Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3956 (6 Easy Tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1174 times 22 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:LauraAnn12
photo
About LauraAnn12
Member since: 6/14/06
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/9/07 7:45 PM


See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
hat-and-bag-lady said...
Thank you for the review. This one caught my eye because it mentioned Threads Magazine.
2/9/07 7:50 PM
LauraAnn12 said...
oopsies~ one of those copy and paste issues~ :) Took off the Threads Magazine title! Thanks!
2/9/07 7:59 PM
LauraAnn12 said...

2/9/07 8:10 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I think this looks fabulous on you. Every time I sew something I learn something new also. Great fabric.
2/9/07 8:20 PM
Chris Kelly said...
I think it looks awsome on you!!! Great job!
2/9/07 8:33 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Looks great on you. Your fix for the gaping is perfectly ok! If it works for you, keep doing it.
2/9/07 9:24 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful!!
2/9/07 9:24 PM
Elemenopeo said...
I think you look great in it. It's really stylish and fits you well.
2/9/07 9:39 PM
Lhan said...
This top looks gorgeous! I think it looks great on you as well, although the photo is possibly a bit dark to tell. I had an 'aha' moment reading your review, because I have a sarong which has a lovely border pattern which I have been wondering what to do with. You have inspired me.
2/9/07 10:29 PM
Gilraen Surion said...
I love it!
2/9/07 11:45 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Very pretty blouse and it looks wonderful on you.
2/10/07 1:31 AM
RuthieSews said...
Absolutely lovely. I also can't believe you are an 18 but that's an aside. What is the fitting like for the top of the sleeves in the bicep area? I struglle and find this too tight in some similar styles.
2/10/07 5:23 AM
Gold said...
I am in the middle of making the same shirt. I just love how your shirt turned out
2/10/07 9:08 AM
Sherril Miller said...
You look fantastic in that top. That sari was perfect for this lovely pattern.
2/10/07 9:57 AM
Annika said...
I think you look both cute and gorgeous in the top! I too cannot believe it is a size 18! Fantastic job, great color and fabric choice.
2/10/07 10:57 AM
Em's Summer said...
What a cute top! I love that this is colorful! It looks waay better than the pic on the pattern! Great job!
2/10/07 2:18 PM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful top. Very ingenious use of the sari fabric.
2/10/07 2:35 PM
ryan's mom said...
Lovely! The fabric gives the top an ethereal look too.
2/11/07 8:12 AM
LauraAnn12 said...
Thank you all for your comments! Wow!to RuthieK - If you usually have trouble with the bicep area in sleeves of shirts like this, these sleeves may be a little different and perfect for you~ the sleeves don't bell out dramatically, and start to widen right from the shoulder, not the elbow like a lot of belled sleeves I see. Might be worth a try if you haven't made this one already! :)
2/11/07 4:48 PM
artist1lisa said...
Beautiful top.It looks lovely on you.Well done.
2/11/07 7:27 PM
cathy45 said...
Great top! Love it on you. Great idea on the zipper/seam issue. I think its really cool that its a recycled sari--the top's style retains that flavor.
2/13/07 9:47 AM
AnneM said...
This is a very nice style. And I think it looks good on you - curvy is good.
2/19/07 12:57 PM
pinkli said...
I think it looks great on you : ) Thanks for the tip about making tops that don't gap - so logical! And for what it's worth, I reckon it would be wicked to wear sari's - such beautiful fabric!
4/24/08 7:45 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 2864
photo
Review by GoodbyeVal... on 6/26/13
Read Review

Oliver + S After-School Shirt + Pants Digital Pattern (6M-4)
Oliver + S After-School Shirt + Pants Digital Pattern (6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Jenny Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Jenny Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 7872
photo
Review by Lhan on 4/28/06
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1543 Pattern ( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )
Simplicity 1543 Pattern ( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5872 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 5872 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us