SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3956 (6 Easy Tops)

23 more reviews
Viewed 1176 times 
Reviewed by:LauraAnn12
photo

 
 
About LauraAnn12
Member since: 6/14/06
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/9/07 7:45 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
hat-and-bag-lady said...
Thank you for the review. This one caught my eye because it mentioned Threads Magazine.
2/9/07 7:50 PM
LauraAnn12 said...
oopsies~ one of those copy and paste issues~ :) Took off the Threads Magazine title! Thanks!
2/9/07 7:59 PM
LauraAnn12 said...

2/9/07 8:10 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I think this looks fabulous on you. Every time I sew something I learn something new also. Great fabric.
2/9/07 8:20 PM
Chris Kelly said...
I think it looks awsome on you!!! Great job!
2/9/07 8:33 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Looks great on you. Your fix for the gaping is perfectly ok! If it works for you, keep doing it.
2/9/07 9:24 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful!!
2/9/07 9:24 PM
Elemenopeo said...
I think you look great in it. It's really stylish and fits you well.
2/9/07 9:39 PM
Lhan said...
This top looks gorgeous! I think it looks great on you as well, although the photo is possibly a bit dark to tell. I had an 'aha' moment reading your review, because I have a sarong which has a lovely border pattern which I have been wondering what to do with. You have inspired me.
2/9/07 10:29 PM
Gilraen Surion said...
I love it!
2/9/07 11:45 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Very pretty blouse and it looks wonderful on you.
2/10/07 1:31 AM
RuthieSews said...
Absolutely lovely. I also can't believe you are an 18 but that's an aside. What is the fitting like for the top of the sleeves in the bicep area? I struglle and find this too tight in some similar styles.
2/10/07 5:23 AM
Gold said...
I am in the middle of making the same shirt. I just love how your shirt turned out
2/10/07 9:08 AM
Sherril Miller said...
You look fantastic in that top. That sari was perfect for this lovely pattern.
2/10/07 9:57 AM
Annika said...
I think you look both cute and gorgeous in the top! I too cannot believe it is a size 18! Fantastic job, great color and fabric choice.
2/10/07 10:57 AM
Em's Summer said...
What a cute top! I love that this is colorful! It looks waay better than the pic on the pattern! Great job!
2/10/07 2:18 PM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful top. Very ingenious use of the sari fabric.
2/10/07 2:35 PM
ryan's mom said...
Lovely! The fabric gives the top an ethereal look too.
2/11/07 8:12 AM
LauraAnn12 said...
Thank you all for your comments! Wow!to RuthieK - If you usually have trouble with the bicep area in sleeves of shirts like this, these sleeves may be a little different and perfect for you~ the sleeves don't bell out dramatically, and start to widen right from the shoulder, not the elbow like a lot of belled sleeves I see. Might be worth a try if you haven't made this one already! :)
2/11/07 4:48 PM
artist1lisa said...
Beautiful top.It looks lovely on you.Well done.
2/11/07 7:27 PM
cathy45 said...
Great top! Love it on you. Great idea on the zipper/seam issue. I think its really cool that its a recycled sari--the top's style retains that flavor.
2/13/07 9:47 AM
AnneM said...
This is a very nice style. And I think it looks good on you - curvy is good.
2/19/07 12:57 PM
pinkli said...
I think it looks great on you : ) Thanks for the tip about making tops that don't gap - so logical! And for what it's worth, I reckon it would be wicked to wear sari's - such beautiful fabric!
4/24/08 7:45 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Simplicity 4698

photo
by: princessju...

Review
Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 9784

photo
by: koffeegyps...

Review