Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4023 (Misses'/Misses'Petite Shirt) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 820 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:Chris Kelly
photo
About Chris Kellystarstar
WA USA
Member since: 10/2/05
Reviews written: 122
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 17 people
patterns reviewed: 107
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/7/07 6:18 PM
Last Updated:2/7/07 6:18 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cheryl Reeves said...
Very pretty. I love the lace insertion and the embroidery.
2/7/07 7:02 PM
Elemenopeo said...
It's beautiful without being over the top. Very well done.
2/7/07 7:04 PM
cindy-lou said...
I have seen this heirloom technique in Sew News and have really wanted to try it. You make me want to even more-- your version is just beautiful. VERY nice professional work!
2/7/07 7:58 PM
Ody said...
Absolutely awesome review PT!! The only thing I have done heirloom are pillowcases and wedding hankies with envelops---OK, tomatoes too. I have wanted to try the lace insertion technique and I think you did a fantastic job with the embroidery. Your design is well done, not too heavy for the fabric, and posistioned so that you have great balance on the blouse without overwhelming the project. My only complaint is how neat your new sewing room looks. Now I am going to have to start organizing and cleaning down here again just because of you! Super review!!
2/7/07 8:10 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Ooooo, Ahhh, pretty. And impressive.
2/7/07 9:18 PM
Peggy L said...
Beautiful! I haven't done any heirloom sewing in a long time.
2/7/07 9:45 PM
Linda G said...
beautiful and nice review.
2/7/07 10:34 PM
Tany said...
Thank you for a wonderful review!!
2/8/07 3:59 AM
Em's Summer said...
What a very elegant and Victorian type top! Thanks for the instructions. I might have to try it! Great job!
2/8/07 8:12 AM
carolynw said...
Very beautiful - I love your work on this shirt - a real heirloom!!
2/8/07 9:18 AM
cecelia said...
Very pretty and feminine--and I didn't want an embroidery machine, dumb me!
2/8/07 10:16 AM
Rhoda K said...
Just gorgeous! Ditto all the above!
2/8/07 10:31 AM
Irene Q said...
Just beautiful! And I love how the lace insertion replaces the princess seam - might steal that idea sometime.
2/8/07 10:52 AM
PVA said...
This is really lovely -- thanks for the review. I too haven't done any heirloom sewing in a long time. I've loved what I have done & still subscribe to Sew Beautiful. Hmmmmmmm. . . .
2/8/07 11:35 AM
Puddin Pop said...
Placing the lace over the seam and then cutting the seam out behind it is so cool!
2/8/07 12:42 PM
Levone said...
Lovely top....thanks for the step by step construction photos as well.
2/8/07 12:51 PM
OP Gal said...
Very pretty. I've done a little heirloom sewing myself--mostly nightgowns, and just love the look. I'll have to tackle a blouse sometime. You've inspired me!
2/8/07 2:05 PM
Patzee said...
Thanks for all the photos. I've never seen heirloom sewing in progress, so this was a very interesting and informative review. I just love your blouse!
2/8/07 4:23 PM
LiZ said...
Your shirt is absolutely beautiful.
2/9/07 4:13 AM
dreamdesigner said...
Lovely. Interesting way of putting the insertion in the princess seam. At least I'm assuming you sewed the seam, pressed it open and then put the insertion on top, stitched, cut the seam away from behind the lace (which would basically be two layers- right?), and also cut the excess SA on either side of the insertion "header/pull threads" (after you most likely did a close zigzag to secure the lace? -it's hard to tell. I LOVE heirloom sewing, but I've never done anything for myself. This is definitely one to consider.
2/15/07 11:33 AM
Chris Kelly said...
Up just what I did.
2/16/07 7:31 AM
AnneM said...
Beautiful. The lace really makes it a special top.
2/19/07 10:25 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Advance Pattern Company 6922
photo
Review by reethi on 5/31/08
Read Review

You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern
You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King
BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Bosco Bowtie Digital Pattern FREE
Sis Boom Bosco Bowtie Digital Pattern FREE

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used 0000
photo
Review by carolynw on 7/17/06
Read Review

McCalls 6736 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6736 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1683 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1683 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us