Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 08-2005-134 (coat) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 778 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:blue mooney
photo
About blue mooneystarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 12/21/02
Reviews written: 96
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 37 people
patterns reviewed: 93
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/5/07 6:46 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kay Y said...
This is very nice indeed - a good decision to felt up the fabric. I love the colour on you.
2/5/07 6:51 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
This turned out so beautifully, Robyn. I can't wait to see it in person later this week!
2/5/07 6:56 PM
KarenP said...
I love your coat! The black velveteen collar really makes it special.
2/5/07 6:59 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful and stylish !!!!! All the extra work was worth it.
2/5/07 7:22 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
Gosh, that's gorgeous!
2/5/07 7:36 PM
Peggy L said...
Wonderful!! We want to see it this weekend.
2/5/07 7:46 PM
Lynngray said...
Very nice job. And great review. Thanks
2/5/07 8:03 PM
Nickle said...
Beautiful coat- looks nice on you.
2/5/07 8:14 PM
CarolynGM said...
I really like what you did with the fabric. The pockets look much nicer than the ones in the pattern. When you say they are "fake welt", does that mean then are non-functional?
2/5/07 8:17 PM
KristenI said...
Fantastic job, I think it looks great on you!
2/5/07 8:20 PM
KristenI said...
Removed duplicate post.
2/5/07 8:21 PM
Tany said...
Very well done!
2/5/07 8:32 PM
LauraTS said...
That looks really great on you, and all the details look perfect. Enjoy keeping warm with it.
2/5/07 8:35 PM
Runrover said...
Oh my gosh, what a beautiful coat. It looks wonderful on you; well worth the effort and time.
2/5/07 9:07 PM
Runrover said...
Oh my gosh, what a beautiful coat. It looks wonderful on you; well worth the effort and time.
2/5/07 9:07 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Your coat is beautiful. This was a good time to make it since we actually have had some cold days for a change.
2/5/07 9:13 PM
Hilary said...
You did a beautiful job, your coat looks great on you!
2/5/07 9:56 PM
Elemenopeo said...
That is one snappy coat!
2/5/07 10:48 PM
jewelea said...
Looks very professional, and the velveteen collar was an inspired touch.
2/6/07 0:27 AM
fuzzygalore said...
This looks really great, and really good for you also.. Do tell about the fake welts, is this some technique we should know about? Somehow fake sounds easier :-)..
2/6/07 7:45 AM
BeckyC said...
Gorgeous jacket! I love your addition of the velveteen collar, it's beautiful with your wool.
2/6/07 8:06 AM
blue mooney said...
Irina and Fuzzygalore, I call the welts fake because they run all the way across the front side piece. Cut the side front in two where you want the pocket, bind the edges (adding the pocket bag), then baste the lips together and handle as a single pattern piece. This was another trick touched on in Shannon's Stitch-N-Flip class. Pretty easy and it looks sharp.
2/6/07 8:22 AM
Nancy K said...
The coat looks great! Enjoy the wearing. Next time you make a jacket with set in sleeves make sure you check how much bigger the sleeve is fom the armskye if it is more than 1 or 1 1/2" larger, reduce the ease and it should go in a lot easier.
2/6/07 8:39 AM
Marji said...
I like the variations you did with it, and it looks really nice on you. I especially like the pockets you added. Now go have fun and knock out some quick and easy projects.
2/6/07 10:29 AM
Puddin Pop said...
The coat is beautiful. I am like you. When it takes too long, I want to sew something quick and easy, then I start something that's not.
2/6/07 10:42 AM
Donna H said...
You MADE that?? Sheesh...it's beautiful and looks VERY RTW! Very beautiful.
2/6/07 2:47 PM
beangirl said...
Robyn, this coat looks GREAT! I love that velveteen collar (I'm a sucker for velveteen for sure). This is a winner!
2/6/07 7:47 PM
cecelia said...
So nice that your beautiful coat turned out to be a winner after all that work. Thanks for the "fake welt" tips!
2/7/07 8:45 AM
cmarie12 said...
Robyn ~ love, love, love the jacket! I like how you changed the elements of the jacket and made it more you. Will have to go and look for that issue ~ that is a great pattern!
2/7/07 10:18 AM
Elaray said...
The coat looks great. The velveteen collar was an excellent choice - it really makes the coat look special. I've never made outerwear and your review was inspirational.
2/9/07 8:42 AM
LiZ said...
The velveteen collar gives this coat a very stylish look.
2/10/07 0:32 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Burda 7738
photo
Review by HawkeMorni... on 2/16/12
Read Review

Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Music Box Jumper Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Music Box Jumper Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns 1204 Alma
photo
Review by starryfish on 3/20/13
Read Review

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)
Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4686 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Butterick 4686 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $15.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7308 Pattern
Burda 7308 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us