SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 7068 (formal gown)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1536 times 
Reviewed by:Huldra
photo

 
 
About Huldrastar
SWEDEN
Member since: 1/28/07
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/3/07 5:33 AM
Last Updated:2/3/07 5:38 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 18 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
alviana said...
how beautiful! u look lovely.
12/29/08 5:58 AM
Kitty Couture said...
What a fabulous dress!!
3/18/07 2:28 PM
cathy45 said...
Very striking color on your--dress is lovely, the beadwork a really great touch. I, too, thought the gathers on the side a design element--is now.
2/7/07 0:17 AM
AnneM said...
Lovely. And really nice touch with the beading. As w/ SewVeryTall, I though the bodice "wrinkles" were actually "gathering" that was part of the design.
2/4/07 1:42 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Absolutely stunning dress. Everything about it looks perfect: you look beautiful in the color and style. The beadwork is so-o-o couture. Thanks for sharing: look forward to seeing many more reviews by you.
2/4/07 10:32 AM
Marie-Claude said...
Your dress looks stunning, the color is wonderful on you. I used the pattern as a base for my friend's wedding dress and I confirm that the ease is a bit much. I had to make adjustments following the muslin and even then, with the weight of the dress (see my review for a picture of the dress) it kept sliding down... :-( Nevertheless, you did a great job, congratulations!!!
2/4/07 8:57 AM
KathleenS said...
It's a beautiful dress which really suits you. The embroidery is lovely.
2/3/07 7:58 PM
Chris Kelly said...
Beautiful!!!!!
2/3/07 7:32 PM
LiZ said...
A beautiful wedding dress.
2/3/07 7:10 PM
ryan's mom said...
Elegant and gorgeous!!! What more can I say? :) !
2/3/07 6:30 PM
hongkongshopper said...
The dress is absolutely beautiful. You look gorgeous!
2/3/07 5:19 PM
Sew4Fun said...
You look gorgeous! A beautiful, stunning gown. I love the colour (it's very flattering on you) and your fabric looks every bit as expensive at it was. :)
2/3/07 4:56 PM
Sweetsong said...
Lovely dress! The color is perfect for you, too.
2/3/07 4:19 PM
Erica B. said...
very beautiful!
2/3/07 4:12 PM
Runrover said...
The dress is gorgeous on you; the color, beading and fit are amazing. Looking forward to more reviews from you.
2/3/07 1:40 PM
cecelia said...
Stunning dress on a beautiful bride. You must have some patience to sew on all those pretty pearls. Best of luck to you!
2/3/07 1:13 PM
Modiste Madness said...
You look wonddrful. Beautiful color and beadwork.
2/3/07 11:56 AM
Tany said...
Magnificent dress! I love the color, you look stunning!
2/3/07 11:32 AM
krystalkaes said...
You look beautiful. I love the beaded embroidery work also. Wow.
2/3/07 11:04 AM
Janime said...
Absolutely gorgeous! Both you and the dress. Congrats, and thank you for the wonderful review.
2/3/07 11:01 AM
BeckyC said...
Absolutely beautiful dress and bride! Congratulations on your marriage and your dress!
2/3/07 10:46 AM
Sherril Miller said...
The color is stunning and you look so beautiful. If you can't tell if the wrinkles are a design element or not, then they definitely are!
2/3/07 10:34 AM
CarolynGM said...
The dress is absolutely stunning on you. I don't think you could have found a color that suits your own coloring better than this one. Congratulations on your wedding, your lovely dress, and your first review on PR!
2/3/07 10:30 AM
suzanrossi said...
A lovely dress to suit a lovely bride! The pearl embroidery is exquisite.
2/3/07 10:29 AM
Stacy Sews said...
An absolutely beautiful dress. I thought the wrinkles were a design element too, I wouldn't have known any different!
2/3/07 10:16 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
How fabulous - the design, the pearl embellishments, etc. You did a wonderful job on this - I congratulate you.
2/3/07 10:08 AM
carolynw said...
How beautiful is this? What a truly wonderful job you did and like Sew Very Tall I thought the wrinkles were part of the design - it certainly does not detract but adds a certain softness. Many years of happiness!!
2/3/07 9:15 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
What a lovely dress on a beautiful bride!
2/3/07 8:47 AM
cindy-lou said...
You are so beautiful and radiant, and so is your dress! What a beautiful wedding. Please save this dress for your children to wear. Great review!
2/3/07 8:10 AM
blue mooney said...
Lovely dress, and I agree that fabric is really beautiful. Thanks for reviewing - I hope we hear more from you!
2/3/07 8:02 AM
Peggy L said...
Gorgeous! It is beautiful and you look lovely on your wedding day.
2/3/07 7:38 AM
DaniL said...
You did a beautiful job. I have made this dress for my niece's debutante dress and I agree totally with the fact that it seems too big, I did a lot of taking in and also found that I should have taken it in more directly under the bust, unfortunately I only had one fitting after I sewed it. She was happy but i am pickier.
2/3/07 7:32 AM
ladylola said...
Just beautiful. I love the beading, it makes it unique.
2/3/07 7:28 AM
michellefs622 said...
Your dress is beautiful. I love the color and fabric. Good job!
2/3/07 6:56 AM
Linda G said...
Beautiful dress. I love the beadwork...was that a pattern or did you do the design yourself.
2/3/07 6:44 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Beautiful beautiful! I thought the wrinkles in the bodice were a design element. Love the fabric and color too! Congratulations on your first well-written review, Huldra :)
2/3/07 5:54 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

McCall's 6442

photo
by: RebeccaMar...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2013-124

photo
by: dillyo

Review
Newport Tote

Newport Tote

Buy Now
Christine Jonson BaseWear Two - Straight Skirt, Taper Skirt, & Top with Options

Christine Jonson BaseWear Two - Straight Skirt, Taper Skirt, & Top with Options

Buy Now