SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8346 (Misses' Coat)

21 more reviews
Viewed 1348 times 
Reviewed by:busybuns99
photo

 
 
About busybuns99
CA USA
Member since: 12/24/06
Reviews: 1 (patterns: 1)
Skill level:Beginner
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/25/07 1:18 PM
Last Updated:2/25/07 1:58 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Vesta Patterns


vestapatterns.com
Web site

Paganoonoo


Upcycle sewing patterns
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
U. Chicago said... (8/11/07 11:18 PM) Reply
I think your fabric is better matched than the RTW coat -- the way their plaid is cut makes it look bizarre below the waist. Yours looks much better! (My first project for myself was a coat too -- glad to see I'm not the only one whose ambition outstrips her experience.)
hongkongshopper said... (3/3/07 5:07 PM) Reply
Fantastic. I can't believe you are a beginner. You tackled some pretty hard options with this one! Well done.
AnneM said... (3/1/07 8:44 PM) Reply
Congrats on your coat! You did a great job. Sewing high-end type clothing can really save you money.
Vonnevo said... (3/1/07 8:46 AM) Reply
Busybuns, I have just spotted your coat and you have tackled a more than difficult project for a beginner, with great results. Plaids are always a challenge. You have replicated the original design very well. Congratulations on writing your first review and I am looking forward to seeing more of your garments.
Marji said... (3/1/07 8:15 AM) Reply
Busybuns, great entry. I'm wowed by the scope of the project that you took on as you're learning to sew. You did a good job matching those plaids too, even though the fabric gave you difficulty. I hope we hear more from you You also did a stellar job matching the pattern to the design. You obviously have a really good grasp on the design aspects of the process. And finally, congratulations on writing your first review. It did make it into the contest report and is eligible. The link to your pattern is Vogue 8346
ryan's mom said... (2/28/07 7:26 AM) Reply
Great job on your coat! And you're so adventurous to work with plaids as a beginner jumping right in!
Jane S said... (2/27/07 2:08 PM) Reply
Clever, fun version of those coats. Bravo to you!
OP Gal said... (2/26/07 6:05 PM) Reply
Congratulations on your first review. Very brave project for a beginner, and it looks like you've done a fine job. I look forward to more reviews from you.
Nancy K said... (2/26/07 8:23 AM) Reply
Very ambitious project for a beginner. You should feel proud of your results. Looks really good on you.
Helen near Sydney said... (2/26/07 2:28 AM) Reply
this looks so Runway! Well done marrying the funky fabric with the pattern. All your changes are improvements on the original pattern.
Tany said... (2/25/07 4:37 PM) Reply
Great work for a beginner!
washer_woman said... (2/25/07 3:01 PM) Reply
Your coat is just beautiful!!! I think you're doing great for a beginner, too! Keep up the good work :D
Christina Sonja said... (2/25/07 2:20 PM) Reply
Your coat is awesome! I love the bubble hem.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Perfectly Fitted Shirt
Perfectly Fitted Shirt

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Simplicity 9769

photo
by: Artemisia ...

Review
McCall's 5889

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Lazy Girl Designs In a Pinch Pillow Paper Pattern

Lazy Girl Designs In a Pinch Pillow Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Pattern Details