SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2005-134 (coat)

Viewed 778 times 
Reviewed by:blue mooney
photo

 
 
About blue mooneystarstarstar
Member since: 12/21/02
Reviews written: 96
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 37 people
patterns reviewed: 93
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/5/07 6:46 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kay Y said...
This is very nice indeed - a good decision to felt up the fabric. I love the colour on you.
2/5/07 6:51 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
This turned out so beautifully, Robyn. I can't wait to see it in person later this week!
2/5/07 6:56 PM
KarenP said...
I love your coat! The black velveteen collar really makes it special.
2/5/07 6:59 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful and stylish !!!!! All the extra work was worth it.
2/5/07 7:22 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
Gosh, that's gorgeous!
2/5/07 7:36 PM
Peggy L said...
Wonderful!! We want to see it this weekend.
2/5/07 7:46 PM
Lynngray said...
Very nice job. And great review. Thanks
2/5/07 8:03 PM
Nickle said...
Beautiful coat- looks nice on you.
2/5/07 8:14 PM
CarolynGM said...
I really like what you did with the fabric. The pockets look much nicer than the ones in the pattern. When you say they are "fake welt", does that mean then are non-functional?
2/5/07 8:17 PM
KristenI said...
Fantastic job, I think it looks great on you!
2/5/07 8:20 PM
KristenI said...
Removed duplicate post.
2/5/07 8:21 PM
Tany said...
Very well done!
2/5/07 8:32 PM
LauraTS said...
That looks really great on you, and all the details look perfect. Enjoy keeping warm with it.
2/5/07 8:35 PM
Runrover said...
Oh my gosh, what a beautiful coat. It looks wonderful on you; well worth the effort and time.
2/5/07 9:07 PM
Runrover said...
Oh my gosh, what a beautiful coat. It looks wonderful on you; well worth the effort and time.
2/5/07 9:07 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Your coat is beautiful. This was a good time to make it since we actually have had some cold days for a change.
2/5/07 9:13 PM
Hilary said...
You did a beautiful job, your coat looks great on you!
2/5/07 9:56 PM
Elemenopeo said...
That is one snappy coat!
2/5/07 10:48 PM
jewelea said...
Looks very professional, and the velveteen collar was an inspired touch.
2/6/07 0:27 AM
fuzzygalore said...
This looks really great, and really good for you also.. Do tell about the fake welts, is this some technique we should know about? Somehow fake sounds easier :-)..
2/6/07 7:45 AM
BeckyC said...
Gorgeous jacket! I love your addition of the velveteen collar, it's beautiful with your wool.
2/6/07 8:06 AM
blue mooney said...
Irina and Fuzzygalore, I call the welts fake because they run all the way across the front side piece. Cut the side front in two where you want the pocket, bind the edges (adding the pocket bag), then baste the lips together and handle as a single pattern piece. This was another trick touched on in Shannon's Stitch-N-Flip class. Pretty easy and it looks sharp.
2/6/07 8:22 AM
Nancy K said...
The coat looks great! Enjoy the wearing. Next time you make a jacket with set in sleeves make sure you check how much bigger the sleeve is fom the armskye if it is more than 1 or 1 1/2" larger, reduce the ease and it should go in a lot easier.
2/6/07 8:39 AM
Marji said...
I like the variations you did with it, and it looks really nice on you. I especially like the pockets you added. Now go have fun and knock out some quick and easy projects.
2/6/07 10:29 AM
Puddin Pop said...
The coat is beautiful. I am like you. When it takes too long, I want to sew something quick and easy, then I start something that's not.
2/6/07 10:42 AM
Donna H said...
You MADE that?? Sheesh...it's beautiful and looks VERY RTW! Very beautiful.
2/6/07 2:47 PM
beangirl said...
Robyn, this coat looks GREAT! I love that velveteen collar (I'm a sucker for velveteen for sure). This is a winner!
2/6/07 7:47 PM
cecelia said...
So nice that your beautiful coat turned out to be a winner after all that work. Thanks for the "fake welt" tips!
2/7/07 8:45 AM
cmarie12 said...
Robyn ~ love, love, love the jacket! I like how you changed the elements of the jacket and made it more you. Will have to go and look for that issue ~ that is a great pattern!
2/7/07 10:18 AM
Elaray said...
The coat looks great. The velveteen collar was an excellent choice - it really makes the coat look special. I've never made outerwear and your review was inspirational.
2/9/07 8:42 AM
LiZ said...
The velveteen collar gives this coat a very stylish look.
2/10/07 0:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Butterick 3197

photo
by: PAMomof3

Review
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Buy Now