SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5303 (New York Dress)

12 more reviews
Viewed 2375 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 385 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/29/02 2:54 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sherril Miller said...
A wonderful "little black dress." Great to dress up or down, and you look very lovely in it.
12/29/02 3:06 AM
Elona said...
Gosh, Ann, the dress looks terrific on you!
12/29/02 3:15 AM
Rhonda Noah said...
Very nice! That is elegant but comfortable looking. And, www.dollarfabric.com has cashmere knit for $21.95/yard. (big grin) Now, THAT would be a scrumptious dress!!!!
12/29/02 9:58 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Ann, your dress looks great! Hmmm, I just happen to have this pattern AND some black ottoman knit....
12/29/02 11:41 AM
Maria Hatfield said...
Ann, you have some beautiful clothes on your site ! you did a great job on all of them.
12/29/02 1:12 PM
Deepika said...
I have this pattern too! but I too have been wondering about the fabric to use. What do you think about cotton/lycra? Did you run into any problems with the v neck? was it simply turn and stitch?
12/29/02 1:27 PM
Sew Jane said...
Beautiful dress! You look stunning! Thanks for yet another interesting review.
12/29/02 2:00 PM
Ann Smith said...
Thanks for all your compliments! Rhonda: thank you for the tip. I have not seen that site before. Many tempting fabrics.....I may have to order that cashmere. Deepika: the V neck was not a problem on this fabric which is very forgiving. I just ironed on fusible bias tape, turned and topstitched. The ribs disguise any slight pucker at the V turn. I think the dress would be good in cotton/lycra but a bit of basting might be necessary at that V.
12/29/02 3:11 PM
Nan said...
Another lovely dress on you Ann!
12/29/02 6:31 PM
Diane E said...
Ann, this is beautiful! I agree with Sherril, such a terrific "little black dress"! Oh, cashmere would be too luxe for words and so so classy!
1/5/03 2:40 PM
DaneDogMom said...
Thanks for the tip on using fusible interfacing to keep the neckline from stretching. I made this dress, and love it, with the one exception being that I thought the neckline was too low - my next version will try it with interfacing and see that makes a difference. Thanks!
4/15/05 11:54 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

McCall's 5169

photo
by: sewinfranc...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2012-136b

photo
by: KAHooke

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Buy Now