SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5001 (European Pant)

23 more reviews
Viewed 2120 times 
Reviewed by:JuliaS
photo

 
 
About JuliaSstarstarstar
UT USA
Member since: 3/29/04
Reviews written: 66
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 65
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/24/07 6:43 PM
Last Updated:2/24/07 6:46 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CSM--Carla said...
JuliaS, I'm sorry that this pattern didn't work out for you. I actually think these are looking pretty good --especially in the back. This is my favorite pants pattern so far and I have made many of these. Just to let you know, I compared the crotch curve with a Burda pattern I have and the crotch curves are the same. I wish you well in your continued search for your perfect pants--or in the tweaking of this one. Carla
2/24/07 6:59 PM
CarolynGM said...
I think the back looks pretty darn good! Thanks for the info about the longer back inseam. I've made these pants five times and hadn't really noticed that. Think I'll go check my tracing.
2/24/07 7:32 PM
patma said...
When you add to the crotch extensions you change the inseam length. If you add 2" to the back and 1" to the front that might explain the back inseam being longer.
2/24/07 8:14 PM
Sewliz said...
They aren't nearly as bad as you think they are! But I know how you feel, my own pants obsession pulled me back in today and every tiny fold and wrinkle is super major to me. I think your back pants are too small for you. Have you ever tried making the back a size or two larger than the front? Mostly in width but maybe in length too and you can adjust the side seams to meet correctly. Also, building on patma's comment, you can lower the whole back crotch curve to fit the corrected inseam which might help. Since you have invested $ and time in the pattern already maybe continue with it?
2/24/07 8:28 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Your pants look pretty good. According to Loes Hinse on the Casual Elegance website: "The back inseam is supposed to be shorter than the front. This makes the crotch pull around the body giving a good fit eliminating problems such as 'smiles'." So maybe you did lengthen the back inseam a little too much?
2/24/07 8:37 PM
RuthieSews said...
I extend the crotch seam on the back for full butt on all my pants and this often results in the back inseam beaing a little longer than the front. I ptaper my extra in gradually to the knee and ease when I stitch and it seems to be OK. Sometimes I need to cut the back a little wider as well.
2/25/07 7:06 AM
Darla in PA said...
Julie, your pants look pretty good. Maybe you should play with the crotch curve a little bit. You can add length by changing the shape without adding at the crotch. Try a flexible ruler to see how your shape is different than the pattern(s). Don't forget to mark where your hipline is front/back. Good luck!
2/25/07 7:47 AM
slanden99 said...
You might try scooping out the back crotch curve a little (like you mentioned). It helps give some sitting room, but it makes the hips a little tighter. How dissapointing to use your nice silk and wool for pants that you are not happy with.
2/25/07 9:10 AM
Nancy K said...
I think that the pants look pretty good and that the problems are simple fixes. Back wrinkles, scoop out 1/4 at a time to lower the crotch. Trim and try on repaat until it feel good and wrinkles disappear. Second problem. Pin out bubble and mark new seam line, sew. This should take care of the problems.
2/25/07 10:52 AM
kkkkaty said...
I have no advise to give, but I appreciate your good and thorough review (I learned some helpful things), and it's comforting to know that others are struggling with these issues. I am on my third muslin for similar pants. I'm trying to learn to appreciate the process and not rush to the final, not very good, result... thanks for the good tips...they will help me accomplish this, I think!
2/25/07 12:46 PM
j222b said...
I'm getting an "oops bad link" & no enlarged photo when I click the small photo. Good written review, though.
2/25/07 2:22 PM
OP Gal said...
Sorry you're not happy with your pants. Like almost everyone else, I think they look pretty darn good. I've contemplated buying this pattern and wondered how it fit, so your thorough review has helped me decide if it would fit me. Thanks.
2/25/07 6:11 PM
miri said...
I think the angle on the back rise is possibly too vertical, with the result that the pants don't have the right bias to curve over your derriere. Try reshaping the top back of these—cut another muslin with LOTS of seam allowance from the thigh up on the side seam. Get someone to help you if possible. Sew the muslin but leave the side seams open from the thigh up. Put the muslin on inside out. Tie an elastic around your waist just to keep the fabric up. Pin out fabric at the center back seam until the pants hang well, then pin the top of the side seams. You may have to refine the CB curve in order to get this right—it might take a few tries. You may find you no longer need the added fabric in the fork (the crotch points). When flattened, the resulting back piece may look odd to you because the top of the pants back will slope toward the side, but it's perfectly legit. Be sure to keep the straight grain where it is on the original pattern and mark any notches at the same level by extending a line perpendicularly from the straight grain through the original notch to the new side seam or inseam line.
2/26/07 9:44 AM
fuzzygalore said...
patma's geometric advice is right, and you shouldn't have a longer back inseam ever - that extra in front is needed to go over the thighs smoothly, and should always be eased in before knee level. That said, yes it looks like you need more fabric in the back. I just used Sandra Betzina's method for making pants for someone with thin legs and a big belly - basically rotate at the bottom of the grainline to get extra room at the top by making a wedge. Can you do something like that in back? Would be a lot simpler than all this adding over here and taking off over there :-). Specially if you have a basic Burda crotch curve, which works well even for large prominent butts (mine agrees, and only gets 1/2" extension on a size 50).
2/27/07 8:52 AM
AnneM said...
I'm late to the party, but will add my comment that these are pretty good - better than lots of RTW I've seen.
4/3/07 7:22 PM
TMathews said...
" Should I scoop out the back crotch curve and add that width back to the side seams?" Yes that is exactly what you need to do. Good luck
6/12/07 9:58 PM
rebe said...
Get the Perfect Fit book. It has pictures that you can compare too and get solutions. One thing I see in both pants burda and Hinse.. your crotch curve is too shallow. Take a flexible ruler line it up with your crotch carefully step out of it trying to to change the shape and then place it on the pants crotch line. It will show you where the differences are. That is probably what is causing all the wrinkles in your back legs. Once you sew a deeper crotch curve those wrinkles will fall out.
6/11/08 9:42 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Oliver + S Mittens

photo
by: Jenny Jo

Review
Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Buy Now