Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 12-2006-107 (Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1007 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Jodi B.
photo
Friend of PR
About Jodi B.star
SK CANADA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 29
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/9/07 9:52 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mary in FL said...
I think you did a great job! I really like how you shaped the neckline. Hint: hem the sleeves "on the flat" before you sew the underarm seam or even before you attach them.
2/9/07 10:03 PM
Riordan said...
Very pretty--looks great on you! Your fabric is gorgeous!
2/9/07 10:10 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
That is a great looking top. I love the neckline. It's very flattering on you.
2/9/07 10:23 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
Very flattering top!!! I had discarded the idea of making this as sadly I now *need* a bra... but this is a great idea (the buinding). Your bra doesn't show at all..?
2/9/07 11:48 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Wow, nice top. It really, really suits you!
2/10/07 1:51 AM
Shelia in Alaska said...
That's an awesome top. You did a wonderful job and it looks so-o-oo good on you. It makes me want to run out and get this magazine just to make this top. Great Job!
2/10/07 1:55 AM
blue mooney said...
looks great on you, Jodi!
2/10/07 7:24 AM
Nancy K said...
I have been looking at this top, thanks for the review. It looks good on you.
2/10/07 8:22 AM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful stylish top ! Thanks for a very helpful review.
2/10/07 8:52 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Very RTW. I love the neckline, it's so flattering on you.
2/10/07 9:47 AM
beangirl said...
Wow, you look great in this top! Really nice!
2/10/07 10:18 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Very pretty top, well done.
2/10/07 11:06 AM
giblet said...
beautiful work..it's very flattering and I love your fabric choice
2/10/07 12:10 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Lovely top. Great idea re the binding. I want to try it too.
2/10/07 12:32 PM
Em's Summer said...
This is an amazing top! You picked beautiful fabric for this!
2/10/07 2:13 PM
OP Gal said...
Pretty top--and it fits you beautifully
2/10/07 2:27 PM
ndesimon said...
faboooooo! I'm seriously coveting this pattern now. Thanks for the fitting notes, I'll follow 'em to the letter.
2/10/07 3:53 PM
ryan's mom said...
What a beautiful top! The neckline style looks lovely on you too!! So flattering.
2/11/07 8:18 AM
Jodi B. said...
Thanks for your comments. I really enjoyed wearing this top. mary in FL, thanks for the tip. I'll have to remember that for next time. Evatgirl73, the banding added enough that my bra straps don't show at all. I normally have the same issue with this sort of neckline, so it was a pleasant surprise.
2/11/07 8:43 AM
Karen6790 said...
Jodi, I love this in your fabric, and I like that you shaped the band. With all the "flash potential" this top has, every litle bit helps - plus it's a great way to hide the very necessary bra straps. I love my top, too, but next time I'm going to go for a slightly heavier knit and see if I get any better control. Great job on this.
2/11/07 1:56 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Look at you and all your fabulousness! What a pretty top. Thanks for all the detailed notes. They'll definitely be helpful when this pattern makes it to the top of the to-do list.
2/12/07 12:00 PM
ChristineX said...
Love it! It is on my list of tops to make. I really love how it looks on you, and the print is wonderful. Thanks for the review!!
3/22/07 9:04 PM
Sara The Slayer said...
Very romantic on you! Seems like everyone is raising the neckline on this one.
2/7/08 0:52 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Simplicity 3725
photo
Review by LauraM1942 on 3/21/08
Read Review

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern
Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Flat Cap Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Flat Cap Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern
Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2935 Men's Shirt
photo
Review by Irene Q on 6/2/07
Read Review

Vogue 8727 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8727 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7251 Pattern
Burda 7251 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us