Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5242 (Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 769 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:mehitabel
photo
About mehitabelstar
TX USA
Member since: 10/3/06
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/8/07 10:57 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KrystalL said...
I am really loving this jacket! I like the orchid facing on the color. It really pops. I'm in the process of constructing a similar jacket--McCall's 5176. And Hancock's does have some really fabric in the clearance section. Some of my favorite outfits were from on-sale fabric at Hancock's.
2/8/07 11:13 AM
moushka said...
Stunning! I purchased this pattern as soon as I saw it, even though it's a bit OTT for my age, because it's just sooooo feminine and pretty. Your version looks lovely - the orchid silk is a perfect complement to the neutral wool. Thanks for the review. Sue
2/8/07 11:16 AM
Pinkytoo said...
GORGEOUS!!!! (insert drooling emoticon here) I love it, great job!
2/8/07 11:31 AM
rosannec said...
What a *gorgeous* little jacket! The combination of gray and orchid are fantastic. I love it and immediately want one for myself. I think this would pair wonderfully with a fitted sheath dress or wiggle skirt that's high-waisted and a crisp white blouse. How will you wear it?
2/8/07 12:16 PM
Tany said...
Stunning! Beautiful Jacket!
2/8/07 4:01 PM
Linda G said...
Looks like it came from an expensive ready made boutique.
2/8/07 6:31 PM
mehitabel said...
Thanks for all the kind comments! Roseanne--I DID try a wiggle-type skirt with inverted pleats (I lined the pleats with the same orchid silk). It turned out beautifully, but guess what? My behind was just a bit too obvious. *grumble* So I'm still mulling over what kind of skirt to try. Thanks again, all!
2/8/07 9:13 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Ooh, even nicer than the boucle jacket - well done! Did you topstitch in purple metalic thread as well?
2/9/07 1:43 AM
ryan's mom said...
Beautiful! I only wish I had a tiny waist and could wear a jacket like that :) .
2/9/07 7:16 AM
Jacqui315 said...
Beautiful!!! I think it has that retro 30's look.
2/9/07 10:19 AM
Annika said...
Yowsir! How fabulous!
2/9/07 2:06 PM
OP Gal said...
Gorgeous jacket. That orchid silk lining is beautiful.
2/9/07 10:59 PM
LiZ said...
Gorgeous jacket.
2/10/07 2:32 PM
Ciclista said...
How did I miss this pattern??? Your jacket is awesome!!! I'm stopping by JoAnns this afternoon to buy this pattern.
2/14/07 9:23 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

McCall's 6120
photo
Review by Sue Parrot... on 9/4/11
Read Review

Salme Peplum Top Digital Pattern
Salme Peplum Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Briar Sweater & T-shirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Briar Sweater & T-shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paco Peralta Chinese Jacket Chinese Jacket
photo
Review by marthamyer... on 1/24/13
Read Review

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)
Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3801 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3801 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6539 Pattern ( Size NBN-SML-MED-LRG-XLG )
McCalls 6539 Pattern ( Size NBN-SML-MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us