Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3095 (Misses Jackets) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1443 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Sew Jane
photo
About Sew Janestar
KS USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/22/02 1:41 PM
Last Updated:12/22/02 8:04 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mudcat said...
I look forward to seeing your pictures. I'm in the middle of making this jacket right now (View B) from a black/turquoise cross-dyed linen.
12/22/02 4:22 PM
Mini said...
Jane, I have had my eye on this one for a while. Your review will be very helpful once I get the right fabric. (I check the JJ catalog style ideas too, and usually find that Kwik Sew has the best equivalents.) For those who prefer short jackets, I think this one would work if you leave off the lower section and add a hem allowance at the the waist seam.
12/22/02 5:06 PM
Nan said...
Jane, great review. Can't wait to see your pics, which I hope will show your back pleat! (I love J Jill too, but would much rather knock them off than pay those prices!)
12/22/02 5:35 PM
Karen Bowers said...
your coat is much more inspiring than the pattern drawings! thanks for sharing!
12/22/02 10:20 PM
Michelle said...
Jane, the jacket is terrific! I too have had this pattern on the table for weeks with the fabric folded under it uncut. You have motivated me to get to it ;)
12/22/02 10:36 PM
Sew Jane said...
Thanks for your kind comments! I really enjoyed making this jacket. I think the cross-dyed lined jacket will be stunning- please post your review when done. Mini- great idea about shortening. One note: I hand sewed upper and under collars together along the facing seam line. The pattern instructions call for machine sewing, but I thought it could easily ruin the collar line if incorrectly or inaccurately done. Plus, my fabric was not forgiving in the unsewing dept.
12/22/02 10:41 PM
Andi said...
great jacket!! How much ease would you say there is? and where does the waist seam hit?, above below, or at the waist??
12/22/02 11:06 PM
Sherril Miller said...
This is on my list of "to do" during Winter Break. That pleat idea is wonderful. It would give my hips just enough wiggle room, without adding bulk to the jacket. Thanks for sharing!
12/23/02 2:35 AM
mudcat said...
Jane, nice rendition. Love the pleat in the back. p.s. I will be doing a review on mine when I finish it.
12/23/02 10:08 AM
Sew Jane said...
Hi Andi. I would term this pattern loose-fitting although it is tailored thru the shoulders. There is about 4" of ease at the bust and 6" at the hips in my version. The waist seam hits at the true waist. You can utilize the finished back measurement to fine-tune this. HTH - J
12/23/02 10:34 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Very pretty - your fabric sounds yummy!
12/23/02 11:37 AM
alex said...
Thanks for the review and especially the picture. The jacket looks great. Before this review, I was intrigued by the style, but coudn't quite decide whether to buy it. Now that I have seen the jacket on a real body, I know I want the pattern.
12/31/02 6:45 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Kwik Sew 2849
photo
Review by JKimes on 12/14/10
Read Review

Simplicity 3878 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 3878 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6296 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8-10-12-14 )
New Look 6296 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6668
photo
Review by beanchor on 5/19/13
Read Review

Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Flip Flops Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Flip Flops Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us