SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5242 (Jacket)

6 more reviews
Viewed 769 times 
Reviewed by:mehitabel
photo

 
 
About mehitabelstar
TX USA
Member since: 10/3/06
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/8/07 10:57 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KrystalL said...
I am really loving this jacket! I like the orchid facing on the color. It really pops. I'm in the process of constructing a similar jacket--McCall's 5176. And Hancock's does have some really fabric in the clearance section. Some of my favorite outfits were from on-sale fabric at Hancock's.
2/8/07 11:13 AM
moushka said...
Stunning! I purchased this pattern as soon as I saw it, even though it's a bit OTT for my age, because it's just sooooo feminine and pretty. Your version looks lovely - the orchid silk is a perfect complement to the neutral wool. Thanks for the review. Sue
2/8/07 11:16 AM
Pinkytoo said...
GORGEOUS!!!! (insert drooling emoticon here) I love it, great job!
2/8/07 11:31 AM
rosannec said...
What a *gorgeous* little jacket! The combination of gray and orchid are fantastic. I love it and immediately want one for myself. I think this would pair wonderfully with a fitted sheath dress or wiggle skirt that's high-waisted and a crisp white blouse. How will you wear it?
2/8/07 12:16 PM
Tany said...
Stunning! Beautiful Jacket!
2/8/07 4:01 PM
Linda G said...
Looks like it came from an expensive ready made boutique.
2/8/07 6:31 PM
mehitabel said...
Thanks for all the kind comments! Roseanne--I DID try a wiggle-type skirt with inverted pleats (I lined the pleats with the same orchid silk). It turned out beautifully, but guess what? My behind was just a bit too obvious. *grumble* So I'm still mulling over what kind of skirt to try. Thanks again, all!
2/8/07 9:13 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Ooh, even nicer than the boucle jacket - well done! Did you topstitch in purple metalic thread as well?
2/9/07 1:43 AM
ryan's mom said...
Beautiful! I only wish I had a tiny waist and could wear a jacket like that :) .
2/9/07 7:16 AM
Jacqui315 said...
Beautiful!!! I think it has that retro 30's look.
2/9/07 10:19 AM
Annika said...
Yowsir! How fabulous!
2/9/07 2:06 PM
OP Gal said...
Gorgeous jacket. That orchid silk lining is beautiful.
2/9/07 10:59 PM
LiZ said...
Gorgeous jacket.
2/10/07 2:32 PM
Ciclista said...
How did I miss this pattern??? Your jacket is awesome!!! I'm stopping by JoAnns this afternoon to buy this pattern.
2/14/07 9:23 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-104

photo
by: MissCelie

Review
Take-Along Bags

Take-Along Bags

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Buy Now