SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2007-140 (Handbag)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1053 times 
Reviewed by:Karen6790
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karen6790starstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 212
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 211
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/27/07 9:00 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SandraB said...
This is so nice. I am inspired to try making this handbag. I have never sewed an handbag before, and I hope mine comes out as nicely as yours.
2/27/07 9:33 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Love it.
2/28/07 1:49 AM
Patzee said...
Fantastic and fun review! I'm with you on the "piping" thing. Clever of you to salvage that welt pocket (LOL). The bag looks great. Bon voyage!
2/28/07 2:36 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh, this is really inspiring! Great recycling job, and I'm envious of the final product. Quick access to the passport is a big plus these days, and you could almost put your shoes in there too :-).
2/28/07 3:38 AM
SewSewSew said...
Fantastic - so creative. I never thought of sewing a bag but I'll be having a closer look at this pattern now! The centre seams look great and as though they were always supposed to be there.
2/28/07 4:22 AM
Becky Coleman said...
Beautiful job. I like Burda bags; they seem clever and classy. Becky
2/28/07 7:59 AM
j222b said...
Great, informative review!
2/28/07 8:09 AM
Marji said...
My first reaction was "You made that?" Awesome. Great idea too for learning to sew with leather to use thrift store pants.
2/28/07 8:23 AM
librarylady said...
Beautiful. I think I may have to try this too. Thanks for a great review.
2/28/07 8:23 AM
squirrellypoo said...
It looks fantastic, and the leather looks like it's so soft and buttery! Congrats on getting over your fear of leather, it's great fun to work with!
2/28/07 8:45 AM
pterion said...
Wow, I like this bag a lot. Even better that it's a great recycle job. Enjoy Paris!
2/28/07 10:24 AM
Mufffet said...
WOW...excellent! I would never even think of making a leather handbag! Good job and good review.
2/28/07 10:34 AM
mrspenguin said...
Wow. What a beautiful job you did!
2/28/07 10:34 AM
SusiM said...
Thanks for the great review. Very nice bag!
2/28/07 10:48 AM
MeganJ said...
Great job. I think your added seams give it the detail that piping would have, and much more economical. I would love to know how rubber cement came in to play... Did you rubber cement before you binder clipped it?
3/2/07 3:52 AM
Karen6790 said...
Megan - the rubber cement was used to hold seams open and flat, since you don't get much of a result from ironing leather. Getting the interfacing to stick was a project! It was also really helpful in making the strap - I spread on the adhesive and folded over the seam allowance and then just top-stitched the two flat straps together.
3/3/07 4:08 PM
Dorion said...
Excellent job adapting the pattern to suit the material(s) on hand.
3/4/07 10:06 PM
Diana M said...
Stunning job!
3/25/07 10:46 PM
Kathi R said...
Wow - what a bag for $18....I have a taupe skirt waiting to become a bag and I love your pattern....I'll have to find a copy of BWOF. Nice job.
4/7/07 4:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

McCall's 6348

photo
by: saranoemi

Review
SewBaby Baby Doll Puppet Pattern

SewBaby  Baby Doll Puppet  Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll Odette Dress Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll Odette Dress Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8670

photo
by: jlg

Review