Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6576 (Babies Dress and Headband) thumbsup - Type:Baby clothes    printable version
Viewed 2671 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 31 people   
Reviewed by:cindy-lou
photo
About cindy-loustarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/21/06
Reviews written: 118
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 100
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/17/07 1:30 PM
Last Updated:2/21/09 3:29 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Princess Jenny said...
Awesome review. Thank you for all the detailed steps you included :)
2/17/07 1:41 PM
CA Eisenhour said...
Great review Cindy! What a awesome little dress. Love that fabric too!
2/17/07 2:13 PM
MamaSewing said...
How sweet, love the matching dresses. Also, thank you for the insrtuctions for lining, I'll take a look later to see if I can use them
2/17/07 2:23 PM
Linda G said...
This is a wonderful review. I have to remember this!!
2/17/07 6:39 PM
Lunar_C said...
Thanks for all your photo instructions. Really informative and so quick. Love your pocket detail too.
2/17/07 6:47 PM
Peggy L said...
Cute dress! Great technique for the lining.
2/17/07 7:06 PM
Ody said...
Awesome review! I love vintage fabric and this is so cute together with the embroidery.
2/18/07 9:47 AM
Marhamner said...
These are terrific instructions! Thanks for sharing them.
2/18/07 6:41 PM
jjwalker said...
I spit coffee out my nose at Step 8!!! :) Totally cute jumper - and I have that pattern, so I'm going to try this ASAP!
2/19/07 1:29 PM
BevH said...
Step-by-step and photos are very helpful. Your finished dress is darling.
2/19/07 10:16 PM
jessika said...
Too cute and great review thanks
2/23/07 3:29 PM
Casby said...
THANK YOU! I am a brand new sewer and I am almost finished with this dress... I did it with the interfacing. The lining looks great and I can't wait to try it this way!
8/19/07 9:26 PM
sherry ardoin said...
great instructions
10/7/07 8:32 PM
Selena Elmore said...
Thank you, thank you, and thank you again for such a great review and instructions on lining. I have literally been looking and looking for weeks to find a tuturial like this. You are an angel!
2/27/08 4:11 AM
Fran Dempsey said...
can't see the instructions well on #8
2/29/08 5:14 PM
cindy-lou said...
Fran, I detailed the instructions over in the 'Tips and Techniques' section so you could read them better-- enjoy!
3/1/08 9:34 AM
Jemparrot said...
Thank you! Could this be made reversible?
3/16/08 5:47 PM
rrrr said...
Lovely but what does the card say for step 3
6/17/08 8:45 PM
cindy-lou said...
rrrr, I edited above to include the description-- thanks!
6/18/08 8:35 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
AWWWW!!! That is SOOOO CUTE!!! My mom has made this pattern two times now, but between me and you I think yours is much CUTER!!! I just LOVE the embellished pocket on the front, it's simply ADORABLE!!!
6/18/08 9:34 AM
CA Eisenhour said...
Hey Doc! Your tutorial is terrific! I forgot, what size does this paattern go to? I htink it's just for toddlers if I'm not mistaken. ~Connie
6/18/08 2:00 PM
Yellowrose49 said...
Very nice instructions Thanks. Judy
7/11/08 1:18 PM
amyawesome said...
Love this review...but am having trouble making it work with a boy's overall style similar to this pattern (jon-jon, overall). Any tips on how to make that work? I'm really trying to make a reversible garment, but think your tips here are applicable to what I'm attempting...I just lack the knowledge to make it work!
10/28/08 2:02 PM
amyawesome said...
Oops...double post.
10/28/08 4:19 PM
jaicee said...
How cute! Thank you for these detailed instructions and the step by step photos will be very helpful. I have this pattern and I can't wait to try making it fully lined.
2/2/09 10:51 AM
Sassy Stitches said...
Thanks for the instructions. In the photos, I can not read the note on Step 3, Step 4,Step 8, Step 8.5, & Finished Product picture. Will you be kind enough to e-mail the descriptions on these pictures. Thanks a million. I have about pulled my hair out trying to figure out how to do this. Martha
2/20/09 12:48 PM
marycds said...
Wow, thank you. I can't wait to try this. I have a similar pattern for a top already cut out.
2/23/09 4:40 PM
kathleencramer said...
Great review! Thanks for the great instructios. I'll give it try right away!
5/26/09 10:52 PM
Clippy said...
Awesome instructions for lining!
7/30/09 8:42 PM
MrsNerd said...
I have this pattern and decided to line it and was having problems. Checked here for help on lining and found your instructions for lining this exact pattern! Thank you so much!
8/8/09 11:00 PM
Sandy D. said...
This review is very helpful, thank you. I have a question maybe someone can help me. Is there a trick to avoiding all the puckering around the neckline/armhole area? I clipped the curves, but it puckers so much and it is tough to iron it out as well. Do you know any tricks for this? I had to top stitch it in order for it to lay flat, and that was a mission in itself!! Thank you!!!
8/12/09 5:04 PM
cindy-lou said...
Thanks Sandy D... other than clipping curves, I don't know what to tell you. I'd try starching as you go with the pressing, and consider a clapper if you're using thick fabrics. I've typically been able to get it under control with clipping and pressing. HTH-- :)
8/13/09 8:02 AM
snuzal said...
Thank you thank you thank you!!!! I have been looking for a pattern like this for ages! Now I have got my fabric pre washing as I type.. Cannot wait to try it. I hope I understand the step 8 bit ok.. *bites nails* UPDATE!:WOOOHOOOO!!! HOW FANTASTIC! I just finished it, and boy was it easy once I knew what I was doing! Absolutely incredible, that would have to be the easiest thing I have ever made lol. All went swimmingly until I got to the buttonholes. My automatic buttonholer has died *tears and plenty of them* lol Thank you so much
8/26/09 10:38 PM
Lindsay Ellen said...
This is an awesome review and the picture instructions are terrific. I made my first lined jumper in an hour. Thank you so much!
12/20/09 2:57 AM
Nicky1 said...
I can't seem to find the pics accompanying this tutorial. I'm very interested in learning this technique. I noticed in the other comments, they have found the pics - am I doing something wrong?
4/9/11 3:35 PM
Bananabanana said...
You are a legend, I love the little notes on each photo. This was doing my head in! And now I understand. Thanks a bunch. <3 Hannah
4/14/12 3:47 AM
DBeran said...
Cindy-Lou - I am making this dress with lining, had trouble turning, found your review but there are no pictures. Is there somewhere I can go to see the pictures? DBeran
12/1/12 10:35 PM
diver said...
How did you finish it after turning right side out?
4/5/13 4:23 PM
linda alred said...
I am new to this site. I am very frustrated!!!!!where are the picture they keep talking about? I am done looking!!!
3/21/14 1:31 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Simplicity 1881
photo
Review by Kendrasews... on 9/20/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Annie Petal Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Annie Petal Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Devon Tunic Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Devon Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3678
photo
Review by 3kids1036 on 10/9/07
Read Review

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern
Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern
SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8820 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8820 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7251 Pattern
Burda 7251 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us