Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: OOP (1971 Misses' Boho Blouse) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 626 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 295
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 295
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/19/07 8:28 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fuzzygalore said...
I'm afraid I agree with you that the pink isn't the best color for you. Otherwise, I like it well enough, the waist casing was a good idea. But what's missing from the McCartney original is that the sleeves are a bit small. Hers are way bigger than that, and I think the larger sleeves would look more balanced on you. Plus notice how her fabric is very different from your cotton, a light crisp silk I think, that would probably work better. Do try this again, but in a grown-up color :-).
2/20/07 6:04 AM
bell N said...
I had a pattern very similar to the Simplicity vintage you linked to. The pattern you show has cording in the neck, and a neckline slit. Mine had a closed neckline with elastic all the way around, as well as elastic in the waist and sleeves. I made it in plain muslin, with the embroidery around the neckline, and in some sort of gauzey material. I wore it all the time - 30 years ago.
2/20/07 8:00 AM
Heatherrique said...
Thank you fuzzygalore! :-}
2/20/07 12:40 PM
JenSews2 said...
Thanks for the tips. I think I'll skip the frilly look too, but I appreciate your review!
2/20/07 3:43 PM
Ody said...
Great blouse and very interesting review. I think I would wear it if I were you. Save it for when someone has a Mammas and Pappas party. You are sewing up a storm girl!
2/20/07 5:16 PM
ryan's mom said...
Great review! Sometimes we have to make an honest assessment with ourselves about what does and doesn't work. When I see a post by "Heather's Mom" I always think elegance and have to check out the review. (As opposed to I don't equate your name with "frilly" :) ).
2/24/07 7:37 PM
AnneM said...
Yes, not the best for you. Fuzzygalore has some good feedback, I think - better analysis than I could provide. :)
4/6/07 11:04 AM
Soliel said...
I think the top style is OK...what makes it look "too girly" is the flower print in ingenue colors. But if the print was a bit more sophisticated, I still think it would work. The Butterick blouse you are eyeing is wonderful...but it's very girly too but with a more subdued, less little girl print. I love this keyhole look...If you want to sell it, I will buy! lv2breathe at AOL dot com.
6/5/07 8:24 PM
Soliel said...
I think the top style is OK...what makes it look "too girly" is the flower print in ingenue colors. But if the print was a bit more sophisticated, I still think it would work. The Butterick blouse you are eyeing is wonderful...but it's very girly too but with a more subdued, less little girl print.
6/5/07 8:25 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2009-123 Parka
photo
Review by jkaori on 12/18/09
Read Review

Butterick 6030 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 6030 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7115 Pattern
Burda 7115 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2886
photo
Review by oohisay on 5/19/09
Read Review

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 202 Pattern
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us