SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6576 (Babies Dress and Headband)

11 more reviews
Viewed 2699 times 
Reviewed by:cindy-lou
photo

 
 
About cindy-loustarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/21/06
Reviews written: 118
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 100
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/17/07 1:30 PM
Last Updated:2/21/09 3:29 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 32 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
linda alred said...
I am new to this site. I am very frustrated!!!!!where are the picture they keep talking about? I am done looking!!!
3/21/14 1:31 PM
diver said...
How did you finish it after turning right side out?
4/5/13 4:23 PM
DBeran said...
Cindy-Lou - I am making this dress with lining, had trouble turning, found your review but there are no pictures. Is there somewhere I can go to see the pictures? DBeran
12/1/12 10:35 PM
Bananabanana said...
You are a legend, I love the little notes on each photo. This was doing my head in! And now I understand. Thanks a bunch. <3 Hannah
4/14/12 3:47 AM
Nicky1 said...
I can't seem to find the pics accompanying this tutorial. I'm very interested in learning this technique. I noticed in the other comments, they have found the pics - am I doing something wrong?
4/9/11 3:35 PM
Lindsay Ellen said...
This is an awesome review and the picture instructions are terrific. I made my first lined jumper in an hour. Thank you so much!
12/20/09 2:57 AM
snuzal said...
Thank you thank you thank you!!!! I have been looking for a pattern like this for ages! Now I have got my fabric pre washing as I type.. Cannot wait to try it. I hope I understand the step 8 bit ok.. *bites nails* UPDATE!:WOOOHOOOO!!! HOW FANTASTIC! I just finished it, and boy was it easy once I knew what I was doing! Absolutely incredible, that would have to be the easiest thing I have ever made lol. All went swimmingly until I got to the buttonholes. My automatic buttonholer has died *tears and plenty of them* lol Thank you so much
8/26/09 10:38 PM
cindy-lou said...
Thanks Sandy D... other than clipping curves, I don't know what to tell you. I'd try starching as you go with the pressing, and consider a clapper if you're using thick fabrics. I've typically been able to get it under control with clipping and pressing. HTH-- :)
8/13/09 8:02 AM
Sandy D. said...
This review is very helpful, thank you. I have a question maybe someone can help me. Is there a trick to avoiding all the puckering around the neckline/armhole area? I clipped the curves, but it puckers so much and it is tough to iron it out as well. Do you know any tricks for this? I had to top stitch it in order for it to lay flat, and that was a mission in itself!! Thank you!!!
8/12/09 5:04 PM
MrsNerd said...
I have this pattern and decided to line it and was having problems. Checked here for help on lining and found your instructions for lining this exact pattern! Thank you so much!
8/8/09 11:00 PM
Clippy said...
Awesome instructions for lining!
7/30/09 8:42 PM
kathleencramer said...
Great review! Thanks for the great instructios. I'll give it try right away!
5/26/09 10:52 PM
marycds said...
Wow, thank you. I can't wait to try this. I have a similar pattern for a top already cut out.
2/23/09 4:40 PM
Sassy Stitches said...
Thanks for the instructions. In the photos, I can not read the note on Step 3, Step 4,Step 8, Step 8.5, & Finished Product picture. Will you be kind enough to e-mail the descriptions on these pictures. Thanks a million. I have about pulled my hair out trying to figure out how to do this. Martha
2/20/09 12:48 PM
jaicee said...
How cute! Thank you for these detailed instructions and the step by step photos will be very helpful. I have this pattern and I can't wait to try making it fully lined.
2/2/09 10:51 AM
amyawesome said...
Oops...double post.
10/28/08 4:19 PM
amyawesome said...
Love this review...but am having trouble making it work with a boy's overall style similar to this pattern (jon-jon, overall). Any tips on how to make that work? I'm really trying to make a reversible garment, but think your tips here are applicable to what I'm attempting...I just lack the knowledge to make it work!
10/28/08 2:02 PM
Yellowrose49 said...
Very nice instructions Thanks. Judy
7/11/08 1:18 PM
CA Eisenhour said...
Hey Doc! Your tutorial is terrific! I forgot, what size does this paattern go to? I htink it's just for toddlers if I'm not mistaken. ~Connie
6/18/08 2:00 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
AWWWW!!! That is SOOOO CUTE!!! My mom has made this pattern two times now, but between me and you I think yours is much CUTER!!! I just LOVE the embellished pocket on the front, it's simply ADORABLE!!!
6/18/08 9:34 AM
cindy-lou said...
rrrr, I edited above to include the description-- thanks!
6/18/08 8:35 AM
rrrr said...
Lovely but what does the card say for step 3
6/17/08 8:45 PM
Jemparrot said...
Thank you! Could this be made reversible?
3/16/08 5:47 PM
cindy-lou said...
Fran, I detailed the instructions over in the 'Tips and Techniques' section so you could read them better-- enjoy!
3/1/08 9:34 AM
Fran Dempsey said...
can't see the instructions well on #8
2/29/08 5:14 PM
Selena Elmore said...
Thank you, thank you, and thank you again for such a great review and instructions on lining. I have literally been looking and looking for weeks to find a tuturial like this. You are an angel!
2/27/08 4:11 AM
sherry ardoin said...
great instructions
10/7/07 8:32 PM
Casby said...
THANK YOU! I am a brand new sewer and I am almost finished with this dress... I did it with the interfacing. The lining looks great and I can't wait to try it this way!
8/19/07 9:26 PM
jessika said...
Too cute and great review thanks
2/23/07 3:29 PM
BevH said...
Step-by-step and photos are very helpful. Your finished dress is darling.
2/19/07 10:16 PM
jjwalker said...
I spit coffee out my nose at Step 8!!! :) Totally cute jumper - and I have that pattern, so I'm going to try this ASAP!
2/19/07 1:29 PM
Marhamner said...
These are terrific instructions! Thanks for sharing them.
2/18/07 6:41 PM
Ody said...
Awesome review! I love vintage fabric and this is so cute together with the embroidery.
2/18/07 9:47 AM
Peggy L said...
Cute dress! Great technique for the lining.
2/17/07 7:06 PM
Lunar_C said...
Thanks for all your photo instructions. Really informative and so quick. Love your pocket detail too.
2/17/07 6:47 PM
Linda G said...
This is a wonderful review. I have to remember this!!
2/17/07 6:39 PM
MamaSewing said...
How sweet, love the matching dresses. Also, thank you for the insrtuctions for lining, I'll take a look later to see if I can use them
2/17/07 2:23 PM
CA Eisenhour said...
Great review Cindy! What a awesome little dress. Love that fabric too!
2/17/07 2:13 PM
Princess Jenny said...
Awesome review. Thank you for all the detailed steps you included :)
2/17/07 1:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2005-110

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 308127-1000

photo
by: balrojka

Review
Purse-Nickities

Purse-Nickities

More Info
Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

More Info