SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 3663 (Renaissance maiden costumes)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1437 times 
Reviewed by:Dale C
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Dale Cstarstarstar
HI USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews: 165 (patterns: 138)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 51 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:19 AM
Last Updated:12/25/02 10:38 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Julia Graham said... (3/16/03 8:14 PM) Reply
Dale, I bought this pattern today based on the loveliness of your picture. I would _never_ have looked twice at it in the pattern book, from that photo! You can tell what cheap fabrics and minimal construction they used on the samples. But yours is gorgeous. Thanks for the insights, especially about fit and horsehair braid.
Trey said... (12/26/02 7:10 PM) Reply
you have provided a great idea and review, I will have to take my daughter's favorite custome pattern and give it a try. Wonderful dress!
GorgeousFabrics said... (12/26/02 5:20 PM) Reply
Dale, the dress is lovely. I had never given thought to using costume patterns for formalwear, but I'll keep an eye on them for future use! -Ann
Dale C said... (12/26/02 8:50 AM) Reply
Thanks. Arlene, someday soon I'll try to get her to put it on for a pic, but she's reluctant. I might have to wait till the next concert. It fits great though. Rusti, I rotated the sleeve back by repositioning the whole sleeve. The center cap marking on the sleeve piece was shifted about 1" back. This also shifts the whole sleeve and the rest of the markings will also be moved back as well. I hope that makes sense. You can find this info in a most good pattern alteration books.
Kitty said... (12/26/02 3:36 AM) Reply
These are the style of dresses I wear day to day, a bit gothic for Americans I imagine. I will look for this pattern and take your advice. Thanks !!
Rusti said... (12/26/02 1:30 AM) Reply
Dale, this is a fabulous garment!! Congratulations and thank you for the wonderful review. It is a great and wearable gown. Could you give more information about "rotating the sleeve back"? Thanks.
starlene said... (12/26/02 0:26 AM) Reply
Merry Christmas Dale! Very nice, any chance of a picture with your daughter wearing it?
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Decades of Style 3009

photo
by: Sew Good

Review
StyleArc Steffi Jacket

photo
by: Polycotton

Review
Bluegingerdoll Odette Dress Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll Odette Dress Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Pattern Details