38 PM
Sharon M said...
You may not have intended to sew skin tight jeans but they look great.
2/2/07 9:38 PM
sewsewboy said...
The pants look great very lean. You are very current with the trends. Wear them with a higher heel sandal or boot and you will rock these pants. I made my sister the capri version and she also complained of the very lean fit. This style just runs this way. Wear them in good health and remember to give a lot of attitude when walking down the street.
2/2/07 10:17 PM
slanden99 said...
You did a great job copying the details of the trousers. I hope you enjoy wearing your jeans even though they didn't turn out the way you expected. Maybe let them sit in your closet for a couple days so you can look at them with fresh eyes.
2/3/07 0:56 AM
miri said...
While the tight fit may be the fault of the pattern, the side pockets may be part of the problem�it's just natural that they spring open a bit on a tight garment. One way to work around that is to extend the pocket bag across the front and join it to the zipper or CF seam�you can use a lightweight fabric for the extension. Also the denim itself is bulky, and the seam allowances of the tabs and yoke may be just enough to snug the fit of these. It looks like you did a great job adapting and sewing�next time cut them with extra side and CB seam allowance, fit them a little loose without the waistband and then fit the band onto them�remember pants that are too tight in the waist or high hips tend to ride up�sometimes they feel too tight in the crotch and thigh because they're not sitting in the right place on your body.
2/3/07 10:09 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Wow, those look great on you. Very trendy!
2/3/07 10:20 AM
suzanrossi said...
Well, your'e a gal who can wear "skin tight" very nicely. I'm thinking that the denim fabric just does a different thing than the corduroy. Love the tabs and your creative "borrowing".
2/3/07 10:56 AM
Em's Summer said...
Those jeans look great!
2/3/07 10:56 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
You review cracked me up, Melissa--at least the result puts you square in the middle of the current fashion trend. Great job and knocking off the Anlo Shon details!
2/3/07 8:53 PM
cindy-lou said...
Melissa, I actually think these look a LOT like the Anlo Shon trousers! Anlo's are pretty skinny too. Yes, this is the look but I can only wear it in denim with at least 2% spandex as you have done. I think you'll find they loosen up as you wear them and you'll end up happy with them. If I were built like you, I'd wear 'em in a heartbeat! :) they truly look great!
2/4/07 8:30 AM
AnneM said...
Well, skinny pants are back in fashion!
2/5/07 3:51 PM
krawz said...
They really do look fantastic. I've found that when I sew with stretch - like 3% lycra spandex - the fabric will stretch out after wearing. So if I didn't sew it small to begin with, I'll wind up with baggy pants. So these may get bigger after you wear them a few times. You did a beautiful jub with copying the details. If I was your size, I would definitely wear these skinny jeans!
5/24/07 6:22 PM
Gooseybug said...
Those are adorable on you!
5/13/10 10:29 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

New Look 6097

photo
by: SewWil

Review
Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 1717

photo
by: Kathhhhhy

Review