SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> Ironing Board Covers 

Viewed 652 times 
Reviewed by:Dale C
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Dale Cstarstarstar
HI USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 165
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 138
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/4/07 4:54 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RuthieSews said...
What a great idea! I too have 3 boards like you all with covers in wildly different patterns and colours. It never occured to me that I could make my own matching covers for them all. So thank you for sharing this one.
2/4/07 7:44 AM
CSM--Carla said...
LOVE your idea of matching prints! Thanks for sharing. Carla
2/4/07 8:52 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Beautiful, Dale! The koi fabric looks so refreshing. I did this too, several years ago and the board still has the same cover. I got fed up with paying $14US for a cover I could make. I zigzagged with a wide stitch, over durable string and pulled the string tight to shape the cover over the board. (I was too lazy to make a casing). I also used Insulbrite to help with the heat protection. I know batting works well as I've recently redone my sewing room and now have a pressing surface (an old table top) with batting.
2/4/07 8:59 AM
khurtdvm said...
Those are really nice - hmmm...good idea.
2/4/07 10:40 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great job. Love the idea of using bias binding as a casing for the elastic.
2/4/07 10:54 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Much prettier than store bought and I'm sure they are better built. What a perfect addition to a sewing room.
2/4/07 11:51 AM
mudcat said...
What a good idea. I also have three boards (different sizes). I like the idea of matching.
2/4/07 1:07 PM
sewbehind said...
Such co-ordination. I am impressed.
2/4/07 1:51 PM
cindyann said...
Looks great Dale. Makes me embarassed about my tattered ironing board cover.......must do something about that.
2/4/07 1:52 PM
Carolyndh said...
I will definitely follow your example here--I love this.
2/4/07 6:36 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice. My ironing board could probably use a new cover, but it isn't likely to get one any time soon!
2/5/07 8:56 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

McCall's 6338

photo
by: Passion4Se...

Review

Pattern

Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Buy Now
Fit For Real People DVD

Fit For Real People DVD

Buy Now
McCall's 6331

photo
by: Alice Wang

Review