SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Burda Plus Fashion Magazine> 02-2007-406 (twist-front dress)

Viewed 781 times 
Reviewed by:cherry
photo

 
 
About cherrystar
VA USA
Member since: 9/9/02
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/7/07 6:03 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sherril Miller said...
Oh, but I've learned somuch from your review. I'm sad you're not happy with this dress because it looks wonderful on the hanger. Besides the hem being the wrong length, how does it fit once you fixed the sleeves?
2/7/07 6:07 PM
Rebecca D said...
I second Sherrill's opinion that it looks lovely on the hanger. The review was very helpful for me in spite of your travails.
2/7/07 6:59 PM
librarylady said...
It is a lovely dress as Sherril said. And a wonderful review. Thanks. I'm a Burda 44/46 too so this was especially good to read.
2/7/07 7:00 PM
Kay Y said...
Despite your difficulties, this really does look like an elegant and wearable dress. I hope you come to love it soon.
2/7/07 7:29 PM
Margie T said...
I think your dress looks lovely. Please wear it.
2/8/07 4:50 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Sorry you don't like the dress but it looks good on the dress form.
2/8/07 5:28 AM
Nancy K said...
I think that it looks lovely.
2/8/07 8:06 AM
Em's Summer said...
The dress looks great! Looking at it, I can't even tell anything went wrong while you were sewing it. Great looking dress and great job, even if you might not think so. :-)
2/8/07 8:17 AM
Jane S said...
It might not be what you anticipated, but it's looking sharp on your dress form.
2/8/07 8:32 AM
mlt said...
Yet another one saying how lovely it looks!
2/8/07 9:24 AM
OP Gal said...
I'm sorry you're not happy with the dress. It looks great in the picture. I was looking through your photo album and was very impressed with your other sewing projects. I'll be anxious to see more of your reviews.
2/8/07 11:41 AM
UteK said...
First look at your picture was a "whow". It looks not only wearable but great.
2/9/07 2:07 PM
SewTwin said...
Mine did not come out either.Perhaps you could do a knit muslin with what you have learned, then do another with "good" fabric.I look better in flatter patterns, like your other dress in the pictures.
2/12/07 0:31 AM
dreamdesigner said...
Cherry, I think this looks wonderful! But I can't believe the garments you've created! And I've only looked at a few! That fabric your dh bought - I GUESS he had a helpful assistant - MY dh wouldn't be caught dead near a fabric store! I'm going to look at the rest now!
2/15/07 11:59 AM
Stephanie C. said...
Oh, I was going to make this for a banquet next weekend. Now I'm not sure. Thanks for your input. I didn't notice that it required a zipper, either.
2/25/07 5:24 PM
newlywedws said...
I absolutely love your dress! It is so chic -looks like it was purchased in an upscale boutique. I absolutely adore the pattern also...I could cry that I just saw this pattern...as I'm sure it can't be bought anywhere now :(
5/22/07 9:54 PM
Ngear said...
It looks beautiful in the photo!
5/31/07 8:59 AM
cherry said...
newlywedws (congratulations in order?) If you would like to send me your street address and your Burda size, I could trace it off for you. (Use the message center at the top of the page)
6/1/07 9:33 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2011-110

photo
by: flyawayhai...

Review
Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 5704

photo
by: wendlesue

Review