SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4914 (Maggy London Dress)

20 more reviews
Viewed 1631 times 
Reviewed by:drsue
photo

 
 
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 183 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/9/07 1:35 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karla Kizer said...
I used a rather feeble knit for this one and had to use a spandex midriff stay and take out oodles of width in the gathered midriff section. Even now, I'm not sure I've got it right. But it's a nice design and I'd like to repeat it in a better fabric - like yours. Nice dress!
2/9/07 1:44 PM
ladybegood said...
Thanks for the tips. Your dress turned out beautifully.
2/9/07 2:19 PM
Leora said...
Wow, that is a great looking dress. Did you use 11oz or 14oz rayon lycra? Thanks for the review.
2/9/07 2:45 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
Wow! That dress is gorgeous! I have this pattern, you just bumped it!! :)
2/9/07 2:56 PM
Lisette said...
I just took out a grey knit to prepare for this pattern!Yours looks great thanks for the construction and fitting tips.
2/9/07 4:18 PM
CarolynGM said...
Looks like an extremely figure-flattering dress.
2/9/07 4:33 PM
Cecile Owens said...
I have been looking at necklines like this (also found in Diane von Furstenberg wrap styles) for myself but have a relatively long and nasty scar from from a bypass that I would prefer not to expose. Does anyone know how to make an alteration to raise the V of the neckline? My scar starts about an inch or so below the hollow of my neck. This particular pattern might not be the one I would choose because my waistline has increased, too. This is a lovely project & review. I would like to be able to make this or something like it and still have it be attractive for my figure. Any ideas would be appreciated.
2/9/07 7:54 PM
drsue said...
Leora: I used 11 oz fabric. Cecile: You can definetly alter these necklines. If you realize that you don't need strait lines on the V-front parts, and curve them, you can probably make it work. I'd find a pattern you like and play with this. I did do this sort of thing on this pattern, but not quite as drastically as you want to do.
2/9/07 8:04 PM
Riordan said...
Beautiful dress! The gathers are lovely.
2/9/07 8:28 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Gorgeous dress, drsue! Do you find that the Maggy London dresses are a better style for petites? Thank you for another inspirational review.
2/9/07 10:22 PM
Schnauzer said...
What a lovely dress. The gathers show up beautifully!
2/9/07 10:54 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beatiful drsue !!
2/10/07 8:58 AM
Barbara V said...
I was very interested to read all of your helpful tips for this pattern. I am planning to sew it as well and will refer back to your comments. Great job on fabric sellection and construction! Thanks for reviewing.
2/10/07 10:41 AM
OP Gal said...
Classy dress, drsue. Thanks for all the details in the review.
2/10/07 10:59 PM
cathy45 said...
Beautiful job, drsue. A classic dress. Especially found your alteration info very helpful.
2/13/07 9:24 AM
AnneM said...
Great dress, Susan. I'll have to consider this, since my build is somewhat like yours (but larger). Great info in your review.
2/19/07 1:13 PM
KarmenG said...
Love this - looks like a great dress!
3/9/07 5:37 PM
LiZ said...
Beautiful dress.
3/10/07 1:00 PM
MissCelie said...
Wow. That's fantastic.
3/19/07 12:01 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Your dress is spectular Dr. Sue - I really need this pattern!! :-)
3/24/07 1:00 PM
Soliel said...
Cool, Dr. Sue. Love your reviews. You must have so much fun wearing your creations to work! Cecil...what I do to make the neckline higher is simply cross the bodice more. In your case, it shouldn't have to cross much for the intended purpose. After your bodice is re crossed, you need to adjust the bottom piece the same amount. I do this because I have a small bust. Hope this helps.
4/14/07 10:54 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Storm Mountain Designs 14

photo
by: Seamingly ...

Review
Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Buy Now