SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5303 (New York Dress)

12 more reviews
Viewed 2373 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 383 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/29/02 2:54 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sherril Miller said...
A wonderful "little black dress." Great to dress up or down, and you look very lovely in it.
12/29/02 3:06 AM
Elona said...
Gosh, Ann, the dress looks terrific on you!
12/29/02 3:15 AM
Rhonda Noah said...
Very nice! That is elegant but comfortable looking. And, www.dollarfabric.com has cashmere knit for $21.95/yard. (big grin) Now, THAT would be a scrumptious dress!!!!
12/29/02 9:58 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Ann, your dress looks great! Hmmm, I just happen to have this pattern AND some black ottoman knit....
12/29/02 11:41 AM
Maria Hatfield said...
Ann, you have some beautiful clothes on your site ! you did a great job on all of them.
12/29/02 1:12 PM
Deepika said...
I have this pattern too! but I too have been wondering about the fabric to use. What do you think about cotton/lycra? Did you run into any problems with the v neck? was it simply turn and stitch?
12/29/02 1:27 PM
Sew Jane said...
Beautiful dress! You look stunning! Thanks for yet another interesting review.
12/29/02 2:00 PM
Ann Smith said...
Thanks for all your compliments! Rhonda: thank you for the tip. I have not seen that site before. Many tempting fabrics.....I may have to order that cashmere. Deepika: the V neck was not a problem on this fabric which is very forgiving. I just ironed on fusible bias tape, turned and topstitched. The ribs disguise any slight pucker at the V turn. I think the dress would be good in cotton/lycra but a bit of basting might be necessary at that V.
12/29/02 3:11 PM
Nan said...
Another lovely dress on you Ann!
12/29/02 6:31 PM
Diane E said...
Ann, this is beautiful! I agree with Sherril, such a terrific "little black dress"! Oh, cashmere would be too luxe for words and so so classy!
1/5/03 2:40 PM
DaneDogMom said...
Thanks for the tip on using fusible interfacing to keep the neckline from stretching. I made this dress, and love it, with the one exception being that I thought the neckline was too low - my next version will try it with interfacing and see that makes a difference. Thanks!
4/15/05 11:54 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

Buy Now