SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 12-2005-105 (sleek satin gown)

100 more reviews
Viewed 1404 times 
Reviewed by:Tany
photo

 
 
About Tanystarstarstar
PORTUGAL
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 29
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 67 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/3/07 10:29 AM
Last Updated:2/3/07 10:35 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Janime said...
Gorgeous!
2/3/07 10:53 AM
SexiSadi said...
Very pretty dress!
2/3/07 10:54 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Stunning!
2/3/07 11:03 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
So glam!!
2/3/07 11:29 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Truly looks like something that would be coming down a runway for a show. Gorgeous.
2/3/07 11:38 AM
carolynw said...
Absolutely beautiful!!
2/3/07 12:57 PM
Levone said...
Beautiful gown!
2/3/07 1:07 PM
Karen said...
Fabulous dress! I hope you find more opportunities to wear it.
2/3/07 1:14 PM
cecelia said...
Striking gown in a very nice pattern!
2/3/07 1:17 PM
daff said...
WOW!! That is drop dead gorgeous!! Thank you for mentioning that it's "easy to sew," because it looks like it took you a month with lots of muslins. :) I will definitely keep this one in mind when I need a knock-out dress.
2/3/07 2:20 PM
Sharon M said...
Wow! Beautiful gown! It must have been a joy to wear it.
2/3/07 3:06 PM
Gold said...
All I have to say is gorgeous!
2/3/07 3:10 PM
Erica B. said...
Just beautiful... red carpet ready!
2/3/07 4:12 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful gown! I like how you used the right and wrong sides of the satin and I love the trim! I'm intrigued (curiosity killed the cat :) ) , did you reverse the pattern pieces so the diagonal is the opposite way to the Burda photo, or is this a case where Burda reversed the photo and line drawing? Of course it doesn't matter one bit :) as the gown is beautiful.
2/3/07 4:48 PM
hongkongshopper said...
How very s@xy and glamerous! The colour and trim make it look very classy.
2/3/07 5:25 PM
mekira said...
WOW very nice
2/3/07 7:07 PM
Chris Kelly said...
Beautiful!!!!
2/3/07 7:30 PM
KathleenS said...
It's great to see a review of one of the Burda magazine formalwear patterns. (by the way, you've accidentally put the wrong year in your review heading - if you fix it, it will be easier for people to find this review if they're looking for it.). All the detail pictures in your blog are very helpful. I like how you did the straps.
2/3/07 7:43 PM
Linda E. said...
very beautiful dress
2/3/07 8:25 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous Tany !!!
2/3/07 10:03 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Wow - knockout is right. Can't wait to see the jacket!
2/3/07 10:56 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
It's gorgeous, Tany. Where didyou find the fabric? My sister lives in Portugal and says she would sew more if she could find decent fabric.
2/3/07 11:23 PM
Leora said...
Beautiful!
2/4/07 0:54 AM
Liana said...
Beautiful work, as always! This is just stunning.
2/4/07 2:32 AM
Tany said...
Thank you all for the nice comments! Sew4fun: You are right I did reverse the pattern pieces and totally forgot to point that out! You see, human eyes travel from left to right, up to down; if the design features the same natural direction, it will be more flattering to the figure!! I must update the review with that info, I think it's worth being pointed out! KathleenS: Thank you for pointing that out to me!! I corrected it already! A big hug to all the sewers out there!
2/4/07 3:54 AM
Tany said...
Seamingly Simply: There aren't many choices when it comes to fabric buying here in Aveiro; there are two main fabric stores, "Feira dos Tecidos" and "Manequim". The first one doesn't get as much good quality fabrics as the second, but sometimes I can get really good quality bargains if I look carefully. The second has good quality fabrics but is too expensive and has only a limited amount of fabric choices. I bought the golden satin at "Feira dos Tecidos".
2/4/07 4:27 AM
Zaneta said...
ooooh la la..this is just divine..
2/4/07 5:15 AM
SBanks said...
Very elegant. The use of the wrong side really adds interest.
2/4/07 7:10 AM
Nancy K said...
Fantastic job and it is perfect for your figure!
2/4/07 7:13 AM
AnneM said...
Very stunning dress. I hope you weren't more stunning than the bride! :) That is a good point on the direction of the diagonal.
2/4/07 1:46 PM
LiZ said...
Wow, A fabulous dress.
2/4/07 2:09 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Thanks Tany. It never would have occured to me that the eye travels from left to right, but it makes so much sense now that you mention it. Very ingenious then to reverse the direction. Thanks! I learnt something new and got to admire your beautiful gown. :) I love reading your blog daily.
2/4/07 5:07 PM
Marji said...
Don't know how I missed this when you first reviewed it. Gorgeous Dress! Love the way you think things through -such as reversing the design lines for a more pleasing design. Excellent work.
3/14/07 5:16 AM
PhyllisC said...
Beautiful, Beautiful, Beautiful!
3/14/07 10:11 PM
Tany said...
Thank you Phyllis and Marji!
3/15/07 5:24 AM
majnets3s said...
great!
5/3/07 6:58 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Simplicity 5502

photo
by: cleverkitt...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2012-128

photo
by: twinkle72

Review
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Petite Plus D202 DVD

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

Buy Now