Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
No Pattern Used: Ironing Board Covers - Type:Home Dec    printable version
Viewed 652 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Dale C
photo
Friend of PR
About Dale Cstarstarstar
HI USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 164
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 137
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/4/07 4:54 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RuthieSews said...
What a great idea! I too have 3 boards like you all with covers in wildly different patterns and colours. It never occured to me that I could make my own matching covers for them all. So thank you for sharing this one.
2/4/07 7:44 AM
CSM--Carla said...
LOVE your idea of matching prints! Thanks for sharing. Carla
2/4/07 8:52 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Beautiful, Dale! The koi fabric looks so refreshing. I did this too, several years ago and the board still has the same cover. I got fed up with paying $14US for a cover I could make. I zigzagged with a wide stitch, over durable string and pulled the string tight to shape the cover over the board. (I was too lazy to make a casing). I also used Insulbrite to help with the heat protection. I know batting works well as I've recently redone my sewing room and now have a pressing surface (an old table top) with batting.
2/4/07 8:59 AM
khurtdvm said...
Those are really nice - hmmm...good idea.
2/4/07 10:40 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great job. Love the idea of using bias binding as a casing for the elastic.
2/4/07 10:54 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Much prettier than store bought and I'm sure they are better built. What a perfect addition to a sewing room.
2/4/07 11:51 AM
mudcat said...
What a good idea. I also have three boards (different sizes). I like the idea of matching.
2/4/07 1:07 PM
sewbehind said...
Such co-ordination. I am impressed.
2/4/07 1:51 PM
cindyann said...
Looks great Dale. Makes me embarassed about my tattered ironing board cover.......must do something about that.
2/4/07 1:52 PM
Carolyndh said...
I will definitely follow your example here--I love this.
2/4/07 6:36 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice. My ironing board could probably use a new cover, but it isn't likely to get one any time soon!
2/5/07 8:56 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

New Look 6774
photo
Review by magsfs on 9/9/08
Read Review

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Everyday skirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Everyday skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Much Ado Skipper Top Skipper Top
photo
Review by MayenDesig... on 10/4/13
Read Review

Burda 8061 Pattern
Burda 8061 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 2842 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )
Vogue 2842 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us