Online Sewing Class: Put it on the Bias
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 3663 (Renaissance maiden costumes)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1437 times 
Reviewed by:Dale C
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Dale Cstarstarstar
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews: 165 (patterns: 138)
Body Type:
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 52 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:19 AM
Last Updated:12/25/02 10:38 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Julia Graham said... (3/16/03 8:14 PM) Reply
Dale, I bought this pattern today based on the loveliness of your picture. I would _never_ have looked twice at it in the pattern book, from that photo! You can tell what cheap fabrics and minimal construction they used on the samples. But yours is gorgeous. Thanks for the insights, especially about fit and horsehair braid.
Trey said... (12/26/02 7:10 PM) Reply
you have provided a great idea and review, I will have to take my daughter's favorite custome pattern and give it a try. Wonderful dress!
GorgeousFabrics said... (12/26/02 5:20 PM) Reply
Dale, the dress is lovely. I had never given thought to using costume patterns for formalwear, but I'll keep an eye on them for future use! -Ann
Dale C said... (12/26/02 8:50 AM) Reply
Thanks. Arlene, someday soon I'll try to get her to put it on for a pic, but she's reluctant. I might have to wait till the next concert. It fits great though. Rusti, I rotated the sleeve back by repositioning the whole sleeve. The center cap marking on the sleeve piece was shifted about 1" back. This also shifts the whole sleeve and the rest of the markings will also be moved back as well. I hope that makes sense. You can find this info in a most good pattern alteration books.
Kitty said... (12/26/02 3:36 AM) Reply
These are the style of dresses I wear day to day, a bit gothic for Americans I imagine. I will look for this pattern and take your advice. Thanks !!
Rusti said... (12/26/02 1:30 AM) Reply
Dale, this is a fabulous garment!! Congratulations and thank you for the wonderful review. It is a great and wearable gown. Could you give more information about "rotating the sleeve back"? Thanks.
starlene said... (12/26/02 0:26 AM) Reply
Merry Christmas Dale! Very nice, any chance of a picture with your daughter wearing it?
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Merchant & Mills Top 64

photo
by: Kate 88

Review
Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Pattern Details
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Petite Plus V202 VHS

Pattern Details