Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5327 (Misses' Unlined Jackets) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 994 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:TwilaO
photo
About TwilaOstar
MT USA
Member since: 12/20/06
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/5/07 10:28 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
slanden99 said...
It looks nice in white. I like the pockets and topstitching
2/5/07 12:11 PM
AliceB said...
Really lovely jacket!! I'd love to see a photo of the back side as well with those little slits being outlined. Great job!!
2/5/07 12:15 PM
Soliel said...
I think it's cute. The bell sleeves might have ended up to be too much. Question for anyone to answer...to get that nice thick topstitching look, is it only a different thread or does one have to use a special needle or two needles? Please advise, thanks!
2/5/07 12:46 PM
Re Becca said...
I think that it looks great!.. Tell us more about the top stitching. I am considering doing that for a jackeet myself and I thought that you had to do it by hand to get it to look right. I also think that you will be glad that you took the time to line it, it will last longer.
2/5/07 1:04 PM
cindy-lou said...
I do like this facket! Easy to wear and you'll probably get more out of it than you think.
2/5/07 1:11 PM
LauraTS said...
This looks very sharp - I like the white with the black topstitching.
2/5/07 1:42 PM
Linda G said...
It is really cute and by looking at the pattern I would have thought the sleeves would have been somewhat bell shaped thanks for the review.
2/5/07 1:43 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great looking jacket. It is distinctive but what about using embellishments to make it fabulous - or decorative stitching or coordinating fabrics. I think you could do many things. It's a lovely jacket.
2/5/07 2:49 PM
TwilaO said...
Thank you, everyone, for your encouraging comments! Soliel and ReBecca: I used pearl cotton size 5, which is an embroidery thread. It's much thicker than regular thread, and yes, I did it by hand. It went fairly quickly, although anchoring it inconspicuously was a challenge in some spots. Let me know if you have any more questions!
2/5/07 3:15 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
I think it's fabulous enough to make more than one if it's comfortable to wear and you like the fit. It looks nice on you and I've seen this style of jacket in lots of stores in all kinds of different fabrics. This is the style of jacket that my DD loves to wear. Love your topstitching.
2/6/07 0:58 AM
xela said...
Perhaps the shoulders are a bit too wide. If you adjusted the shoulder area and added shoulder pads I think it would be the jacket you imagined. Good luck. and thanks for the review.
2/6/07 8:32 AM
cecelia said...
I'm sure you'll get more use out of this than you think. It may seem boring to you, but is a great wardrobe builder and will go with everything!
2/7/07 8:31 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Megan Nielsen MN2203 Tania Culottes
photo
Review by froggiegir... on 8/2/13
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Real People DVD
Fit For Real People DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Wrapped Maternity Top Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Wrapped Maternity Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6205
photo
Review by Ilonka on 4/21/14
Read Review

McCalls 6769 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )
McCalls 6769 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4718 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
Butterick 4718 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us