SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> Ironing Board Covers 

Viewed 652 times 
Reviewed by:Dale C
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Dale Cstarstarstar
HI USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 165
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 138
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/4/07 4:54 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RuthieSews said...
What a great idea! I too have 3 boards like you all with covers in wildly different patterns and colours. It never occured to me that I could make my own matching covers for them all. So thank you for sharing this one.
2/4/07 7:44 AM
CSM--Carla said...
LOVE your idea of matching prints! Thanks for sharing. Carla
2/4/07 8:52 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Beautiful, Dale! The koi fabric looks so refreshing. I did this too, several years ago and the board still has the same cover. I got fed up with paying $14US for a cover I could make. I zigzagged with a wide stitch, over durable string and pulled the string tight to shape the cover over the board. (I was too lazy to make a casing). I also used Insulbrite to help with the heat protection. I know batting works well as I've recently redone my sewing room and now have a pressing surface (an old table top) with batting.
2/4/07 8:59 AM
khurtdvm said...
Those are really nice - hmmm...good idea.
2/4/07 10:40 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great job. Love the idea of using bias binding as a casing for the elastic.
2/4/07 10:54 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Much prettier than store bought and I'm sure they are better built. What a perfect addition to a sewing room.
2/4/07 11:51 AM
mudcat said...
What a good idea. I also have three boards (different sizes). I like the idea of matching.
2/4/07 1:07 PM
sewbehind said...
Such co-ordination. I am impressed.
2/4/07 1:51 PM
cindyann said...
Looks great Dale. Makes me embarassed about my tattered ironing board cover.......must do something about that.
2/4/07 1:52 PM
Carolyndh said...
I will definitely follow your example here--I love this.
2/4/07 6:36 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice. My ironing board could probably use a new cover, but it isn't likely to get one any time soon!
2/5/07 8:56 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Kari Me Away Confetti Rainbow

photo
by: Saint Nolt...

Review
Japanese Pattern Books 9

photo
by: Fashionabl...

Review
Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

Buy Now