Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7302 thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 1289 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Nan
photo
About Nanstarstar
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 36
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 37 people
patterns reviewed: 31
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/23/02 1:23 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kitty said...
That is a lovely combination !! Where does the skirt hit you in the leg? Is it knee length or longer and is it easily alterable for length?
12/23/02 2:39 AM
starlene said...
Nice job Nan, I also like your gold denim pant suit.
12/23/02 3:01 AM
Nan said...
Kitty, it is just at/slightly below the knee. Arlene, thanks. I don't intend to wear these pieces together--I think head to toe gold denim is a bit too Hollywood for me. But I love the fabric, so I made both pieces to wear with other separates. Nan
12/23/02 3:11 AM
Dale C said...
Nice! and so are the new additions to your photo album.
12/23/02 6:24 AM
katharin said...
A very nice skirt! I like your whole wardrobe!
12/23/02 7:01 AM
Rhonda Noah said...
Absolutely gorgeous! Boy, you have a designer's eye for picking patterns and fabric for the perfect marriage. Wonderful results in your sewing, too. I love this skirt!
12/23/02 8:12 AM
mudcat said...
Nan, the outfit is lovely. I like the fabric you used for the top.
12/23/02 10:06 AM
Sew Jane said...
Wow! wonderful results from what sounds like "Indiana Jones" type sewing! Thanks for all the tips. Do you have any hints for sewing on silk chiffon (someday I'd like to work up the courage to try it)?
12/23/02 10:13 AM
Deepika said...
Nan, I love this outfit. You are such an inspiration!
12/23/02 10:21 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Wow! Absolutely gorgeous!
12/23/02 11:39 AM
KiminMD said...
Nan, This came out really really great. I'm sure it will look lovely on you.
12/23/02 1:37 PM
Nan said...
Thanks guys. I wore it Sat night (yes, I sewed up to the very last minute!! my oldest friend was at the party and was wise to my ways, knew I had just finished it...the men seemed to like this outfit too--usually they just don't notice as we've discussed.) I've reviewed the top before (Vogue 9772). Its a great pattern--has a camisole and this bias tank. I used the chiffon to bind the armhole and neck edges. Jane, silk chiffon isn't that bad if you just slow down. I ignored my sewing machine "advisor" which wanted to use a very small stitch--instead sewed w/ 2.5-3.0 mm stitch lengths. Smaller needles--quilting or microtex 70 or 75 are best w/ this fabric. I did not use silk thread, just a metrosene. I did not find it too slippery to cut, as long as you use weights (I'd hate to mess w/ this with scissors). If you use the fusible tape, use the lightweight version. Merry to all Nan
12/23/02 7:09 PM
Sew Jane said...
Thanks for the tips Nan!
12/24/02 11:30 PM
Ann Smith said...
Nan, your wardrobe is fabulous. Such incredible fabrics. I made just the view A of Vogue 9772 but now that I see yours I will have to make it again along with view B in a sheer.
1/2/03 3:40 AM
Nan said...
Ann, I've made both of these views in wovens of various weights. View A can be wonderful in a duppioni; I made one in white with just a very small embroidery stitch along the neck edge; its great with the right jeans for a summer party...The version w/ this skirt was a wool tweed w/ metallic threads. I've made it in silk charmeuse several times; and cottons--probably at least 8 times total. Can't wait to see your new versions!
1/2/03 3:57 AM
Julia Graham said...
Nan, your Vogue 9988 is GORGEOUS!! I am so impressed. I can't find it on Vogue's web-site, but even so I'd be interested to learn more about it if you ever choose to review that pattern...
1/3/03 12:36 PM
Nan said...
Julia, thanks for the nice words. I made this last year, I had included it in the album as an example of embellishment. As I recall, I made the dress pretty much according to the pattern. The trim is a rayon seam binding (black) which I found in NYC; I used hemstitching and a feather stitch as further embellishment. If you make the dress check the placement of the holes for the wrap around ties to be sure they hit you right. Nan
1/3/03 2:13 PM
MilongueraThreads said...
Did you draft a lining pattern for this or use a different pattern? I'm making this out of a sheer fabric that will require a lining and I'm debating how to do this. . . .
3/17/08 2:05 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Simplicity 2951
photo
Review by amiaow on 2/26/10
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3979 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3979 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6214 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6214 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2921
photo
Review by dorothyn on 2/1/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 201 Pattern
Petite Plus 201 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us