SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3956 (6 Easy Tops)

23 more reviews
Viewed 1179 times 
Reviewed by:LauraAnn12
photo

 
 
About LauraAnn12
Member since: 6/14/06
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/9/07 7:45 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pinkli said...
I think it looks great on you : ) Thanks for the tip about making tops that don't gap - so logical! And for what it's worth, I reckon it would be wicked to wear sari's - such beautiful fabric!
4/24/08 7:45 AM
AnneM said...
This is a very nice style. And I think it looks good on you - curvy is good.
2/19/07 12:57 PM
cathy45 said...
Great top! Love it on you. Great idea on the zipper/seam issue. I think its really cool that its a recycled sari--the top's style retains that flavor.
2/13/07 9:47 AM
artist1lisa said...
Beautiful top.It looks lovely on you.Well done.
2/11/07 7:27 PM
LauraAnn12 said...
Thank you all for your comments! Wow!to RuthieK - If you usually have trouble with the bicep area in sleeves of shirts like this, these sleeves may be a little different and perfect for you~ the sleeves don't bell out dramatically, and start to widen right from the shoulder, not the elbow like a lot of belled sleeves I see. Might be worth a try if you haven't made this one already! :)
2/11/07 4:48 PM
ryan's mom said...
Lovely! The fabric gives the top an ethereal look too.
2/11/07 8:12 AM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful top. Very ingenious use of the sari fabric.
2/10/07 2:35 PM
Em's Summer said...
What a cute top! I love that this is colorful! It looks waay better than the pic on the pattern! Great job!
2/10/07 2:18 PM
Annika said...
I think you look both cute and gorgeous in the top! I too cannot believe it is a size 18! Fantastic job, great color and fabric choice.
2/10/07 10:57 AM
Sherril Miller said...
You look fantastic in that top. That sari was perfect for this lovely pattern.
2/10/07 9:57 AM
Gold said...
I am in the middle of making the same shirt. I just love how your shirt turned out
2/10/07 9:08 AM
RuthieSews said...
Absolutely lovely. I also can't believe you are an 18 but that's an aside. What is the fitting like for the top of the sleeves in the bicep area? I struglle and find this too tight in some similar styles.
2/10/07 5:23 AM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Very pretty blouse and it looks wonderful on you.
2/10/07 1:31 AM
Gilraen Surion said...
I love it!
2/9/07 11:45 PM
Lhan said...
This top looks gorgeous! I think it looks great on you as well, although the photo is possibly a bit dark to tell. I had an 'aha' moment reading your review, because I have a sarong which has a lovely border pattern which I have been wondering what to do with. You have inspired me.
2/9/07 10:29 PM
Elemenopeo said...
I think you look great in it. It's really stylish and fits you well.
2/9/07 9:39 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful!!
2/9/07 9:24 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Looks great on you. Your fix for the gaping is perfectly ok! If it works for you, keep doing it.
2/9/07 9:24 PM
Chris Kelly said...
I think it looks awsome on you!!! Great job!
2/9/07 8:33 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I think this looks fabulous on you. Every time I sew something I learn something new also. Great fabric.
2/9/07 8:20 PM
LauraAnn12 said...

2/9/07 8:10 PM
LauraAnn12 said...
oopsies~ one of those copy and paste issues~ :) Took off the Threads Magazine title! Thanks!
2/9/07 7:59 PM
hat-and-bag-lady said...
Thank you for the review. This one caught my eye because it mentioned Threads Magazine.
2/9/07 7:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

McCall's 5974

photo
by: sarah121ha...

Review
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Buy Now
De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2013-135

photo
by: Heatherriq...

Review