Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4914 (Maggy London Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1628 times 19 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:drsue
photo
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/9/07 1:35 PM
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karla Kizer said...
I used a rather feeble knit for this one and had to use a spandex midriff stay and take out oodles of width in the gathered midriff section. Even now, I'm not sure I've got it right. But it's a nice design and I'd like to repeat it in a better fabric - like yours. Nice dress!
2/9/07 1:44 PM
ladybegood said...
Thanks for the tips. Your dress turned out beautifully.
2/9/07 2:19 PM
Leora said...
Wow, that is a great looking dress. Did you use 11oz or 14oz rayon lycra? Thanks for the review.
2/9/07 2:45 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
Wow! That dress is gorgeous! I have this pattern, you just bumped it!! :)
2/9/07 2:56 PM
Lisette said...
I just took out a grey knit to prepare for this pattern!Yours looks great thanks for the construction and fitting tips.
2/9/07 4:18 PM
CarolynGM said...
Looks like an extremely figure-flattering dress.
2/9/07 4:33 PM
Cecile Owens said...
I have been looking at necklines like this (also found in Diane von Furstenberg wrap styles) for myself but have a relatively long and nasty scar from from a bypass that I would prefer not to expose. Does anyone know how to make an alteration to raise the V of the neckline? My scar starts about an inch or so below the hollow of my neck. This particular pattern might not be the one I would choose because my waistline has increased, too. This is a lovely project & review. I would like to be able to make this or something like it and still have it be attractive for my figure. Any ideas would be appreciated.
2/9/07 7:54 PM
drsue said...
Leora: I used 11 oz fabric. Cecile: You can definetly alter these necklines. If you realize that you don't need strait lines on the V-front parts, and curve them, you can probably make it work. I'd find a pattern you like and play with this. I did do this sort of thing on this pattern, but not quite as drastically as you want to do.
2/9/07 8:04 PM
Riordan said...
Beautiful dress! The gathers are lovely.
2/9/07 8:28 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Gorgeous dress, drsue! Do you find that the Maggy London dresses are a better style for petites? Thank you for another inspirational review.
2/9/07 10:22 PM
Schnauzer said...
What a lovely dress. The gathers show up beautifully!
2/9/07 10:54 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beatiful drsue !!
2/10/07 8:58 AM
Barbara V said...
I was very interested to read all of your helpful tips for this pattern. I am planning to sew it as well and will refer back to your comments. Great job on fabric sellection and construction! Thanks for reviewing.
2/10/07 10:41 AM
OP Gal said...
Classy dress, drsue. Thanks for all the details in the review.
2/10/07 10:59 PM
cathy45 said...
Beautiful job, drsue. A classic dress. Especially found your alteration info very helpful.
2/13/07 9:24 AM
AnneM said...
Great dress, Susan. I'll have to consider this, since my build is somewhat like yours (but larger). Great info in your review.
2/19/07 1:13 PM
KarmenG said...
Love this - looks like a great dress!
3/9/07 5:37 PM
LiZ said...
Beautiful dress.
3/10/07 1:00 PM
MissCelie said...
Wow. That's fantastic.
3/19/07 12:01 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Your dress is spectular Dr. Sue - I really need this pattern!! :-)
3/24/07 1:00 PM
Soliel said...
Cool, Dr. Sue. Love your reviews. You must have so much fun wearing your creations to work! Cecil...what I do to make the neckline higher is simply cross the bodice more. In your case, it shouldn't have to cross much for the intended purpose. After your bodice is re crossed, you need to adjust the bottom piece the same amount. I do this because I have a small bust. Hope this helps.
4/14/07 10:54 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Vogue Patterns 8495
photo
Review by MadeByMeg on 3/24/11
Read Review

Megan Nielsen Briar Sweater & T-shirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Briar Sweater & T-shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's m5583
photo
Review by Ms Dish on 3/13/08
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Towne Purse
Towne Purse

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1715 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1715 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8935 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8935 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us