Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 04-2006-128 (Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1500 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 38 people   
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 192
Favored by: 388 people
patterns reviewed: 179
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/5/07 2:45 PM
Last Updated:2/5/07 2:55 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
49 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Donna H said...
WOO HOO..I get to leave the first great comment....LOOKS GREAT DEBBIE!! Awesome job. I want one now. :)
2/5/07 2:51 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a beautiful jacket. Your alteration explanations are always wonderful and the finished product is "to die for". Another job well done.
2/5/07 2:56 PM
carolynw said...
Great review. Your jacket is absolutely beautiful - you should be able to wear it in the Spring with lighter color jeans?
2/5/07 3:00 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
I love it! Hallelujah!
2/5/07 3:25 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
What a thorough Review!! A wonderful example for us all to follow. Thank you for your efforts. AND, your jacket is really nice, not only by itself, but also on you!! I love the fabric and colour, too!
2/5/07 3:58 PM
Re Becca said...
Very good. It looks like it was worth your work. The fabric is beautiful and it does look like you will be able to wear it year round.
2/5/07 4:04 PM
KarenP said...
Beautiful jacket and very flattering.
2/5/07 4:13 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Great jacket! Your topstitching and notched collar are perfect. Love the fabric too.
2/5/07 4:14 PM
Tany said...
Thank you for a very helpful review! Your jacket looks just perfect!
2/5/07 4:24 PM
jewelea said...
An excellent example of construction and fit.
2/5/07 5:00 PM
Liana said...
I've been following this on your blog, and it's great to see it all done. Very nice!
2/5/07 5:21 PM
Janice C. said...
What a fantastic jacket- lots of great garments are seen on this site, but this is a truly memorable one - and a great review too !
2/5/07 5:23 PM
Riordan said...
Beautiful jacket!!! It looks wonderful on you!
2/5/07 5:29 PM
Nancy K said...
The jacket looks great! Having a good book to go along with BWOF really makes a difference. It is certainly becomming on you. Enjoy!
2/5/07 5:30 PM
Puddin Pop said...
It is a very nice jacket. I hope you make this again, because you went to so much trouble to get it to fit just right. Maybe a black or even an ivory for summer.
2/5/07 5:49 PM
VtMartha said...
I love your jacket!
2/5/07 6:01 PM
CarolynGM said...
I really enjoyed following your progress on your blog, setbacks and all. It turned out fabulous -- great save on tutu elimination. You really should make this again as the fit and shaping are perfect on you.
2/5/07 6:01 PM
Schnauzer said...
Debbie, Your jacket is lovely and a great review as always!
2/5/07 6:04 PM
SewPaula said...
Very nice! I've been following the birth of this jacket from the beginning and have learned a lot. Great review!
2/5/07 6:15 PM
BjP said...
Great review and a fabulous jacket. Love it. You get an A-plus for perserverence as well as outcome!
2/5/07 6:16 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Wow. You're making even me feel like a denim jacket might be OK :-). And if all reviews were like this, we'd all be making a jacket a week or something :-).
2/5/07 6:17 PM
OP Gal said...
You did it! You finished the famous 17-piece denim jacket. It looks great. I really enjoyed reading about all the changes you made as well as seeing all the pics. (The tutu look sounds so much classier than the Judy Jetson look. I'll have to remember that. ;-) ) Congratulations on a wonderful job.
2/5/07 6:29 PM
Twinkster said...
Stunning jacket. And a thorough review.
2/5/07 6:34 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Oh poo. My comment was lost in an internal server error. Debbie, what a huge undertaking this jacket was for you. I'm glad it didn't put you off from Burda WOF. I think it might have done it for me. Now you have one fabulous jacket for end of summer and early spring.
2/5/07 6:36 PM
mlt said...
lovely as always!
2/5/07 6:41 PM
Kay Y said...
You say that is your *first* notched collar? It's hard to believe! Your jacket looks great.
2/5/07 6:42 PM
blue mooney said...
Really gorgeous jacket! Thanks so much for the thorough review - in a month or so I'm planning to make one of these, too, so I'll be referring back to this and to your blog.
2/5/07 6:52 PM
Carolyndh said...
