SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4246 (girls top, skirt and stole)

2 more reviews
Viewed 577 times 
Reviewed by:cindy-lou
photo

 
 
About cindy-loustarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/21/06
Reviews written: 118
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 100
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/4/07 9:18 AM
Last Updated:2/4/07 9:46 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
Congrats on being able to make your DD something that she wore & was happy with!
2/5/07 9:01 PM
PVA said...
Beautiful result! I only had one DD so I didn't know some of them aren't picky! I thought they all came that way!
2/5/07 11:24 AM
Chris Kelly said...
OMG!!!! Cindy-Lou it's just too cute!! Love it, the beautiful smile says it all! You should be very proud!
2/4/07 10:36 PM
cindy-lou said...
Hi Katie N-- you are probably right re: length of the top! Low-rise is in now and this girl refuses anything else! Should have figured that in while I was doing fitting-- thanks!
2/4/07 6:40 PM
Peggy L said...
Glad you made her happy! Way to go Mom. It looks like she had a wonderful time with her Dad.
2/4/07 5:42 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Now that you've introduced her to custom-designed and made dance dresses, there's no going back. Glad you were able to please little Miss Picky!
2/4/07 5:11 PM
LiZ said...
Your DD looks beautiful in her lovely dress.
2/4/07 2:49 PM
jessika said...
Great Decorative edging. I have a very tomboyish sis that I had to make a dress for , boy is that fun. You did great with all the demands. This will be a great memory for her with her daddy.
2/4/07 1:35 PM
KatieN said...
Your little girl is adorable and it looks like she loves her dress! You mentioned that you thought the top was too short, and the skirt was too long - When I looked at the pictures, it appeared that the real issue is that the skirt is sitting well below her natural waist, but I think it was designed to sit AT the waist. If the waist were made smaller to sit higher, it may solve both problems (the too-long skirt and the gap between the top and skirt).
2/4/07 12:52 PM
ryan's mom said...
So pretty! You did such a nice job on her dress :) . Tomboys and teenage girls are definitely the most picky groups of all to sew for!!! (However, I did just find my 15-year old daughter eyeing up an embroidered ID tag I made for her sister...She's very much a label-conscious RTW snob.)
2/4/07 12:39 PM
illinicrna said...
That's awesome! AND, she'll remember that time you made her the blue satin dress for the Valentine's dance FOREVER. (trust me I know this, my mom made me a Black and Blue Polka Dot dress for a dance as well)
2/4/07 11:06 AM
JenSews2 said...
Good job, especially to make a girl's dream come true!
2/4/07 10:48 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

McCall's 6173

photo
by: SteffieMar...

Review

Pattern

Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

More Info
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

More Info