SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> Ironing Board Covers 

Viewed 652 times 
Reviewed by:Dale C
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Dale Cstarstarstar
HI USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 165
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 51 people
patterns reviewed: 138
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/4/07 4:54 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
Very nice. My ironing board could probably use a new cover, but it isn't likely to get one any time soon!
2/5/07 8:56 PM
Carolyndh said...
I will definitely follow your example here--I love this.
2/4/07 6:36 PM
cindyann said...
Looks great Dale. Makes me embarassed about my tattered ironing board cover.......must do something about that.
2/4/07 1:52 PM
sewbehind said...
Such co-ordination. I am impressed.
2/4/07 1:51 PM
mudcat said...
What a good idea. I also have three boards (different sizes). I like the idea of matching.
2/4/07 1:07 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Much prettier than store bought and I'm sure they are better built. What a perfect addition to a sewing room.
2/4/07 11:51 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great job. Love the idea of using bias binding as a casing for the elastic.
2/4/07 10:54 AM
khurtdvm said...
Those are really nice - hmmm...good idea.
2/4/07 10:40 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Beautiful, Dale! The koi fabric looks so refreshing. I did this too, several years ago and the board still has the same cover. I got fed up with paying $14US for a cover I could make. I zigzagged with a wide stitch, over durable string and pulled the string tight to shape the cover over the board. (I was too lazy to make a casing). I also used Insulbrite to help with the heat protection. I know batting works well as I've recently redone my sewing room and now have a pressing surface (an old table top) with batting.
2/4/07 8:59 AM
CSM--Carla said...
LOVE your idea of matching prints! Thanks for sharing. Carla
2/4/07 8:52 AM
RuthieSews said...
What a great idea! I too have 3 boards like you all with covers in wildly different patterns and colours. It never occured to me that I could make my own matching covers for them all. So thank you for sharing this one.
2/4/07 7:44 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

New Look 6150

photo
by: imsewcrazy

Review
Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now