SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Suitability> 2600 (Riding Chaps)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1350 times 
Reviewed by:PrairieTides
photo

 
 
About PrairieTidesstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 1/25/03
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/8/07 10:31 PM
Last Updated:2/9/07 10:30 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ber said...
i am looking for a chaps pattern essentially
11/25/07 9:18 AM
sewcrazee said...
Hi I tried this pattern and had the same thing the zip swings around by the ankle ..just move it over it will be fine.....I tried the Jean Hardy one to wasnt any better for fit....now I just copy off my store bought ones and make all my own show chaps and work chaps....your ultrasuede looks nice best thing about it for western show chaps they can be washed.....and they are cooler...try some pigsuede and also Wazoodle sells decent hides at a nice weight around 3oz cowhides.....nice job and great to have a fellow horse seamstress on the site....Chris
2/21/07 7:00 PM
AnneM said...
Congrats on making these! And what a perfect fabric to try the pattern out with. Now that you have made them, you can always tweak the style a bit if you don't like how they ride. Fashion Fabric Club sells ultrasuede for a resonable price. They no longer have it labelled as ultrasuede due to a directive from the manufacturer, according to a note postedon their website back a while ago. But it might be worth checking them out if you go to make another pair. (I have not bought the ultrasuede myself.)
2/19/07 11:12 AM
Lhan said...
This is one of the more unusual items I have seen on PR - and all sorts of things turn up here. I didn't even know you could get a pattern for chaps, so was very interested to read your review - although I don't ride and would be unlikely to use chaps even if I did. But good on you, as we say in the Antipodes!
2/9/07 10:51 PM
PrairieTides said...
Thanks for all the great comments!

Carla: this is my first Ultrasuede experience, so I don't know how it wears. It is not as tough as leather however.

Seamingly Simple: Thanks so much for the Linda's website. Ouch! $99.99/m! Ultrasuede is even more expensive than I thought.

Kismet007: Thanks for your comment. I can easily remove the zippers and tighten up the legs if they feel too loose. I think they will be too loose, but I want to see how they feel to ride in before I start trimming them down. At this point, I'm more worried that they will be too small than too big.

Ody: Good idea, thanks! I just joined the contest.
2/9/07 10:19 PM
Ody said...
Why don't you enter these into the stash reduction contest??? They are really cool and it would add to the yardage. Nice job and very interesting review.
2/9/07 11:01 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Very cool! I hope they work out as nice as they look.
2/9/07 10:43 AM
suzanrossi said...
Thanks for the reveiw. You point out nicely how important fit AND functionality (is that a word?) are for this type of sewing. I've sewn some "show" clothing for my daughter using Suitability but never attempted the chaps. Those patterns must assume you're going to chop the h--- out of them! I'd love to see the Western chaps when you've got your breath back!
2/9/07 10:15 AM
moss said...
That is really really cool. :) I hope the fit works out for you. You are so brave to cut into that fabric, I know the "hold your breath" feeling that takes. Good luck, hope you review the fringed ones.
2/9/07 7:50 AM
kismet007 said...
They look really nice. I am tall and skinny and store bought chaps never fit me right. I like mine TIGHT because they stretch with wearing. I used to wear them in the summer with cut-offs. I have often thought of having some custom made so this is a good idea.
2/9/07 6:57 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Great job! Maybe the straps were supposed to go around the horse, too (just kidding). You can buy ultrasuede and/or find out more about it from Linda's in Ontario.
2/8/07 11:21 PM
CSM--Carla said...
WOW! This is a really pretty and even SEXY pair of chaps!! Beautiful Job. Thanks for this review and info about working with Ultrasuede--very helpful. Wear them with pride!! Carla PS is Ultrasuede tough and does it wear as well as leather? TYIA
2/8/07 10:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Simplicity 9843 OOP

photo
by: SheBear032...

Review
Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Buy Now