SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5327 (Misses' Unlined Jackets)

1 more reviews
Viewed 994 times 
Reviewed by:TwilaO
photo

 
 
About TwilaOstar
MT USA
Member since: 12/20/06
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/5/07 10:28 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cecelia said...
I'm sure you'll get more use out of this than you think. It may seem boring to you, but is a great wardrobe builder and will go with everything!
2/7/07 8:31 AM
xela said...
Perhaps the shoulders are a bit too wide. If you adjusted the shoulder area and added shoulder pads I think it would be the jacket you imagined. Good luck. and thanks for the review.
2/6/07 8:32 AM
Cheryl Reeves said...
I think it's fabulous enough to make more than one if it's comfortable to wear and you like the fit. It looks nice on you and I've seen this style of jacket in lots of stores in all kinds of different fabrics. This is the style of jacket that my DD loves to wear. Love your topstitching.
2/6/07 0:58 AM
TwilaO said...
Thank you, everyone, for your encouraging comments! Soliel and ReBecca: I used pearl cotton size 5, which is an embroidery thread. It's much thicker than regular thread, and yes, I did it by hand. It went fairly quickly, although anchoring it inconspicuously was a challenge in some spots. Let me know if you have any more questions!
2/5/07 3:15 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great looking jacket. It is distinctive but what about using embellishments to make it fabulous - or decorative stitching or coordinating fabrics. I think you could do many things. It's a lovely jacket.
2/5/07 2:49 PM
Linda G said...
It is really cute and by looking at the pattern I would have thought the sleeves would have been somewhat bell shaped thanks for the review.
2/5/07 1:43 PM
LauraTS said...
This looks very sharp - I like the white with the black topstitching.
2/5/07 1:42 PM
cindy-lou said...
I do like this facket! Easy to wear and you'll probably get more out of it than you think.
2/5/07 1:11 PM
Re Becca said...
I think that it looks great!.. Tell us more about the top stitching. I am considering doing that for a jackeet myself and I thought that you had to do it by hand to get it to look right. I also think that you will be glad that you took the time to line it, it will last longer.
2/5/07 1:04 PM
Soliel said...
I think it's cute. The bell sleeves might have ended up to be too much. Question for anyone to answer...to get that nice thick topstitching look, is it only a different thread or does one have to use a special needle or two needles? Please advise, thanks!
2/5/07 12:46 PM
AliceB said...
Really lovely jacket!! I'd love to see a photo of the back side as well with those little slits being outlined. Great job!!
2/5/07 12:15 PM
slanden99 said...
It looks nice in white. I like the pockets and topstitching
2/5/07 12:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern

More Info
Petite Plus 501 Pattern

Petite Plus 501 Pattern

More Info
Marfy 2762

photo
by: Re Becca

Review