Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda Plus Fashion Magazine: 02-2007-406 (twist-front dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 780 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:cherry
photo
About cherrystar
VA USA
Member since: 9/9/02
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/7/07 6:03 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sherril Miller said...
Oh, but I've learned somuch from your review. I'm sad you're not happy with this dress because it looks wonderful on the hanger. Besides the hem being the wrong length, how does it fit once you fixed the sleeves?
2/7/07 6:07 PM
Rebecca D said...
I second Sherrill's opinion that it looks lovely on the hanger. The review was very helpful for me in spite of your travails.
2/7/07 6:59 PM
librarylady said...
It is a lovely dress as Sherril said. And a wonderful review. Thanks. I'm a Burda 44/46 too so this was especially good to read.
2/7/07 7:00 PM
Kay Y said...
Despite your difficulties, this really does look like an elegant and wearable dress. I hope you come to love it soon.
2/7/07 7:29 PM
Margie T said...
I think your dress looks lovely. Please wear it.
2/8/07 4:50 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Sorry you don't like the dress but it looks good on the dress form.
2/8/07 5:28 AM
Nancy K said...
I think that it looks lovely.
2/8/07 8:06 AM
Em's Summer said...
The dress looks great! Looking at it, I can't even tell anything went wrong while you were sewing it. Great looking dress and great job, even if you might not think so. :-)
2/8/07 8:17 AM
Jane S said...
It might not be what you anticipated, but it's looking sharp on your dress form.
2/8/07 8:32 AM
mlt said...
Yet another one saying how lovely it looks!
2/8/07 9:24 AM
OP Gal said...
I'm sorry you're not happy with the dress. It looks great in the picture. I was looking through your photo album and was very impressed with your other sewing projects. I'll be anxious to see more of your reviews.
2/8/07 11:41 AM
UteK said...
First look at your picture was a "whow". It looks not only wearable but great.
2/9/07 2:07 PM
SewTwin said...
Mine did not come out either.Perhaps you could do a knit muslin with what you have learned, then do another with "good" fabric.I look better in flatter patterns, like your other dress in the pictures.
2/12/07 0:31 AM
dreamdesigner said...
Cherry, I think this looks wonderful! But I can't believe the garments you've created! And I've only looked at a few! That fabric your dh bought - I GUESS he had a helpful assistant - MY dh wouldn't be caught dead near a fabric store! I'm going to look at the rest now!
2/15/07 11:59 AM
Stephanie C. said...
Oh, I was going to make this for a banquet next weekend. Now I'm not sure. Thanks for your input. I didn't notice that it required a zipper, either.
2/25/07 5:24 PM
newlywedws said...
I absolutely love your dress! It is so chic -looks like it was purchased in an upscale boutique. I absolutely adore the pattern also...I could cry that I just saw this pattern...as I'm sure it can't be bought anywhere now :(
5/22/07 9:54 PM
Ngear said...
It looks beautiful in the photo!
5/31/07 8:59 AM
cherry said...
newlywedws (congratulations in order?) If you would like to send me your street address and your Burda size, I could trace it off for you. (Use the message center at the top of the page)
6/1/07 9:33 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Burda 7636
photo
Review by angela80 on 11/19/10
Read Review

Simplicity 1773 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1773 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 4290 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14 )
McCalls 4290 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4669
photo
Review by SewLil on 8/16/07
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Yoga Girl Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Yoga Girl Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )
Oliver   S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts
Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Simone Paper Pattern
Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us