Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 5914 (Misses Skirts) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 1264 times 54 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:AnneM
photo
Friend of PR
About AnneMstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 7/30/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 47 people
patterns reviewed: 54
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/5/07 8:06 PM


See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
Love it. I want one too! Clever to make the back in a larger size.
2/5/07 8:12 PM
Linda G said...
Beautiful skirt. I like the idea of the elastic waist
2/5/07 8:13 PM
MelC said...
Anne, I really like the fullness of your skirt. I love long skirts and boots. You did a nice job converting this pattern for a knit.
2/5/07 9:16 PM
Hilary said...
Very nice!! Your skirt is flattering and looks really comfy as well. Great tips, Thanks!
2/5/07 9:46 PM
Sherril Miller said...
You're looking mighty sassy there girlfriend. That skirt looks great with the purple sweater. Great idea to size down and use a knit. The boot look good with it too.
2/5/07 10:03 PM
BJ1400 said...
Great looking, basic skirt. I also make my skirt backs a size bigger too.
2/5/07 10:23 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Very nicely done! Great tips, too.
2/5/07 10:31 PM
JenSews2 said...
Great job! Thanks for the tips!
2/5/07 11:31 PM
PVA said...
Ann, thanks for this review. It's a wonderful skirt & looks like a great fit! I too will remember about making the back larger than the front, for obvious reasons! (Well, Duh!)
2/6/07 0:19 AM
rivergum said...
That looks really lovely! I think you have inspired me to make one too.
2/6/07 0:31 AM
PixieCat said...
Wonderful skirt! It looks great on you.
2/6/07 5:19 AM
AnneM said...
Thanks everyone. Wore my skirt to work. It was comfy, although I did crackle w/ static electricity some (dry winter air - I wasn't the only one). I don't like elastic waist wovens on me, but am fine w/ knits.
2/6/07 5:36 AM
Debbie Cook said...
I love the whole look! I miss winter clothes sometimes. Great review, lots of good info.
2/6/07 6:57 AM
nancia said...
a great winter skirt, that you'll get years of wear from. i'm gonna make this in black too for the upcoming australian winter. thanks for the great review.
2/6/07 7:17 AM
BeckyC said...
Lovely skirt, Anne! What a great addition to your wardrobe staples. I can see why you'd like to make another for other seasons.
2/6/07 7:53 AM
xela said...
I love your attitude in the first picture. You're great! Thanks for the great review. Have fun with the skirt
2/6/07 8:26 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Very cute skirt!
2/6/07 8:35 AM
cindy-lou said...
Thanks for the great, comprehensive review! The extra length really suits you--this si a great boot skirt. I think you would look great in the flared, tulip-version for the summer too.
2/6/07 8:53 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Great skirt Anne. It's very flattering and is probably cozy warm.
2/6/07 10:10 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Anne: this skirt looks terrific on you. Thanks so much for the review: clever use of a woven pattern converted to knit design. I'm tempted to "whip this up", based on your review.
2/6/07 10:33 AM
Peggy L said...
Anne - this looks great on you!
2/6/07 12:44 PM
ryan's mom said...
I love your skirt! And here's to hoping it doesn't show up as a felted bag--it's too nice for that :) !
2/6/07 2:12 PM
movac said...
Great job Anne. I really like that black skirt. At least your pics turn out the right color :-)
2/6/07 4:06 PM
Mufffet said...
This is one groovy skirt! Lovely drape and fit on you and looks like nice fabric.
2/6/07 9:39 PM
Ody said...
I love this skirt and think it looks great on you. Well, maybe the side view is more exciting than the "boring" front view! Who are you kidding--the whole thing looks fabulous!
2/7/07 1:43 AM
cecelia said...
Ann, you look happy in your new skirt--cute photo, and this pattern looks like a winner. I love the long version (and the purple with it!).
2/7/07 8:51 AM
cmarie12 said...
Ann ~ this is one of my favorite skirt patterns! Love your skirt and that you had such a great result with it. Definitely make more!
2/7/07 10:08 AM
Donna H said...
Anne, beautiful skirt. Love it !!!
2/7/07 7:04 PM
LiZ said...
Great skirt, you look all nice and cosy for winter.
2/8/07 2:20 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Vogue Patterns 8954 Misses' Vest
photo
Review by sfshaza on 11/22/13
Read Review

Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants
Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Margo Handbag
Margo Handbag

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Strappy Sandals Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Strappy Sandals Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)
Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5249
photo
Review by kim*brown on 12/1/08
Read Review

Simplicity 1874 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1874 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8987 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )
Vogue 8987 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us