Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Suitability: 2600 (Riding Chaps) - Type:Other    printable version
Viewed 1347 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:PrairieTides
photo
About PrairieTidesstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 1/25/03
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/8/07 10:31 PM
Last Updated:2/9/07 10:30 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CSM--Carla said...
WOW! This is a really pretty and even SEXY pair of chaps!! Beautiful Job. Thanks for this review and info about working with Ultrasuede--very helpful. Wear them with pride!! Carla PS is Ultrasuede tough and does it wear as well as leather? TYIA
2/8/07 10:41 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
Great job! Maybe the straps were supposed to go around the horse, too (just kidding). You can buy ultrasuede and/or find out more about it from Linda's in Ontario.
2/8/07 11:21 PM
kismet007 said...
They look really nice. I am tall and skinny and store bought chaps never fit me right. I like mine TIGHT because they stretch with wearing. I used to wear them in the summer with cut-offs. I have often thought of having some custom made so this is a good idea.
2/9/07 6:57 AM
moss said...
That is really really cool. :) I hope the fit works out for you. You are so brave to cut into that fabric, I know the "hold your breath" feeling that takes. Good luck, hope you review the fringed ones.
2/9/07 7:50 AM
suzanrossi said...
Thanks for the reveiw. You point out nicely how important fit AND functionality (is that a word?) are for this type of sewing. I've sewn some "show" clothing for my daughter using Suitability but never attempted the chaps. Those patterns must assume you're going to chop the h--- out of them! I'd love to see the Western chaps when you've got your breath back!
2/9/07 10:15 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Very cool! I hope they work out as nice as they look.
2/9/07 10:43 AM
Ody said...
Why don't you enter these into the stash reduction contest??? They are really cool and it would add to the yardage. Nice job and very interesting review.
2/9/07 11:01 AM
PrairieTides said...
Thanks for all the great comments!

Carla: this is my first Ultrasuede experience, so I don't know how it wears. It is not as tough as leather however.

Seamingly Simple: Thanks so much for the Linda's website. Ouch! $99.99/m! Ultrasuede is even more expensive than I thought.

Kismet007: Thanks for your comment. I can easily remove the zippers and tighten up the legs if they feel too loose. I think they will be too loose, but I want to see how they feel to ride in before I start trimming them down. At this point, I'm more worried that they will be too small than too big.

Ody: Good idea, thanks! I just joined the contest.
2/9/07 10:19 PM
Lhan said...
This is one of the more unusual items I have seen on PR - and all sorts of things turn up here. I didn't even know you could get a pattern for chaps, so was very interested to read your review - although I don't ride and would be unlikely to use chaps even if I did. But good on you, as we say in the Antipodes!
2/9/07 10:51 PM
AnneM said...
Congrats on making these! And what a perfect fabric to try the pattern out with. Now that you have made them, you can always tweak the style a bit if you don't like how they ride. Fashion Fabric Club sells ultrasuede for a resonable price. They no longer have it labelled as ultrasuede due to a directive from the manufacturer, according to a note postedon their website back a while ago. But it might be worth checking them out if you go to make another pair. (I have not bought the ultrasuede myself.)
2/19/07 11:12 AM
sewcrazee said...
Hi I tried this pattern and had the same thing the zip swings around by the ankle ..just move it over it will be fine.....I tried the Jean Hardy one to wasnt any better for fit....now I just copy off my store bought ones and make all my own show chaps and work chaps....your ultrasuede looks nice best thing about it for western show chaps they can be washed.....and they are cooler...try some pigsuede and also Wazoodle sells decent hides at a nice weight around 3oz cowhides.....nice job and great to have a fellow horse seamstress on the site....Chris
2/21/07 7:00 PM
Ber said...
i am looking for a chaps pattern essentially
11/25/07 9:18 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 8473
photo
Review by AmyLT on 3/1/11
Read Review

Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at a copy shop)
Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at a copy shop)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Bib Top Digital Pattern
Salme Bib Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns 1103 Minoru Jacket
photo
Review by Mia007 on 5/28/12
Read Review

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7091 Pattern
Burda 7091 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6186 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6186 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us