SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4023 (Misses'/Misses'Petite Shirt)

Viewed 820 times 
Reviewed by:Chris Kelly
photo

 
 
About Chris Kellystarstar
WA USA
Member since: 10/2/05
Reviews written: 122
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 107
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/7/07 6:18 PM
Last Updated:2/7/07 6:18 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cheryl Reeves said...
Very pretty. I love the lace insertion and the embroidery.
2/7/07 7:02 PM
Elemenopeo said...
It's beautiful without being over the top. Very well done.
2/7/07 7:04 PM
cindy-lou said...
I have seen this heirloom technique in Sew News and have really wanted to try it. You make me want to even more-- your version is just beautiful. VERY nice professional work!
2/7/07 7:58 PM
Ody said...
Absolutely awesome review PT!! The only thing I have done heirloom are pillowcases and wedding hankies with envelops---OK, tomatoes too. I have wanted to try the lace insertion technique and I think you did a fantastic job with the embroidery. Your design is well done, not too heavy for the fabric, and posistioned so that you have great balance on the blouse without overwhelming the project. My only complaint is how neat your new sewing room looks. Now I am going to have to start organizing and cleaning down here again just because of you! Super review!!
2/7/07 8:10 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Ooooo, Ahhh, pretty. And impressive.
2/7/07 9:18 PM
Peggy L said...
Beautiful! I haven't done any heirloom sewing in a long time.
2/7/07 9:45 PM
Linda G said...
beautiful and nice review.
2/7/07 10:34 PM
Tany said...
Thank you for a wonderful review!!
2/8/07 3:59 AM
Em's Summer said...
What a very elegant and Victorian type top! Thanks for the instructions. I might have to try it! Great job!
2/8/07 8:12 AM
carolynw said...
Very beautiful - I love your work on this shirt - a real heirloom!!
2/8/07 9:18 AM
cecelia said...
Very pretty and feminine--and I didn't want an embroidery machine, dumb me!
2/8/07 10:16 AM
Rhoda K said...
Just gorgeous! Ditto all the above!
2/8/07 10:31 AM
Irene Q said...
Just beautiful! And I love how the lace insertion replaces the princess seam - might steal that idea sometime.
2/8/07 10:52 AM
PVA said...
This is really lovely -- thanks for the review. I too haven't done any heirloom sewing in a long time. I've loved what I have done & still subscribe to Sew Beautiful. Hmmmmmmm. . . .
2/8/07 11:35 AM
Puddin Pop said...
Placing the lace over the seam and then cutting the seam out behind it is so cool!
2/8/07 12:42 PM
Levone said...
Lovely top....thanks for the step by step construction photos as well.
2/8/07 12:51 PM
OP Gal said...
Very pretty. I've done a little heirloom sewing myself--mostly nightgowns, and just love the look. I'll have to tackle a blouse sometime. You've inspired me!
2/8/07 2:05 PM
Patzee said...
Thanks for all the photos. I've never seen heirloom sewing in progress, so this was a very interesting and informative review. I just love your blouse!
2/8/07 4:23 PM
LiZ said...
Your shirt is absolutely beautiful.
2/9/07 4:13 AM
dreamdesigner said...
Lovely. Interesting way of putting the insertion in the princess seam. At least I'm assuming you sewed the seam, pressed it open and then put the insertion on top, stitched, cut the seam away from behind the lace (which would basically be two layers- right?), and also cut the excess SA on either side of the insertion "header/pull threads" (after you most likely did a close zigzag to secure the lace? -it's hard to tell. I LOVE heirloom sewing, but I've never done anything for myself. This is definitely one to consider.
2/15/07 11:33 AM
Chris Kelly said...
Up just what I did.
2/16/07 7:31 AM
AnneM said...
Beautiful. The lace really makes it a special top.
2/19/07 10:25 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2006-129

photo
by: jkaori

Review
SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

Buy Now
DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Burda 7174

photo
by: Lenarciak

Review