Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Textile Studio: 1201 (Basic Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2971 times 17 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Mini
photo
About Ministarstarstarstar
WI USA
Member since: 3/21/02
Reviews written: 115
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/5/02 7:07 PM
Last Updated:7/23/03 10:05 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
I want to order some more of Loes' patterns and was unsure about this one. Thanks for reviewing it, it sounds like a nice top.
1/5/02 11:01 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I've made this one, too, and agree with Mini that it's surprising that this simple, undarted pattern can fit large-busted women. Mini is right that these shoulders are w-i-d-e. I'm still trying to fine-tune this pattern, adjusting for my large bust and narrow shoulders, but this design is worth working on. Because of its simplicity, fabric choice is important. The fabric makes or breaks the finished garment, so once you are sure your pattern fits, use something luxurious-looking and you'll have a top that would cost a fortune in the designer departments.
1/6/02 10:01 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
This review does a great deal to gives you enough information to judge
1/11/02 7:53 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Oops on the comment that obviously got away from me(above)....Mini, you did a fine job on giving the details that matter on this pattern. Thanks for the help, I think I'll try it and wouldn't have without your recommendation.
1/11/02 7:58 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I made this pattern last year - although I will admit I didn't pay as much attention to body measurements (that was BSW - before sewing world) although I did like the pattern I know I would have loved it with sizing attention ( before sewing world I tended to cut a medium always and have now learned to cut between M / L with the independant patterns - I will make it again after reading this rewiew. Thanks
1/15/02 1:00 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
If this pattern works well for large-busted women i wonder how it'll work for those of us who are average...
1/28/02 0:24 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I just rec'd my pattern...after reading the review, I am very anxious to cut and start sewing. I have narrow shoulders so I am glad to have a "heads up". Thanks to the Mini and her review and everyone who left helpful comments.
1/31/02 11:59 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I didn't find that this pattern fit my bust well, but granted, I'm a DD. I'm still trying to figure out how to add some ease in the bust area, without totally changing the pattern's shape. If anyone has been sucessful with this, I'd love to hear about it.
3/15/02 4:29 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I really like your shirt I think I may have to try sometime. You gave a very detail review with a lot of information thanks,
5/5/02 6:43 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I also liked this pattern. My only problem was that the sleeves were more snug than I like. I've made two tops; one a luxurious chenille knit and the other a cotton knit. The neck fits well and is an attractive cut.
7/17/02 9:55 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I just finished using this pattern for the first time today. I was very pleased with how well the cap sleeve top fit. I plan on making many more tops from this pattern.
7/24/02 2:50 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
missy d said...
I agree with Stephanie, the long sleeves are snug. Also, I find the shoulders too broad and I am very wide shouldered. But I finessed the fitting with an inexpensive cotton knit that ultimately fit a friend. I've made one on a serger and a sewing machine and been happy with both results. For very drapey knits (like rayon or nylon) I cut the torso down a size so as not to droop. This is a great, easy, fast and good looking top.
1/16/03 1:59 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Mini, I really love the fabric you chose for the Basic Top - what a great outfit.
1/16/03 6:02 PM
Dale C said...
I ended up looking through all your pics. Wonderful stuff! I'm glad you're still doing some of these reviews, they're so informative. And I just had a thought about those D sized patterns... Maybe you should create a line of patterns Mini, I love your work!
1/18/03 6:34 PM
TarheelSewer said...
Mini, I agree about the neck being snug. I used a small in the neck and shoulders and could not get it over my head.
7/23/03 10:57 PM
Lou. said...
Mini your reviews are so detailed, makes me feel lazy about my reviews :-) Love the fabric for your top. I think I might have to start 'investing' in Loes Hinse patterns myself!
7/24/03 9:39 AM
AnneM said...
Ok, I'm going in! I'm going to make this pattern, & have read & re-read your review. My figure is very different than yours, but you have so much good information in your review it is very helpful. I'm aiming towards both woven & knit versions. I'm thinking this might be good in a bias cut woven; have you tried that?
6/10/07 8:29 PM
FreyaStark said...
Thanks for a thorough and comprehensive review. I feel I don't need to read any others, and I'm looking forward to trying this pattern myself.
7/11/11 5:25 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Simplicity 2925
photo
Review by Lisa Davis... on 3/21/10
Read Review

NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King
NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Dixie DIY Ballet Dress
Dixie DIY Ballet Dress

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Kimono Top Digital Pattern
Salme Kimono Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2788
photo
Review by Twinset on 11/30/08
Read Review

Vogue 8584 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8584 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6740 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
McCalls 6740 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us