Debbie, Once again, a really awesome BWOF project that you have created! This is a really nice jacket. I can envision that it would be perfect for taking the dogs for a walk in your neighborhood as you stated in your blog today! Very nice.
2/5/07 7:26 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous jacket Debbie! Thank you for sharing it with us and for another excellent review :)))
2/5/07 7:28 PM
Linda G said...
Debbie your reviews are always so informative. The jacket is beautiful.
2/5/07 8:18 PM
jnamcd said...
Your new jacket is awesome! And your review is so thorough! Wonderful job!
2/5/07 9:00 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Very lovely jacket, Debbie. It looks wonderful on you. Also, very informative review.
2/5/07 9:11 PM
PatM said...
Thank you for the extremely helpful review. DD choose this as her favorite pattern from april BWOF. After reading your review, I will think about making it for the cooler weather.
2/5/07 9:53 PM
BeckyC said...
Beautiful jacket, Debbie! I've had my eye on this jacket since last spring. Thank you for the great review on it.
2/5/07 9:58 PM
Em's Summer said...
What a wonderful review! Thank you for this very helpful review. It's nice, too, seeing a jeans jacket that is quite elegant! You did a great job!
2/5/07 10:32 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Have fun wearing your jacket at the dog park. :)
2/5/07 11:14 PM
PVA said...
Loooove the fabric! Actually, I love the finished garment -- you make me want a jeans jacket! It looks wonderful on you, & I'm certain you're going to love wearing it.
2/5/07 11:32 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Fabulous review AND jacket! It turned out super. No wonder you love it. I do too!
2/6/07 0:37 AM
vwgrant said...
Hi Debbie--nice job! I like that you used a print in your construction. I'm making #2 jacket off this pattern, too, (although I haven't gotten to the review stage but you've inspired me! When I get #2 done, I'll post pictures of both!) 20 pattern pieces nearly blew my feeble mind--first time around I forgot to cut a second back peplum and couldn't figure out why they had such a weenie 5/8" hem. I found the cuff construction confusing,too, and the collar construction was a little sparse ( I haven't sewn a lot of lapel collars but there's something to be said for making a complex pattern and turning around and sewing it again. I now can do lapel collars!)
2/6/07 1:05 AM
Lori V said...
Beautiful jacket, Debbie. Your reviews and pictures are so helpful. The change from before tutu and after was worth all your hard work. Enjoy your jacket.
2/6/07 7:14 AM
2muchfabric said...
Fantastic jacket! Thank you so much for reviewing this pattern. Your shared photos and experiences are so helpful. I am inspired by your work.
2/6/07 7:54 AM
Tere Sews said...
Great job. I can't wait to pull out that issue and trace the pattern. Burda has really improved the style of their plus patterns. Your jacket looks terrific on you.
2/6/07 8:43 AM
Marji said...
Debbie it looks great! Congratulations on a job well done and I applaud you for the perseverence to get through 2 muslins.
2/6/07 8:45 AM
Linda E. said...
Very Very Nice jacket love the fabric the style looks really good on you.. And the detail are super.. thanks, for the reveiw and information.
2/6/07 8:59 AM
Charlene McGill said...
Hi Debbie, I have been following the progress of the jacket on your blog. The jacket look wonderful on you. Thanks for the step-by-step details. Looking forward to you next project. Happy Sewing!!!!
2/6/07 7:44 PM
cecelia said...
Wow-what a lovely jacket and a terrific review--just like a sewing travelogue, so fun to read and see all the photos. Thanks, Debbie!
2/7/07 8:35 AM
Jane S said...
Bebbie, not only is that a terrific jacket but you've written another fun and especially informative review. You give me the patience to realize it's just a step by step process, that I can fix things I don't like...and that I can soon tackle a notched collar with ease and grace. bravo!
2/7/07 10:41 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Gorgeous! I love the fabric choice too!
2/8/07 8:15 PM
LiZ said...
Very flattering jacket and I love the fabric choice.
2/9/07 2:56 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Jalie 2908
photo
Review by ArtAttack on 8/6/12
Read Review

Loes Hinse Tango Skirt
Loes Hinse Tango Skirt

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8685 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 8685 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Enid Gilchrist Enid Gilchrist
photo
Review by sarahjk on 9/23/13
Read Review

Sis Boom Lucy Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Lucy Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern
Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us