Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2870 (oscar de la renta jacket/skirt) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1378 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:Nikki
photo
Friend of PR
About Nikkistarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 266
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 94 people
patterns reviewed: 231
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/22/07 0:48 AM
Last Updated:2/22/07 0:48 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
42 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EastwoodFan said...
Your skills are impeccable. I would never attempt this. It's really beautiful. I too get peeved when they lump two garments into the yardage requirements. Great job! and thanks for sharing the good info.
2/22/07 0:58 AM
Knerse said...
Hardly even notice the twisted sleeve (sounds like a rock band, doesn't it?), the shaping looks fantastic. Great job on what sounds like a fussy piece.
2/22/07 1:00 AM
Linda G said...
Beautiful...and nice review
2/22/07 1:25 AM
Marji said...
Love that jacket. You did a nice job with it, even with the challenges.
2/22/07 1:50 AM
Kay Romo said...
Beautiful!
2/22/07 2:29 AM
Vonnevo said...
Love your jacket and the style suits you very well :))
2/22/07 2:38 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Absolutely gorgeous. Really love it and you look stunning in it, bet you get loads of compliments on this one when you wear it to work.
2/22/07 3:15 AM
fuzzygalore said...
This is really cool! I don't think you needed a broad back alteration however, those vertical drag lines near the armholes look like the back should be narrower. But while I understand your thoughts when you look at the thick binding, I see a final result that's just stunning.
2/22/07 3:54 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Love the jacket! I agree with Fuzzy. I thought when I saw the picture of the back that you should start with a size 10, but maybe just leaving out the broad back alt would take care of it. -Ann
2/22/07 7:32 AM
PegL said...
Beautiful jacket!
2/22/07 8:45 AM
Lynngray said...
Looks great. You did a wonderful job
2/22/07 9:02 AM
cecelia said...
Beautiful coat--I really like all the asymmetry in it. You did a very nice job and looks like you got a good fit too.
2/22/07 9:42 AM
cindy-lou said...
Nikki, this jacket is so pretty and looks so polished. Wonderful, gorgeous work!
2/22/07 9:42 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Very nice, indeed. I have this pattern as well and you have inspired me to get it out and do some planning. I have bookmarked your review for the time when I start mine so, thank you for this review.
2/22/07 10:20 AM
slanden99 said...
Nice jacket! You did an excellent job on it
2/22/07 10:22 AM
mrspenguin said...
Very stylish! Well done. I can't imagine sewing so many buttons on one garment but they sure finish it nicely.
2/22/07 10:32 AM
CarolynGM said...
Very elegant and smoothly fitting jacket.
2/22/07 10:32 AM
Mufffet said...
You do such nice work. Great looking and great fitting jacket!
2/22/07 10:37 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
What a lovely jacket, Nikki! Kudos for beating that pretty fabric into submission.
2/22/07 10:39 AM
joan said...
Good job, and you now have a very up-to-date jacket. You were very brave to work a welt pocket in tweed. Lots of style and it looks very nice on you.
2/22/07 10:40 AM
Puddin Pop said...
That is one smart jacket. Oh, I would be so proud, if I made it. I love brown and I love the binding and all the buttons. It is beautiful.
2/22/07 11:28 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Nikki, you must have the best jacket wardrobe on PR. This one is a great addition. Congratulations!
2/22/07 12:30 PM
Nikki said...
Thank everyone! Fuzzy and Ann, the broad back alteration seemed to work well in the muslin, so I left it in - I like a little extra ease in the back anyway :)
2/22/07 12:37 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
Your jacket looks great. Nineteen buttons! Good thing you don't have to button them all.
2/22/07 2:01 PM
Heatherrique said...
Gorgeous jacket, Nikki! Very chic and unique!
2/22/07 2:32 PM
Re Becca said...
Looks good. You did a great job on the binding. I have tried this once and mine wasn't nearly as even and straight as your. That whole jacket and skirt yardage together thing annoys me too!
2/22/07 3:07 PM
LorelleD said...
Great jacket. It looks really good on you.
2/22/07 4:50 PM
Cecile Owens said...
I have had this pattern for a while and am so thrilled to see it made up. I think you did a wonderful job with it. So far, I have the buttons for it. I picked them up at a local fabric outlet that has left-overs and rejects from clothing manufacturers. They have a big bin w/all kind of buttons that you have to dig around in to find matching ones-most are plastic, which I avoid but I covet the metal ones. I agree with the comments on the back of your jacket, but I also agree that comfort is important. I'm wondering if the alteration is pronounced because of the interfacing. What did you use to interface? I love the look of this jacket and am so glad to see and read you terrific revue. Thanks
2/22/07 4:50 PM
Tany said...
Beautiful! You did a wonderful job!
2/22/07 4:53 PM
Judy Wentz said...
Awesome!!!
2/22/07 5:39 PM
jnamcd said...
This jacket looks really nice on you!
2/22/07 5:58 PM
CSY said...
Beautiful look on you. Nicely done.
2/22/07 6:50 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
I love your jacket.
2/22/07 11:43 PM
Chris Kelly said...
Love this jacket...very nice. Thanks for review!
2/23/07 0:05 AM
Ody said...
Wonderful jacket and it looks super on you.
2/23/07 0:50 AM
Schnauzer said...
Lovely jacket Nikki!
2/23/07 1:11 AM
miri said...
Your jacket looks terrific despite the challenges. Two things that might be causing the sleeves to twist: First, they look a little long, which might be the result of the back alteration you made (the shoulders look a little wide too). You could try lifting them by adding small shoulder pads—pin them in to see if they help. If you make the jacket again, you could shorten the sleeves wherever the pattern indicates you should. Second, the sleeves might be cut slightly off grain. That would cause them to twist (same thing happens to pants legs cut off grain). Could be the fault of the pattern.
2/23/07 9:09 AM
nicegirl said...
Wow! I don't know how I missed this the first time around but it's very impressive. 19 buttons! Dang.
3/1/07 9:09 AM
AnneM said...
That's a nice style on you, I think, Nikki. You could certainly make it again with trim that blends; it would not be as distinctive.
4/5/07 6:35 PM
aunt saidee said...
Beautiful Jacket and wonderful tailoring. I have this pattern just because I like the style: not sure I will ever make it. I remember liking the skirt...and liking it as a suit. I wonder if I had lived in the forties whether I would have had a life that required wearing suits other than to church?!
4/10/07 0:01 AM
aunt saidee said...
Forgot to say that so often when I admire a design I find that it is by Oscar de La Renta.
4/10/07 0:02 AM
Michelle in Oaktown said...
I'm late to the party, but wanted to thank you for the detailed review. This pattern is in my stash and I had planned to sew it this summer (in anticipation of autumn) in a stout tweed; thank you for the caution on the fabric thickness, I will try it in a wool flannel, instead.
6/7/07 6:36 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Butterick 4290 T Shirt tops
photo
Review by Sandi S on 2/27/09
Read Review

Burda 9448 Pattern
Burda 9448 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2318 Pattern( Size S )
Simplicity 2318 Pattern( Size S )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3095 jacket
photo
Review by shard on 4/24/04
Read Review

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.10
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee
Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us