SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3095 (Misses Jackets)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1447 times 
Reviewed by:Sew Jane
photo

 
 
About Sew Janestar
KS USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/22/02 1:41 PM
Last Updated:12/22/02 8:04 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mudcat said...
I look forward to seeing your pictures. I'm in the middle of making this jacket right now (View B) from a black/turquoise cross-dyed linen.
12/22/02 4:22 PM
Mini said...
Jane, I have had my eye on this one for a while. Your review will be very helpful once I get the right fabric. (I check the JJ catalog style ideas too, and usually find that Kwik Sew has the best equivalents.) For those who prefer short jackets, I think this one would work if you leave off the lower section and add a hem allowance at the the waist seam.
12/22/02 5:06 PM
Nan said...
Jane, great review. Can't wait to see your pics, which I hope will show your back pleat! (I love J Jill too, but would much rather knock them off than pay those prices!)
12/22/02 5:35 PM
Karen Bowers said...
your coat is much more inspiring than the pattern drawings! thanks for sharing!
12/22/02 10:20 PM
Michelle said...
Jane, the jacket is terrific! I too have had this pattern on the table for weeks with the fabric folded under it uncut. You have motivated me to get to it ;)
12/22/02 10:36 PM
Sew Jane said...
Thanks for your kind comments! I really enjoyed making this jacket. I think the cross-dyed lined jacket will be stunning- please post your review when done. Mini- great idea about shortening. One note: I hand sewed upper and under collars together along the facing seam line. The pattern instructions call for machine sewing, but I thought it could easily ruin the collar line if incorrectly or inaccurately done. Plus, my fabric was not forgiving in the unsewing dept.
12/22/02 10:41 PM
Andi said...
great jacket!! How much ease would you say there is? and where does the waist seam hit?, above below, or at the waist??
12/22/02 11:06 PM
Sherril Miller said...
This is on my list of "to do" during Winter Break. That pleat idea is wonderful. It would give my hips just enough wiggle room, without adding bulk to the jacket. Thanks for sharing!
12/23/02 2:35 AM
mudcat said...
Jane, nice rendition. Love the pleat in the back. p.s. I will be doing a review on mine when I finish it.
12/23/02 10:08 AM
Sew Jane said...
Hi Andi. I would term this pattern loose-fitting although it is tailored thru the shoulders. There is about 4" of ease at the bust and 6" at the hips in my version. The waist seam hits at the true waist. You can utilize the finished back measurement to fine-tune this. HTH - J
12/23/02 10:34 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Very pretty - your fabric sounds yummy!
12/23/02 11:37 AM
alex said...
Thanks for the review and especially the picture. The jacket looks great. Before this review, I was intrigued by the style, but coudn't quite decide whether to buy it. Now that I have seen the jacket on a real body, I know I want the pattern.
12/31/02 6:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Buy Now
Kwik Sew 2694

photo
by: goosegreen

Review