SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7302 

4 more reviews
Viewed 1291 times 
Reviewed by:Nan
photo

 
 
About Nanstarstar
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 36
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 37 people
patterns reviewed: 31
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/23/02 1:23 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kitty said...
That is a lovely combination !! Where does the skirt hit you in the leg? Is it knee length or longer and is it easily alterable for length?
12/23/02 2:39 AM
starlene said...
Nice job Nan, I also like your gold denim pant suit.
12/23/02 3:01 AM
Nan said...
Kitty, it is just at/slightly below the knee. Arlene, thanks. I don't intend to wear these pieces together--I think head to toe gold denim is a bit too Hollywood for me. But I love the fabric, so I made both pieces to wear with other separates. Nan
12/23/02 3:11 AM
Dale C said...
Nice! and so are the new additions to your photo album.
12/23/02 6:24 AM
katharin said...
A very nice skirt! I like your whole wardrobe!
12/23/02 7:01 AM
Rhonda Noah said...
Absolutely gorgeous! Boy, you have a designer's eye for picking patterns and fabric for the perfect marriage. Wonderful results in your sewing, too. I love this skirt!
12/23/02 8:12 AM
mudcat said...
Nan, the outfit is lovely. I like the fabric you used for the top.
12/23/02 10:06 AM
Sew Jane said...
Wow! wonderful results from what sounds like "Indiana Jones" type sewing! Thanks for all the tips. Do you have any hints for sewing on silk chiffon (someday I'd like to work up the courage to try it)?
12/23/02 10:13 AM
Deepika said...
Nan, I love this outfit. You are such an inspiration!
12/23/02 10:21 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Wow! Absolutely gorgeous!
12/23/02 11:39 AM
KiminMD said...
Nan, This came out really really great. I'm sure it will look lovely on you.
12/23/02 1:37 PM
Nan said...
Thanks guys. I wore it Sat night (yes, I sewed up to the very last minute!! my oldest friend was at the party and was wise to my ways, knew I had just finished it...the men seemed to like this outfit too--usually they just don't notice as we've discussed.) I've reviewed the top before (Vogue 9772). Its a great pattern--has a camisole and this bias tank. I used the chiffon to bind the armhole and neck edges. Jane, silk chiffon isn't that bad if you just slow down. I ignored my sewing machine "advisor" which wanted to use a very small stitch--instead sewed w/ 2.5-3.0 mm stitch lengths. Smaller needles--quilting or microtex 70 or 75 are best w/ this fabric. I did not use silk thread, just a metrosene. I did not find it too slippery to cut, as long as you use weights (I'd hate to mess w/ this with scissors). If you use the fusible tape, use the lightweight version. Merry to all Nan
12/23/02 7:09 PM
Sew Jane said...
Thanks for the tips Nan!
12/24/02 11:30 PM
Ann Smith said...
Nan, your wardrobe is fabulous. Such incredible fabrics. I made just the view A of Vogue 9772 but now that I see yours I will have to make it again along with view B in a sheer.
1/2/03 3:40 AM
Nan said...
Ann, I've made both of these views in wovens of various weights. View A can be wonderful in a duppioni; I made one in white with just a very small embroidery stitch along the neck edge; its great with the right jeans for a summer party...The version w/ this skirt was a wool tweed w/ metallic threads. I've made it in silk charmeuse several times; and cottons--probably at least 8 times total. Can't wait to see your new versions!
1/2/03 3:57 AM
Julia Graham said...
Nan, your Vogue 9988 is GORGEOUS!! I am so impressed. I can't find it on Vogue's web-site, but even so I'd be interested to learn more about it if you ever choose to review that pattern...
1/3/03 12:36 PM
Nan said...
Julia, thanks for the nice words. I made this last year, I had included it in the album as an example of embellishment. As I recall, I made the dress pretty much according to the pattern. The trim is a rayon seam binding (black) which I found in NYC; I used hemstitching and a feather stitch as further embellishment. If you make the dress check the placement of the holes for the wrap around ties to be sure they hit you right. Nan
1/3/03 2:13 PM
MilongueraThreads said...
Did you draft a lining pattern for this or use a different pattern? I'm making this out of a sheer fabric that will require a lining and I'm debating how to do this. . . .
3/17/08 2:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

New Look 6909

photo
by: Sixtiesgir...

Review
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 501 Pattern

Petite Plus 501 Pattern

Buy Now