SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2005-134 (coat)

Viewed 778 times 
Reviewed by:blue mooney
photo

 
 
About blue mooneystarstarstar
Member since: 12/21/02
Reviews written: 96
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 37 people
patterns reviewed: 93
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/5/07 6:46 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LiZ said...
The velveteen collar gives this coat a very stylish look.
2/10/07 0:32 AM
Elaray said...
The coat looks great. The velveteen collar was an excellent choice - it really makes the coat look special. I've never made outerwear and your review was inspirational.
2/9/07 8:42 AM
cmarie12 said...
Robyn ~ love, love, love the jacket! I like how you changed the elements of the jacket and made it more you. Will have to go and look for that issue ~ that is a great pattern!
2/7/07 10:18 AM
cecelia said...
So nice that your beautiful coat turned out to be a winner after all that work. Thanks for the "fake welt" tips!
2/7/07 8:45 AM
beangirl said...
Robyn, this coat looks GREAT! I love that velveteen collar (I'm a sucker for velveteen for sure). This is a winner!
2/6/07 7:47 PM
Donna H said...
You MADE that?? Sheesh...it's beautiful and looks VERY RTW! Very beautiful.
2/6/07 2:47 PM
Puddin Pop said...
The coat is beautiful. I am like you. When it takes too long, I want to sew something quick and easy, then I start something that's not.
2/6/07 10:42 AM
Marji said...
I like the variations you did with it, and it looks really nice on you. I especially like the pockets you added. Now go have fun and knock out some quick and easy projects.
2/6/07 10:29 AM
Nancy K said...
The coat looks great! Enjoy the wearing. Next time you make a jacket with set in sleeves make sure you check how much bigger the sleeve is fom the armskye if it is more than 1 or 1 1/2" larger, reduce the ease and it should go in a lot easier.
2/6/07 8:39 AM
blue mooney said...
Irina and Fuzzygalore, I call the welts fake because they run all the way across the front side piece. Cut the side front in two where you want the pocket, bind the edges (adding the pocket bag), then baste the lips together and handle as a single pattern piece. This was another trick touched on in Shannon's Stitch-N-Flip class. Pretty easy and it looks sharp.
2/6/07 8:22 AM
BeckyC said...
Gorgeous jacket! I love your addition of the velveteen collar, it's beautiful with your wool.
2/6/07 8:06 AM
fuzzygalore said...
This looks really great, and really good for you also.. Do tell about the fake welts, is this some technique we should know about? Somehow fake sounds easier :-)..
2/6/07 7:45 AM
jewelea said...
Looks very professional, and the velveteen collar was an inspired touch.
2/6/07 0:27 AM
Elemenopeo said...
That is one snappy coat!
2/5/07 10:48 PM
Hilary said...
You did a beautiful job, your coat looks great on you!
2/5/07 9:56 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Your coat is beautiful. This was a good time to make it since we actually have had some cold days for a change.
2/5/07 9:13 PM
Runrover said...
Oh my gosh, what a beautiful coat. It looks wonderful on you; well worth the effort and time.
2/5/07 9:07 PM
Runrover said...
Oh my gosh, what a beautiful coat. It looks wonderful on you; well worth the effort and time.
2/5/07 9:07 PM
LauraTS said...
That looks really great on you, and all the details look perfect. Enjoy keeping warm with it.
2/5/07 8:35 PM
Tany said...
Very well done!
2/5/07 8:32 PM
KristenI said...
Removed duplicate post.
2/5/07 8:21 PM
KristenI said...
Fantastic job, I think it looks great on you!
2/5/07 8:20 PM
CarolynGM said...
I really like what you did with the fabric. The pockets look much nicer than the ones in the pattern. When you say they are "fake welt", does that mean then are non-functional?
2/5/07 8:17 PM
Nickle said...
Beautiful coat- looks nice on you.
2/5/07 8:14 PM
Lynngray said...
Very nice job. And great review. Thanks
2/5/07 8:03 PM
Peggy L said...
Wonderful!! We want to see it this weekend.
2/5/07 7:46 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
Gosh, that's gorgeous!
2/5/07 7:36 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful and stylish !!!!! All the extra work was worth it.
2/5/07 7:22 PM
KarenP said...
I love your coat! The black velveteen collar really makes it special.
2/5/07 6:59 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
This turned out so beautifully, Robyn. I can't wait to see it in person later this week!
2/5/07 6:56 PM
Kay Y said...
This is very nice indeed - a good decision to felt up the fabric. I love the colour on you.
2/5/07 6:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2011-21

photo
by: A Beginner...

Review
Burda 8860

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Pants Sewing DVD

Pants Sewing DVD

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Buy Now